Top of the Blogs 2017 #12

Also available in Deutsch

This week Top of the Blogs looks at challenges facing sub-Saharan Africa, from presidential elections to environmental issues. While the results of last week’s Kenyan elections are being contested, the 2020 presidential elections in Burundi are already worrying the international community. Nigeria is facing challenges caused by severe flooding, but we end with a blog celebrating key African figures that have left their mark on history by tackling the challenges in their countries.

International Observers and the Kenya Election
https://www.cfr.org/

The presidential elections took place in Kenya last week on the 8th of October, however the result remains disputed. The International Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) declared Uhuru Kenyatta, the President-in-office, winner of the elections. Opposition leader Raila Odinga, however, rejects the results and says he has evidence that the elections were ‘stolen’. Even if President Kenyatta’s government is adopting a strong ‘law and order’ stance, critics of the brutality of the police are mounting. Amnesty International is also calling for an investigation into reports that police have shot and killed pro-Odinga protestors. Odinga recently expressed his disappointment in the international monitoring teams. Even if they can observe the polling on election day, observing the consolidation of ballot tallies nationwide is more difficult.

Burundi 2020: Is President Nkurunziza already at it again?
http://africanarguments.org/

Burundi has been facing a violent political crisis for two years. Human rights groups and international observers are alarmed by the situation while President Pierre Nkurunziza gave assurances last month that “Burundi has gained peace and stability”. The crisis in Burundi began in April 2015 when President Nkrununziza announced he would run for a third presidential term. The declaration was followed by a failed coup in May and widespread violence. International and regional actors tried to get the government (CNDD-FDD party) and opposition (CNARED) at the negotiation table several times, but the government still refuses externally-mediated talks and claims that questions concerning the constitution and 2020 elections were already answered, while removing term limits and excluding opponents in exile from contesting the 2020 elections were also mentioned. The government’s actions alarm international actors who fear a reoccurrence of the 2015 scenario.

It’s only just started, flooding is going to get a lot worse in Nigeria
https://qz.com/

The country has been facing serious floods this year that have caused chaos in the Lagos and other areas. Dramatic pictures have been posted on social media with incredible scenes such as the capture of a crocodile in floodwater and thirteen people have been reported dead in Suleija, a town near the capital of Abuja. Two factors are mentioned to explain the phenomenon: very heavy local rainfall and the release of excess water from the Lagdo Dam, a lake in the northern province of Cameroon. Even if flooding is a regular phenomenon in Nigeria, climate change aggravates the situation: the storms are getting more intense and the sea level is rising in coastal regions. Another factor that contributes to flooding is the rapid unregulated urban growth in the country.

7 underrated African heroes you should know about
http://www.okayafrica.com/

On a more positive note, blogger Jacqueline Traoré has compiled a list of seven underrated African heroes who are not often talked about but have left their mark on history. Among them are four women who played key roles in decolonization throughout Africa. Josina Muthemba Machel was a leading figure of the Mozambican struggle for independence; Yaa Asantewaa fought British forces in 1900; Funmilayo Ransome Kuti rose up against British colonialism in Nigeria and the writer Mariama Ba denounced the status of women in Senegalese society.

Top of the Blogs 2017 #12

Auch verfügbar in English

Diese Woche liegt der Fokus von Top of the Blogs auf verschiedenartige Herausforderungen, reichend von Präsidentschaftswahlen bis Umweltprobleme, die Afrika zu bewältigen hat. Die Ergebnisse der Präsidentschaftswahlen letzter Woche in Kenia wurden schon angefochten und die Perspektive von Wahlen in Burundi 2020 beunruhigt die internationale Gemeinschaft. Nigeria soll Herausforderungen nach schweren Überschwemmungen meistern. Wir werden aber diese Woche Top of the Blogs mit einer Würdigung von afrikanischen Menschen, die die Geschichte gemacht haben und die Herausforderungen in ihrem Land gemeistert haben, abschießen.

