Top of the Blogs 2017 #10

Also available in Deutsch

This week’s Top of the Blogs is about presidents and social media. In an interview DR Congo’s presidential candidate Moïse Katumbi describes his plans to win the elections – from exile. South Africa’s president Zuma is also concerned about giving up power as he needs to avoid possible prosecution from a range of alleged crimes. Blogger Pierre de Vos explains why he’ll probably never face prosecution although there is no legal way for his amnesty. Meanwhile the presidential election campaigning in Kenya is seeing an unexpected wave of fake news trying to manipulate voters. Ghana thus has learned from its elections in 2016 and is pushing forward the idea that social media opens new spaces for public debate.

An interview with Moïse Katumbi, DR Congo’s would-be president
www.africanarguments.org
In this interview Moïse Katumbi, presidential candidate in DR Congo, explains what he would do differently from current president Joseph Kabila if he was elected. Katumbi is very popular among Congolese. “If free and fair elections were held, he probably would be president,” blogger James Wan writes. However president Kabila postponed the elections which were supposed to be held in December 2016 and Katumbi had to flee into exile in Brussels. Katumbi doesn’t have a date yet when he will be back in the country, he said in the interview. But he’s preparing a democratic change because president Kabila has no constitutional support to stay in office any longer.

Amnesty for President Zuma? No, it is not legally possible
www.constitutionallyspeaking.co.za
In his latest article law scholar and blogger Pierre de Vos explains legal possibilities for South Africa’s president Jacob Zuma to avoid prosecution for all the crimes he is alleged to have committed. ANC presidential hopeful Lindiwe Sisulu recently raised the possibility of granting President Jacob Zuma amnesty. Although de Vos only sees one legally valid option which would be for an incoming President to pardon Zuma after he had been convicted of his alleged crimes, the law scholar remains sceptical that President Zuma will ever be prosecuted. He is not convinced that the South African institutions are politically strong enough to mount such a prosecution.

WhatsApp and Facebook are driving Kenya’s fake news cycle
www.qz.com
A lot of fake news stories are spread in Kenya via social media networks like Facebook and WhatsApp, roughly two weeks before the country holds a contested general election. Political campaigners, journalists and government officials are concerned about the prevalence and impact of fake news. According to a study by Portland and GeoPoll 90% of Kenyans had heard or seen false stories related to the election. This leads to the conclusion that deliberate spreading of false information is now a core part of the news mix in Kenya. However respondents said they didn’t fully trust information shared on networks like Facebook and WhatsApp. Mainstream media outlets like television, newspapers, and radio were rated as more trustworthy.

Ghana's Social Media Scene Opens New Spaces for Public Debate
www.globalvoices.org
During the 2016 Ghanaian presidential elections social media and online platforms became crucial avenues for the electorate. Engaging voters in digital spaces became as important as speaking in public. Furthermore it's not just politicians who have got to know its advantages. Civil society also uses the medium to demand good public services writes blogger Kofi Yeboah. Recently the think tank Imani Africa hosted a forum in the capital Accra to discuss ‘Governance in the Age of Social Media’ focusing on Ghana and Switzerland. Swiss President Doris Leuthard spoke at the forum. She gave an example of how her government has created accessible online platforms to enable citizens.

Top of the Blogs 2017 #10

Auch verfügbar in English

Präsidenten, ihre Wahlen und Social Media sind die Themen in dieser Woche bei Top of the Blogs. In einem Interview beschreibt der kongolesische Präsidentschaftskandidat Moïse Katumbi, wie er die Wahlen gewinnen will – aus dem Exil. Südafrikas Präsident Zuma strebt eine weitere Amtszeit an. Aber nicht nur, um an der Macht zu bleiben, sondern auch um strafrechtlichen Verfolgungen zu entgehen. Blogger Pierre de Vos erklärt, warum Zuma wahrscheinlich niemals verurteilt wird obwohl es keine rechtliche Basis für einen Schulderlass gebe. Derweil erleben die Kenianer ein unerwartetes Hoch an Fake News in ihrem Präsidentschaftswahlkampf. Ghana hat unterdessen aus den Wahlen 2016 gelernt und fördert die sozialen Medien als Plattform zur öffentlichen Debatte.

