Top of the Blogs 2017 #1

Also available in Deutsch

South Africa’s next president might be a woman, but that isn’t the only change we need
qz.com
Post-apartheid South Africa seems willing to make history with two female front-runners in the next presidential election. Lynsey Chutel introduces the two candidates who’ve both already held important positions within ANC party ranks. Nkosana Dlamini-Zuma is not only the ex-wife of current president Jacob Zuma, she also served as minister of foreign affairs and home affairs and is currently Chair of the African Union Commission. Her opponent Baleka Mbete also looks back on a long political career and currently holds the position of speaker of parliament. Nevertheless, the author questions both women’s suitability, due to their involvement in corruption scandals, and reminds her readers that not gender but personality should decide the race.

Dear EPL, UEFA and global media, for us Africans, AFCON is not a backwater tournament
africablogging.org
The African Cup of Nations (AFCON) started with a colorful and diverse opening ceremony in Gabon on January 14. Zimbabwean civil society activist Takura Zhangazha underlines the pride and happiness of Africans to celebrate the event, although the rest of the world sometimes underestimates African football. It is therefore not surprising that international media often belittles AFCON by diminishing the sporting capacities of the continent, without even knowing much about the background of the event. In comparison with European clubs, African teams don’t possess great financial resources and consequently have to do without some of their best players, who are under contract in foreign leagues.

Mozambique’s unexpected truce still hangs in the balance
theconversation.com
The tense atmosphere in Mozambican politics seems to loosen a bit, after president Felipe Nyusi and opposition leader Afonso Dhlakama agreed on a ceasefire at the end of 2016. Justin Pearce, Research Associate at the University of Cambridge, looks at the conflict between Frelimo government and the Renamo opposition movement and how it has developed in recent years. International mediators and organizations willing to help settle the dispute recently left the country without having made any progress. It remains open whether the truce will merge into peace or declared void by one of the opponents, since the roots of the conflict continue to exist.

Kenyans fear a possible internet shutdown during 2017 presidential elections
globalvoices.org
Looking at tweets by public persons as well as ordinary citizen, civil-journalist Njeri Wangari depicts the discussion about a possible shutdown of social media during the elections in Kenya in August 2017. With a view on the ongoing rumors, Wangari provides background information about new laws that have been drafted in order to regulate online communication. The debate is controversial and complex, increasingly so as 60 journalists have already been arrested in recent years due to their online activities.

Top of the Blogs 2017 #1

Auch verfügbar in English

Südafrikas nächster Präsident könnte eine Frau sein, aber das ist nicht die einzige Veränderung, die wir brauchen
qz.com
Vielleicht möchte Südafrika mit zwei weiblichen Spitzenkandidatinnen in der nächsten Präsidentschaftswahl Geschichte schreiben: Lynsey Chutel stellt die Kandidatinnen vor, die innerhalb Südafrikas schon durch wichtige Ämter innerhalb der ANC bekannt sind. Nkosana Dlamini-Zuma ist nicht nur die Exfrau des derzeitigen Präsidenten Jacob Zuma, sie war auch Außenministerin und Innenministerin und ist aktuell Vorsitzende der African Union Commission. Ihre Konkurrentin Baleka Mbete ist Parlamentspräsidentin und blickt ebenfalls auf eine langjährige Politikkarriere zurück. Trotzdem stellt die Autorin die Eignung der in Korruptionsskandale verwickelten Kandidatinnen in Frage. Für sie sollte Persönlichkeit und nicht das Geschlecht die anstehenden Wahlen entscheiden.

Liebe EPL, UEFA und globale Medien: Für uns Nationen Afrikas ist die AFCON nicht nur ein zweitrangiges Turnier
africablogging.org
Mit einer bunten und vielseitigen Eröffnungszeremonie hat die afrikanische Fußballmeisterschaft (AFCON) am 14. Januar in Gabun begonnen. Der Bürgerrechtler Takura Zhangazha aus Simbabwe betont in seinem Artikel den Stolz und die Freude der Afrikaner über das Event – auch wenn der Rest der Welt afrikanischen Fußball oft unterschätzt. Wenig erstaunlich also, dass die Berichterstattung internationaler Medien der AFCON nicht immer gerecht wird. Oft bewerten ausländische Kommentatoren die sportlichen Leistungen des Kontinents, ohne die Hintergründe zu kennen. Im Vergleich zu europäischen Fußballklubs verfügen afrikanische Teams nämlich nur über wenig finanzielle Mittel und müssen zur AFCON auf ihre besten Nationalspieler verzichten. Die stehen nämlich meistens bei ausländischen Vereinen unter Vertrag.

Der unerwartete Frieden in Mosambik steht immer noch auf dem Spiel
theconversation.com
Die angespannte Atmosphäre in Mosambik scheint sich ein bisschen zu lockern, seitdem Präsident Felipe Nyusi und Oppositionsführer Afonso Dhlakama sich Ende 2016 auf einen Waffenstillstand geeinigt haben. Justin Pearce, wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Cambridge Universität, schaut sich den Konflikt zwischen der Frelimo Regierung und der Oppositionsbewegung Renamo genauer an. Internationale Vermittler haben das Land erst vor kurzem ohne jeden Fortschritt wieder verlassen. Offen bleibt, ob der derzeitige Frieden hält oder bald der Konflikt wieder aufflammt, denn die Ursachen des Problems bestehen nach wie vor.

Kenianer befürchten eine mögliche Stilllegung des Internets während der Präsidentschaftswahlen 2017
globalvoices.org
Am Beispiel von Tweets öffentlicher Personen und kenyanischer Bürger untermauert die Journalistin Njieri Wangari die aktuell kursierenden Gerüchte mit Hintergrundinformationen zu neuen Gesetzesentwürfen, die die Online-Kommunikation in Kenia regulieren sollen. Die Debatte ist widersprüchlich und wird zunehmend ernster, da in den vergangenen Jahren schon 60 Journalisten wegen ihrer Aktivitäten im Netz festgenommen wurden.