Top of the Blogs 2017 #9

Also available in Deutsch

This week’s Top of the Blogs is all about empowerment of citizens. The first three blog posts all discuss obstacles a (so-called) democratic society has to face. Be it the implementation of fair elections, the acceptance of an apparent unpopular vote or the way a child becomes an engaged citizen. The fourth story tells us about a woman who has empowered herself and become the first female mine-owner in West Africa.

Rwanda’s election outcome is already decided
www.africanarguments.org
“More of a coronation than real contest,” author Filip Reyntjens quotes the Kenyan daily The Standard in his blog post about Rwanda’s presidential poll slated for 4th August. A constitutional amendment was made in 2015 concerning presidential term lengths. The changes effectively allow President Paul Kagame to stay in power until 2034, by which time he would have ruled Rwanda for 40 years. All this is underscored by the latest Bertelsmann Stiftung’s Transformation Index (BTI) report in which Rwanda got a mere two out of ten for “free and fair elections” and “effective power to govern”, and three for “association/assembly rights” and “freedom of expression”.

Democracy – the worst form of government…
www.africablogging.org
A short, but crisp piece by Jacques Rousseau, lecturer at the University of Cape Town. He argues that “you can’t like democracy only when you happen to agree with the decisions taken by an electorate”. Taking the Brexit as an example he makes clear that Parliament would be acting without a mandate if it were to ignore the vote. Even though there were many opinions about what went wrong with campaigning, the simple majority vote and uninformed voters to explain the decision away. However in a democracy one respects the voter’s will, no matter what, says Rousseau.

Malawi set out to give students skills to support democracy. But it’s not been easy
www.theconversation.com
Raising children to be democratic citizens is not an easy task, especially in a patriarchal society like in Malawi. Author Peter Ngwinjo W. Namphande, lecturer at the University of Malawi describes a big gap in what pupils are taught about democracy and what they experience in reality. Children are brought up to conform to dictates of adults and are cautioned against questioning their decisions. A further consequence is that students will acquiesce to authoritarian practices from people in positions of authority. This may facilitate the resilience of autocratic practices – in schools and beyond, Namphande speculates. To tackle this problem he suggests that teachers should be sensitised to resolve tensions between the roles of students as young citizens and as children.

West Africa’s first Woman to own a Mine
www.africa-ontherise.com
From modelling to mining: quite a change in daily business, but Guinean Tiguidanke Camara has become West Africa’s first woman to own a mine. The entrepreneur who has been ranked by France’s weekly Jeune Afrique among the 50 most influential businesswomen in Francophone Africa, has also become a role model in a region where more than 80% of girls are illiterate. Furthermore she supports women’s co-operatives and business associations.

Top of the Blogs 2017 #9

Auch verfügbar in English

In dieser Woche dreht sich bei Top of the Blogs alles um die Ermächtigung der Bürger. Die ersten drei Blogposts beschäftigen sich mit den Hürden die (angeblich) demokratische Staaten angehen müssen. Sei es die Durchführung fairer und freier Wahlen, das Akzeptieren vermeintlich unbeliebter Wahlentscheidungen oder das Erziehen von Kindern zu engagierten Bürgern. Die vierte Geschichte erzählt uns von einer Frau, die durch eigene Kraft zur ersten Minenbesitzerin im westlichen Afrika geworden ist.

Der Wahlausgang in Ruanda ist bereits entschieden
www.africanarguments.org
„Mehr eine Krönung als sein echter Wettbewerb”, zitiert Autor Filip Reyntjens die kenianische Tageszeitung „The Standard” in seinem Blogpost über die Präsidentschaftswahlen in Ruanda am 4. August. 2015 wurde über einen Verfassungszusatz entscheiden, der die Amtszeiten des Präsidenten betrifft. Die Änderung macht es möglich, dass der derzeit amtierende Präsident Paul Kagame bis 2034 regieren kann – das wären bis dahin insgesamt 40 Jahre. Die undemokratische Entwicklung wird ebenfalls von internationalen Statistiken belegt. Laut dem Transformationsindex (BTI) der Bertelsmann Stiftung erhält Ruanda zwei von zehn Punkten in den Kategorien „freie und faire Wahlen“ und „effektive Regierungsgewalt“ sowie drei in den Kategorien „Vereinigungs- und Versammlungsfreiheit“ und „Presse- und Meinungsfreiheit“.

Demokratie ist die schlechteste aller Regierungsformen…
www.africablogging.org
Auf den Punkt gebracht: Jacques Rousseau von der Universität in Kapstadt legt dar, warum man Demokratie nicht nur dann mögen könne, wenn man mit getroffenen Wahlentscheidungen übereinstimmt. Anhand des Brexit macht er deutlich, dass das Parlament ohne Wählermandat handeln würde, wenn sie die Wahlentscheidung missachten würden. Auch wenn viele Stimmen laut wurden, dass die Kampagnenführung, Entscheidung durch einfache Mehrheit und uninformierte Wähler zu dem Ergebnis geführt hätten, das nun keiner mehr vertrete. Laut Rousseau müsse man den Willen der Wähler aber in jedem Fall akzeptieren.

Malawi unterstützt Schüler demokratische Fähigkeiten zu entwickeln. Aber das ist nicht einfach …
www.theconversation.com
Kinder zu demokratiefähigen Bürgern zu erziehen ist keine leichte Aufgabe, besonders nicht in einer patriarchischen Gesellschaft wie der Malawis. Autor Peter Ngwinjo W. Namphande von der Universität Malawi beschreibt eine große Lücke zwischen dem, was Schüler über Demokratie lernen und dem, was sie im Alltag erleben. Malawische Kinder werden dazu erzogen, den Anweisungen Erwachsener Folge zu leisten, ohne diese zu hinterfragen. Namphande vermutet, dass dies dazu führen könne, dass die Kinder auch später autoritäre Praktiken einfach hinnehmen ohne Widerstand zu leisten. Um das Problem anzugehen, schlägt er vor, die Lehrer dafür zu sensibilisieren, welchen Spannungen die Schüler zwischen den Rollen als Kinder und junge Bürger ausgesetzt sind.

Die erste westafrikanische Frau, die eine Mine besitzt
www.africa-ontherise.com
Vom Model zur Minenbesitzerin: Die Guineerin Tiguidanke Camara hat einen krassen Branchenwechsel vollzogen und ist die erste Frau aus Westafrika, die eine Mine besitzt. Die Unternehmerin, die vom französischen Magazin Jeune Afrique unter die 50 einflussreichsten Unternehmerinnen im frankophonen Afrika gewählt wurde, ist zudem ein Vorbild für Mädchen geworden. In der Region, in der ihre Mine ist, sind 80 Prozent von ihnen Analphabetinnen . Außerdem unterstützt sie Kooperativen und Wirtschaftsvereinigungen von Frauen.