Top of the Blogs 2017 #2

Also available in Deutsch

Gambia’s Yahya Jammeh emptied the state’s coffers on his way out
qz.com
There are good and bad news for Gambia’s people these days: The good news is that former state president Yahya Jammeh has finally set out to exile in Equatorial Guinea after the delegation of West African leaders ECOWAS forced him to step down. Lynsey Chutel highlights the bad news in her latest blog article: Jammeh leaves the country with an estimated 11 million dollars after having emptied the treasuries of the government to fill his own pockets. His successor Adam Barrow has to face financial distress right at the start of his presidential mandate.

Cameroon, the Way forward: Unity in Diversity
africablogging.org
Cameroon’s cultural diversity is outstanding – it has more than 200 tribes and about 150 linguistic groups. Apart from Canada, it is the only country that has both English and French a national languages. Anne Marie Befoune explains why this leads to a worrisome split within the nation. Public services as well as presidential speeches are delivered in French only and all important political activities happen in the French-speaking provinces. English-speakers feel excluded, are ridiculed and often just called “Anglos”. Befoune criticizes the government for not acknowledging the conflict in the society and discusses ideas to solve it.

Three lessons about Burundi’s crisis from speaking to those who fled it
africanarguments.org
300.000 people have left their home country Burundi and sought asylum in one of the neighboring countries Tanzania, Uganda and Rwanda. The Burundian government finds the country stable enough for a policy of returns. International officials are more than willing to believe this. How do the affected refugees think about it? Richard Moncrieff depicts the findings of a survey that interviewed political opponents living in exile. Many refugees were threatened by the police or the ruling party’s militia because they didn’t agree with the government. According to them, Burundi is anything but politically stable and still far too dangerous to go back.

How Kenya can ensure adequate health care for its older people
theconversation.com
Society is aging worldwide. Lucy Maina asks health editor Joy Wanja Muraya in an interview: What are the consequences of this demographic change for Kenya? Life expectancy in Africa has increased due to an improved health care system and more diverse nutrition, but the continent is not adequatelty prepared for this development. The risks for an aging society are the lack of income security and inadequate health services. This holds true for Kenya as well. Muraya underlines the necessity of improved health care equipment and a public insurance scheme. So far the families take care of older people, but this won’t be a long-term solution.

Top of the Blogs 2017 #2

Auch verfügbar in English

Gambias Yahya Jammeh plünderte die Staatskassen bevor er das Land verließ
qz.com
Es gibt gute und schlechte Nachrichten für die Einwohner Gambias. Die gute Nachricht ist, dass der ehemalige Staatspräsident Yahya Jammeh endlich auf dem Weg ist ins Exil nach Äquatorialguinea. Der Zusammenschluss westafrikanischer Führungsmächte ECOWAS hat ihn gedrängt, sein Amt niederzulegen. Lynsel Chutel berichtet allerdings auch über schlechte Nachrichten für das kleine Land: Jammeh verlässt Gambia mit geschätzten 11 Millionen Dollar aus der Staatskasse. Nachfolger Adam Barrows Amtszeit beginnt nun mit finanziellen Schwierigkeiten.

Kameruns Zukunft: Einheit in Vielfalt
africablogging.org
Kaum ein Land ist kulturell so vielseitig wie Kamerun: mit über 200 verschiedenen Volksstämmen und 150 Dialekten ist es neben Kanada außerdem das einzige Land, indem Englisch und Französisch offizielle Amtssprachen sind. Anne Marie Befoune erklärt, warum genau das zu einer Spaltung in der Gesellschaft führt. Im öffentlichen Dienst und bei offiziellen Ansprachen des Präsidenten wird ausschließlich Französisch gesprochen. Das politische Geschehen findet nur in den frankophonen Provinzen des Landes statt. Die englischsprachige Bevölkerung fühlt sich ausgeschlossen, wird oft belächelt und als „Anglos“ bezeichnet. Befoune kritisiert die Regierung, die die Spaltung der Gesellschaft trotz Protestbewegungen ignoriert und diskutiert Lösungen für das Problem.

Drei Lehren über Burundis Krise aus Gesprächen mit politischen Flüchtlingen
africanarguments.org
300.000 Menschen haben ihr Heimatland Burundi verlassen und Unterschlupf in den Nachbarländern Tansania, Uganda oder Ruanda gesucht. Die Regierung Burundis behauptet, das Land sei politisch stabil und Oppositionelle hätten nichts zu befürchten. Und das wird von internationalen Behörden nur zu gerne geglaubt. Aber wie denken betroffene Flüchtlinge darüber? Richard Moncrieff stellt die Ergebnisse einer Studie vor, für die Exil-Burundier interviewt wurden. Viele der Flüchtlinge wurden von Polizei oder von Milizen der regierenden Partei bedroht, weil sie nicht einer Meinung mit der Regierung waren. Sie halten Burundi für politisch instabil und eine Rückkehr für zu gefährlich.

Wie Kenia die gesundheitliche Versorgung älterer Generationen sicherstellen kann
theconversation.com
Weltweit beschäftigen sich Experten mit dem Phänomen alternder Gesellschaften. In einem Interview mit Gesundheitsredakteurin Joy Wanja Muraya hakt Lucy Maina nach: Welche Konsequenzen hat diese demographische Entwicklung für Kenia? Dank verbesserter medizinischer Versorgung und vielseitigerer Ernährung steigt die Lebenserwartung, doch der afrikanische Kontinent ist dafür nicht hinreichend aufgestellt. Risiken ergeben sich für die älteren Generationen vor allem daraus, nicht finanziell abgesichert zu sein. Außerdem fehlt es an gesundheitlicher Versorgung. Muraya betont, dass auch Kenia bessere medizinische Ausrüstung und gesetzliche Absicherung braucht. Bisher ist die Versorgung alter Menschen hauptsächlich Angelegenheit der Familien – das ist langfristig aber keine Lösung.