Top of the Blogs 2017 #4

Also available in Deutsch

Kenya’s protracted health crisis is an indictment on the country’s leadership
africablogging.org
The nationwide doctors’ strike in Kenya seems unending. For over 90 days, striking doctors have been demanding the full implementation of a contentious collective bargaining agreement. Neither President Uhuru Kenyatta or his Health Cabinet Secretary Dr. Cleopa Mailu, nor the ministry’s Principal Secretary William Ruto found it to be necessary to attend the negotiations process with the doctors union officials. Instead, Dr. Cleopa Mailu, in total disregard for the law that prohibits public servants from engaging in politics, was actively involved in monitoring voter registration.

Rashida Mulenga: Kalulushi Mayor with an ambitious plan
paulshalala.blogspot.co.za
Last year Rashida Mulenga was elected mayor of Kalulushi, a town in Zambia's copperbelt province. At 33 years old she is one of the youngest mayors in Zambia, as well as one of very few female councillors in Kalulushi. The ambiguous woman, who is the mother of seven children and studied Business Administration in South Africa, wants to transform her city into an industrial town. Her plan is to relocate the Central Business district to the eastern part of the town, move most government departments and start to construct shopping malls and hotels.

Fake News is about Journalism, not Social Media
africablogging.org
Is journalism in Africa threatened by fake news? Late last year rumours about the death of Malawi’s president Peter Mutharika began spreading on social media and some questionable online news channels. The fake news was caused by a lack of communication on the whereabouts of the President in the weeks after the UN General Assembly gathering in the USA. #AfricaBlogging author Jimmy Kainja points out that fake news is much more dangerous when coming from the official news media and social media should not bear the blame as this lazy thinking could lead to further oppression by autocratic governments.

Youth Accountability in the East African Community
udadisi.blogspot.co.za
According to blogger Kamal Dickson, integration as an aspirational process and progressive goal is in the hands of East Africa’s youth, since young people in the East African Community (EAC) constitute more than 63% of the population. Dickson himself is the Youth Ambassador of Tanzania and is convinced that the East African youth are not engaged enough in decision-making bodies and the development agenda. He calls on Job Ndugai, the current Speaker of the Tanzanian Parliament, to make sure that the youth will to be sufficiently represented at the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).

Top of the Blogs 2017 #4

Auch verfügbar in English

Kenias langwierige Gesundheitskrise ist eine Anklage gegen die Führung des Landes
africablogging.org
Der nationale Streik in Kenias Gesundheitssektor scheint kein Ende zu nehmen. Ärzte kämpfen schon seit über 90 Tagen um die Realisierung des 2013 geschlossenen Tarifvertrags. Weder Präsident Uhuru Kenyatta oder Gesundheitsminister Dr. Cleopa Mailu, noch Vizepräsident William Ruto sahen die Notwendigkeit an den Verhandlungen mit der Ärzte-Union teilzunehmen. Statt sich der Konfliktlösung zu widmen, überwachte Dr. Cleopa Mailudass die parallel stattfindende Massenwählerregistrierung und verstieß damit gegen ein Gesetz, das die politische Neutralität der Staatsbeamten sicherstellt.

Rashida Mulenga: Kalulushis Bürgermeisterin mit einem ehrgeizigen Plan
paulshalala.blogspot.co.za
Letztes Jahr wurde Rashida Mulenga zur Bürgermeisterin von Kalulushi - einer Stadt in Sambias Copperbelt Provinz - gewählt. Mit ihren 33 Jahren ist sie nicht nur eine der jüngsten Stadtoberhäupter in Sambia, sondern als Frau auch in der absoluten Unterzahl im Stadtrat. Die Bürgermeistern, welche Mutter von sieben Kindern ist und Business Administration in Südafrika studiert hat, will den industriellen Ausbau in Kalulushi fördern. Dazu plant sie das zentrale Geschäftsviertel in den Osten der Stadt zu verlegen und damit auch sämtliche Regierungseinrichtungen. Außerdem will sie dort Hotels und Einkaufszentren bauen lassen.

Falschmeldungen betreffen den Journalismus, nicht die sozialen Medien
africablogging.org
Wird der Journalismus in Afrika durch Falschmeldung bedroht? Ende letzten Jahres kursierten Falschmeldungen über den Tod von Malawis Präsident Peter Mutharika in sozialen Netzwerken und einigen dubiosen Online-Portalen. Die Falschmeldungen entstanden, nachdem Informationen über den Verbleib des Präsidenten nach der US- Generalversammlung ausblieben. #AfricanBlogging Autor Jimmy Kainja betont, dass sogenannte „fake news“ weitaus bedrohlichere Auswirkungen haben, wenn sie von offiziellen Medien verbreitet werden. Das pauschale Verurteilen der sozialen Medien als zwielichtige Quelle von Falschmeldung führe letztendlich nur zur Unterdrückung der Pressefreiheit durch autokratische Regierungen.

Verantwortung und Integrität der Jugend in Ostafrika
udadisi.blogspot.co.za
Integration als eine Zukunftsvision liegt laut Autor Kamal Dickson in den Händen der Jugend, welche mehr als 63% der gesamten Ost-afrikanischen Gemeinschaft (EAC) ausmacht. Kamal Dickson selbst ist Tansanias Jugend-Botschafter und findet, dass die Jugend in Ostafrika nicht genug in politische Entscheidungen und Entwicklungen eingebunden wird. Er appelliert an Job Ndugai, den aktuellen Parlamentssprecher Tansanias, bei der kommenden Wahl der Mitglieder für die Ostafrikanischen Legislativ-Versammlung sicherzustellen, dass die Jugend mit einem geeigneten Repräsentanten vertreten wird.