Top of the Blogs 2017 #3

Also available in Deutsch

The struggle to end female genital mutilation in Africa
globalvoices.org
200 million women live with the consequences of female genital mutilation (FGM), the majority of them in Africa. Author Rakotomalala explains this cruel, centuries-old tradition of female genital mutilation. People practicing the ritual believe that a woman’s sexuality can be controlled by removing parts of the genitalia, so that she will be a good wife. The consequences on the affected women’s sexual health are considered a crime against humanity. The origin of the problem is ignorance and a lack of information about the danger of circumcision.

What the rest of Africa really thinks about South Africa
qz.com
South Africa is considered to be the gateway into the continent and has mediated between North and global South in recent years. Surprisingly, research conducted by the University of Pretoria found that other African countries don’t always appreciate the self-declared role as a spokesperson for the continent. They criticize how South Africa seems to isolate itself and it doesn’t act like a part of the continent, following only its own economic interest.

Get Rich or Die Trying: The Chinese multinational scamming millions from Ugandans
africanarguments.org
James Wan wrote a detailed and vivid report on TIENS in Uganda – a Chinese company that claims to be able to diagnose diseases and sells herbal medicine originating from China. TIENS entered the Ugandan market in 2003 and has an annual turnover of about $6million. The company seems to fulfill the needs of a problematic healthcare system in Uganda. Hundreds of patients consult them every day, buy expensive products and believe the diagnoses from doctors who make no secret of not having any education.

Mobile Phones offer a new way for Africa’s students to learn programming
iafrikan.com
Access to laptop computers remains difficult in most universities in Africa. This is a problem especially for programming students who need to practice their acquired skills. IT is a growing job field worldwide, which is why African students have to be taught reasonably. Chao Mbogo is a Kenyan teacher of Computer Science – she claims that programming can be practiced using a smartphone and has analysed the advantages of mobile devices for programming in a study.

Top of the Blogs 2017 #3

Auch verfügbar in English

Der Kampf gegen Frauenbeschneidung in Afrika
globalvoices.org
200 Millionen Frauen sind beschnitten – die Mehrheit davon lebt in Afrika. Autor Rakotomalala erklärt in seinem Artikel die grausame, jahrhundertealte Tradition der weiblichen Genitalverstümmelung. Die Anhänger des Rituals glauben, sie könnten die Sexualität einer Frau kontrollieren und sie zu einer guten Ehefrau machen, indem sie Teile ihrer Genitalien entfernen. Die gesundheitlichen Konsequenzen dieser Praktik werden als Verbrechen gegen die Menschheit eingestuft. Der Kern des Problems liegt darin, dass die Gefahren einer Beschneidung nicht ausreichend bekannt sind.

Wie der Rest Afrikas wirklich über Südafrika denkt
qz.com
Südafrika gilt als Eingangstür zum afrikanischen Kontinent und hat in den letzten Jahren zwischen dem Norden und dem globalen Süden verhandelt. Überraschenderweise hat eine Studie der Universität Pretoria herausgefunden, dass andere afrikanische Länder Südafrika als Sprachrohr des Kontinents nicht immer wertschätzen. Sie kritisieren, dass Südafrika sich oft abschottet und sich nicht wie ein Teil des Kontinents verhält und in internationalen Verhandlungen nur eigene wirtschaftliche Interessen verfolgt.

Get Rich or Die Trying: Wie ein chinesischer Multikonzern den Ugandern Millionen abnimmt
africanarguments.org
Autor James Wan mit einer detaillierten und anschaulichen Reportage über TIENS in Uganda – ein chinesischer Konzern, der behauptet Krankheiten diagnostizieren zu können und pflanzliche Medizin aus China verkauft. TIENS ist seit 2003 auf dem ugandischen Markt und erwirtschaftet einen jährlichen Umsatz von sechs Millionen Dollar. Das Unternehmen erfüllt viele Bedürfnisse des ugandischen Gesundheitssystems. Täglich wird es von hunderten Patienten aufgesucht, die teure Produkte kaufen und den Diagnosen von Doktoren ohne Ausbildung vertrauen. Manche von ihnen werden sogar selbst Mitglieder, verkaufen Medizin von TIENS und machen viel Geld damit.

Smartphones bieten Studenten neue Möglichkeiten das Programmieren zu lernen
iafrikan.com
Zugang zu Computern ist in vielen afrikanischen Universitäten in Afrika schwierig. Das wird besonders dann zum Problem, wenn IT-Studierende das Programmieren in der Praxis ausprobieren möchten. IT ist ein immer grösser werdendes Arbeitsfeld, weshalb afrikanische Studenten gut ausgebildet werden sollten. Chao Mbogo is eine kenianische Informatik-Dozentin und setzt sich dafür ein, das Studenten das Programmieren auch mit Smartphones lernen können.