Top of the Blogs 2017 #6

Also available in Deutsch

U.S. Shoots Itself in the Foot over Visas for Africans
blogs.cfr.org
The annual African Global Economic and Development Summit, hosted by the University of Southern California, sets out to bring together business, government, and others interested in US-African trade and investment. However, actual communication and exchange was not possible this year, since, according to the Voice of America (VOA), all Africans that had been invited or applied to attend were denied US visas, including speakers and African government officials. If the Department of State budget is cut by up to thirty percent, as the Trump administration proposes, the current unfavorable situation will probably get worse.

Surviving the Water
voiceofyouth.org
Floods are a devastating problem in Nigeria. In September last year, a flood left the Anambra state in ruin. The 2012 Nigeria floods alone killed over 100 people and the damages displaced over 2 million. Blogger Adaora Okoye believes that self-help is the best measure to prepare the population for such natural disasters. She suggests the introduction of preparation seminars to educate people about potential safety measures, which could eventually make the difference to survival chances.

Anger, Ideology and Political Activism in Zimbabwe
africanblogging.org
Past, present and possibly the emerging realities of activism in Zimbabwe are discussed by #Africanblogging contributor Takura Zhangazha. Instead of being guided by the anger of those involved, activism must be based on a definitive framework. Zhangazha sees a problem in the politicization of activism, but believes that the solution consists in incremental small changes, instead of big modifications.

Africa’s teeming unemployed youth are making risky bets on their future
qz.org
TwinKas is a new so-called “investment plan” booming in Nigeria. It promises quick prosperity and wealth for its members. Even though thousands of Nigerians have lost money from investing in pyramid schemes, there’s never a shortage of others willing to enroll when new schemes pop up. While online-gambling via smartphone flourishes in Kenya, Uganda’s gambling businesses are made mainly on soccer at local betting shops. Because of the teeming unemployment rate in African countries, gambling and pyramid schemes are often mistaken as a profitable business model.

Gender dysphoria and gender reassignment
africanblogging.org
Is a child able to make the decision about a gender reassignment? This topic is addressed by #Africanblogging contributor Jacques Rousseau. He shows how difficult it is to respect a child’s autonomy and decisions on the one hand, and to not overestimate their maturity and farsightedness on the other hand. According to Rousseau, the solution can only be to look at each individual case, to evaluate psychologically and to keep irreversible

Top of the Blogs 2017 #6

Auch verfügbar in English

Die USA stellt sich mit ihrer Visa-Politik selbst ein Bein
blogs.cfr.org
Der afrikanische globale Wirtschafts- und Entwicklungsgipfel, welcher jährlich von der University of Southern California organisiert wird, verfolgt das Ziel, den Handel zwischen den Vereinigten Staaten und dem afrikanischen Kontinent zu stärken. Tatsächlicher Austausch über Wirtschafts- und Regierungsangelegenheiten konnte in diesem Jahr jedoch nicht stattfinden, weil laut des Auslandssenders The Voice of America (VOA) die Visa-Anträge aller afrikanischen Teilnehmer ausnahmslos abgelehnt wurden. Dies betraf sowohl afrikanische Gastredner, als auch Regierungsvertreter offizieller U.S-Partnerstaaten.

Das Wasser überleben
voiceofyouth.org
Fluten und Überschwemmungen stellen in Nigeria ein zerstörerisches Problem dar. Im September letzten Jahres hinterließ eine Flutkatastrophe zuletzt den Staat Anambra in Verwüstung. Allein die Fluten im Jahr 2012 forderten über 100 Todesopfer und zerstörten Unterkünfte und Besitztümer etlicher Menschen. Bloggerin Adaora Okoye glaubt, dass Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe die beste Maßnahme ist, um die Menschen auf verheerende Naturkatastrophen vorzubereiten. Sie schlägt vor, die Bevölkerung durch Vorbereitungskurse über entsprechende Vorkehrungen aufzuklären, was im Zweifelsfall Menschenleben retten könnte.

Wut, Ideologie und politischer Aktivismus in Zimbabwe
africanblogging.org
Die verschiedenen Realitäten des Aktivismus in Zimbabwe, sowie dessen Vergangenheit und Zukunft wird von #Africanblogger Takura Zhangazha diskutiert. Anstatt sich von der Wut und dem Zorn der Akteure leiten zu lassen, sollte der Aktivismus laut Zhangazha auf einer klaren Grundlage fußen, welche Richtung und Rahmen des Aktivismus steuert. Auch die Politisierung des Aktivismus stellt ein Problem dar. Laut Zhangazha besteht die Lösung dieser Probleme jedoch aus kleinen Schritten, statt großen Veränderungen.

Afrikas arbeitslose Jugend geht risikoreiche Wetten über deren Zukunft ein
qz.org
TwinKas ist ein neuer „Investment-Plan“, der in Nigeria gerade an Popularität gewinnt. Dieser verspricht den Mitgliedern schnellen Reichtum und Wohlstand. Obwohl solche Schneeballsysteme in der Vergangenheit schon etlichen Nigerianern ihr Geld gekostet haben, finden neu ins Leben gerufene Pyramidensysteme noch immer großen Anklang in der Gesellschaft. Während in Kenia das Geschäft mit den Online-Wetten via Smartphone boomt, sind in Uganda vor allem Fußballwetten und lokale Wettstuben populär. Die hohe Arbeitslosenrate trägt in vielen afrikanischen Ländern dazu bei, dass Wetten, Glücksspiel und Pyramidensysteme für rentable Geschäftsmodelle gehalten werden.

Geschlechtsidentitätsstörung und Geschlechtsumwandlung
africanblogging.org
Kann ein Kind schon selbstständig die Entscheidung für eine Geschlechtsumwandlung treffen? Dieses Thema diskutiert #Africanblogging Autor Jacques Rousseau in seinem Artikel und macht damit deutlich, wie schwierig es ist, die Entscheidungen und die Autorität von Kindern zu respektieren, ohne deren Reife und Weitsichtigkeit zu überschätzen. Laut Rousseau ist der einzige sinnvolle Lösungsansatz, nach gründlicher psychologischer Untersuchung jeden Einzelfall individuell zu entscheiden und irreversible Veränderungen so minimal wie möglich zu halten.