International Observers and the Kenya Election

https://www.cfr.org/

Präsidentschaftswahlen haben letzte Woche am 8. August in Kenia stattgefunden. Die Ergebnisse sind aber umstritten. Die International Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) hat den bisherigen Präsidenten Uhuru Kenyatta zum Sieger der Präsidentschaftswahlen erklärt. Der Oppositionsführer Raila Odinga hat aber die Ergebnisse abgelehnt und behauptet, er habe Beweise dafür, dass die Wahlen ‚gestohlen‘ wurden. Auch wenn Präsident Kenyattas Regierung eine starke ‚Recht und Ordnung‘ Haltung annimmt, wächst die Kritik an der Brutalität der Polizei. Amnesty International verlangt auch dringend eine Untersuchung zu den Berichten über die Gewalt der Polizei gegenüber pro-Odinga Demonstranten. Odinga hat vor Kurzem seine Enttäuschung über die internationalen Betreuungsteams geäußert. Obwohl diese Teams die Stimmabgabe während der Wahlen beobachten können, ist es komplizierter, die Abrechnung der Stimmen landesweit zu verfolgen.

Burundi 2020: Is President Nkurunziza already at it again?

http://africanarguments.org/

Burundi wird seit zwei Jahre einer heftigen politischen Krise ausgesetzt. Menschenrechtsgruppen und internationale Beobachter sind besorgt, obwohl Präsident Pierre Nkurunziza letzten Monat noch versichert hat, dass Burundi „an Frieden und Stabilität gewonnen hat“. Die Burundikrise begann im April 2015, als Präsident Nkurunziza bekannt gab, er würde für eine dritte Amtszeit als Präsident kandidieren. Dieser Bekanntgabe fo lgte im Mai ein gescheiterter Putsch und ein erneuter Gewaltausbruch. Internationale und regionale Akteure versuchten mehrmals, Regierung (CNDD-FDD-Partei) und Opposition (CNARED) an den Verhandlungstisch zu bringen. Die Regierung lehnt aber weiterhin extern-vermittelte Gespräche ab und behauptet, Fragen bezüglich der Verfassung und der Wahlen im Jahre 2020 seien schon beantwortet worden. Dabei wurde über eine mögliche Aufhebung der maximalen Amtszeit und die Verbannung der Opponenten im Hinblick auf 2020 berichtet. Das Vorgehen der Regierung beunruhigt die internationalen Akteure, die eine Wiederholung des 2015-Szenarios befürchten.

It’s only just started, flooding is going to get a lot worse in Nigeria

https://qz.com/

Das Land wurde dieses Jahr mit schweren Hochwasserproblemen konfrontiert, die Chaos in der Region von Lagos und anderen Regionen verursacht haben. Dramatische Bilder wurden auf sozialen Netzwerken veröffentlicht mit unglaublichen Szenen wie das Einfangen eines Krokodils im Flutwasser. Dreizehn Menschen sollen in Suleija, eine Stadt in der Nähe der Hauptstad Abuja, ums Leben gekommen sein. Zwei Faktoren werden erwähnt, um das Phänomen zu erklären: lokal starke Niederschläge und das Ablassen des Überschusswassers aus dem Lagdo-Stausees, ein See im nördlichen Teil von Kamerun. Auch wenn Überschwemmungen in Nigeria regelmäßig auftreten, verschärft sich die Situation aufgrund des Klimawandels: die Stürme werden immer stärker und der Meeresspiegel steigt in den Küstenregionen. Ein weiterer Faktor, der zu Hochwasser führt, ist das rapide unkontrollierte Städtewachstum.

7 underrated African heroes you should know about

http://www.okayafrica.com/

Um mit einer positiveren Meldung abzuschließen, sei auf die Bloggerin Jacqueline Traoré hingewiesen, die eine Liste von sieben verkannten afrikanischen Helden aufgestellt hat, welche nicht oft erwähnt werden aber ihre Spuren in der Geschichte hinterlassen haben. Unter ihnen, vier Frauen, die eine zentrale Rolle in der Entkolonialisierung überall in Afrika gespielt haben. Josina Muthemba Machel war eine Leitfigur im mosambikanischen Kampf für Unabhängigkeit; Yaa Asantewaa bekämpfte 1900 die britischen Streitkräfte; Funmilayo Ransome Kuti protestierte gegen den britischen Kolonialismus in Nigeria und die Schriftstellerin Mariama Ba prangerte den Status der Frauen in der senegalesischen Gesellschaft an.