Top of the Blogs 2017 #7

Also available in Deutsch

Nationwide anti-Zuma marches
enca.com
Since South Africa’s president Jacob Zuma reshuffled his cabinet last week, including axing Finance Minister Pravin Gordhan, the public’s reaction has been thick and fast. Today South Africans are gathering for nationwide demonstrations against the President. Those not attending will be following the live blogs: https://goo.gl/6HRC3f, https://goo.gl/xvH5dB, https://goo.gl/sD6YVX

Want To Get Rich? – Join Politics
africablogging.org
The decision of Zambia’s ruling and opposition parties to award a monthly allowance to ward councilors across the country and the opposition UPND Members of Parliament boycotting President Edgar Lungu’s State of Nation address, prompted #Africablogging’s Bruce Chooma to call for a fresh reflection on this matter. African politicians like Jacob Zuma and Edgar Lungu earn an unreasonably high salary compared to the average income of the population as well as other international politicians. Chooma suspects many people only choose the profession of politican because of personal enrichment, rather than for serving the country.

In Rural Mozambique, Bank-Funded Irrigation Systems Bring Back Life and Hope to Small Farmers
africa-ontherise.com
Droughts, a lack of irrigation systems, soil salinization and increasing production costs plunged many Mozambique farmers into ruin. The World Bank is now supporting the government of Mozambique’s Sustainable Irrigation Development Project (PROIRRI), providing around $70 million in financing. Newly built canals use gravity to encourage a flow of water along the fields, covering 20 times the area initially irrigated. The project covers the provinces Sofala, Manica and Zambezia and gives farmers in Mosambique hope for a better future.

Inhumane Oddities to Zimbabwean Life. Thanks to State and Private Capitalism.
africanblogging.org
Africanblogging contributor Takura Zhangazha suspects Zimbabwean ambulances value money over the lives of their patients. The blogger writes about a comrade who was recently involved in a car accident as a pedestrian, and had to call an ambulance. Instead of asking medical relevant questions, the paramedics were mainly interested in his medical aid scheme. Zhangazha calls for readers to take this incident as a reminder to grant their fellow citizens the respect and appreciation they deserve.

Top of the Blogs 2017 #7

Auch verfügbar in English

Nationale Anti-Zuma Proteste in Südafrika
enca.com
In Südafrika überschlagen sich seit der Entlassung von Finanzminister Pravin Gordhan durch Präsident Jacob Zuma die Ereignisse. Heute finden im ganzen Land Proteste gegen den Präsidenten statt. Diejenigen, die nicht selbst teilnehmen, können die Ereignisse über diverse Live-Blogs verfolgen: https://goo.gl/6HRC3f, https://goo.gl/xvH5dB, https://goo.gl/sD6YVX

Du willst Reichtum? – Werde Politiker
africanblogging.org
Das Ungleichgewicht vom Reichtum der Bevölkerung eines Landes und der Bezahlung seiner Politiker ist in vielen afrikanischen Ländern deutlich spürbar. Die Entscheidung von Sambias Regierungs- und Oppositionspartei, eine zusätzliche monatliche Vergütung einzuführen, um politische Räte zu bezahlen und der Boykott von Parlaments-Mitgliedern der Opposition bezüglich der „State of the Nation“- Rede von Präsident Edgar Lung geben #Africanblogger Bruce Chooma Anlass, diese Problematik neu zu thematisieren. Afrikanische Politiker wie Jacob Zuma und Edgar Lung verdienen - in Proportion zum Durschnittseinkommen der Bevölkerung und auch im internationalen Vergleich mit anderen Politikern - übermäßig viel. Chooma vermutet, dass viele den Beruf des Politikers anstreben, um sich selbst zu bereichern, statt dem Land zu dienen.

Von Banken finanzierte Bewässrungssysteme bringen Hoffnung in die ländlichen Gebiete von Mosambik
africa-ontherise.com
Dürre-Perioden, fehlende Bewässerungssysteme, Bodensalzung und steigende Produktionskosten haben viele Bauern in Mosambik in den Ruin getrieben. Nun unterstützt die Weltbank die Regierung jedoch mit einem Entwicklungs-Projekt für nachhaltige Bewässerung (PROIRRI) im Wert von 70 Millionen US-Dollar. Durch neu errichtete Kanäle kann die Schwerkraft dazu genutzt werden, eine 20-mal so große Fläche Wasser zu bewässern. Das Projekt betrifft die Provinzen Sofala, Manica und Zambezia und gibt den Bauern in Mosambik Hoffnung auf eine bessere Zukunft. In der ländlichen Gegend von Vanduzi konnten mit verbesserten Bewässerungssystemen bereits Erfolge erzielt werden.

Unmenschliche Kuriositäten gefährden, dank Staat und privatem Kapitalismus, das Leben der Bevölkerung in Simbabwe
africanblogging.org
Takura Zhangazha, #Africanblogging Autor, verdächtigt die Simbabwische Ambulanz, Geld über das Leben von Patienten zu stellen. Er verdeutlicht dies mit dem Beispiel eines Freundes, der den Notdienst aufsuchen musste, nachdem er als Fußgänger in einen Autounfall verwickelt wurde. Statt medizinisch relevante Fragen zu stellen, waren die Sanitäter in erster Linie an seinem Versicherungsstatus interessiert. Zhangazha ruft dazu auf, diesen Zwischenfall als Anlass zu nehmen, seinen Mitmenschen - anders als die besagten Notfallmediziner - den gebührenden Respekt und Wertschätzung zu zeigen.