Ein Interview mit Moïse Katumbi, Kongos Möchtegern-Präsident
www.africanarguments.org
In diesem Interview erklärt Moïse Katumbi, Präsidentschaftskandidat in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo, was er anders machen würde als der amtierende Präsident Joseph Kabila, wenn er gewählt werden würde. Katumbi ist beliebt unter den Kongolesen. „Wenn es freie und faire Wahlen gäbe, würde er wahrscheinlich Präsident werden“, schreibt Blogger James Wan. Allerdings wurden die für Dezember 2016 terminierten Wahlen noch immer nicht durchgeführt. Noch immer sieht es nicht danach aus und Katumbi musste ins Exil nach Brüssel. Er wisse nicht, wann er zurückkäme, sagt er im Interview. Dennoch bereite er einen demokratischen Wandel im Kongo vor, da Präsident Kabila keine verfassungsrechtliche Grundlage habe, weiter im Amt zu bleiben.

Begnadigung für Präsident Zuma? Nein, das ist legal nicht möglich
www.constitutionallyspeaking.co.za
In seinem zuletzt erschienen Post geht der Rechtsgelehrte und Blogger Pierre de Vos die rechtlichen Möglichkeiten durch, die der südafrikanische Präsident Jacob Zuma hat, um einer Anklage für seine mutmaßlich begangenen Straftaten zu entgehen. Präsidentschaftsanwärterin Lindiwe Sisulu hat vor kurzem Möglichkeiten aufgezeigt, die Zuma zu einer Amnestie verhelfen könnten. Obwohl Vos die einzige legale Möglichkeit dafür darin sieht, dass der nächste Präsident ihn begnadigt, nachdem er schuldig gesprochen worden wäre, bleibt der Rechtsgelehrte skeptisch, dass sich Zuma jemals vor Gericht verantworten muss. Er ist nicht davon überzeugt, dass die südafrikanischen Institutionen stark und willens genug sind, um einen solchen Prozess zu führen.

WhatsApp and Facebook befeuern Fake News in Kenia
www.qz.com
Sehr viele Fake News verbreiten sich derzeit in Kenia über soziale Netzwerke wie Facebook und WhatsApp – und das kaum zwei Wochen vor den umkämpften Wahlen. Politische Kampagnenleiter, Journalisten und Regierungsmitarbeiter betrachten das Ausmaß und die Verbreitung mit Sorge. Einer Studie von Portland und GeoPoll zufolge haben bereits 90% der Kenianer Fake News in Bezug auf die Wahlen gesehen und gehört. Daraus ließe sich schlussfolgern, dass die willentliche Verbreitung falscher Informationen fester Bestandteil der Nachrichten in Kenia sei. Dennoch gaben die Befragten an, dass sie Nachrichten von Netzweken wie Facebook oder WhatsApp nicht so sehr vertrauen wie den klassischen Medien Fernsehen, Zeitung und Radio.

Ghana's Social Media eröffnen neuen Raum zum öffentlichen Diskurs
www.globalvoices.org
Während der ghanaischen Präsidentschaftswahlen 2016 wurden die sozialen Medien und die Online-Präsenz essentiell für alle Kandidaten. Darüber Wähler zu erreichen, wurde genauso wichtig, wie bei öffentlichen Auftritten. Aber nicht nur die Politiker haben die Vorteile der Online-Medien erkannt, sondern auch die Zivilgesellschaft. Sie verlangt über diese einen besseren öffentlichen Dienst, berichtet Blogger Kofi Yeboah. Vor kurzem veranstaltete der Thinktank Imani Africa in Accra das Forum „Governance im Zeitalter der sozialen Medien“ mit einem Fokus auf Ghana und der Schweiz. Die schweizer Präsidentin Doris Leuthard sprach bei dem Forum über Online-Plattformen, die Bürgern die Möglichkeit zur Partizipation geben.