Research Visit at KAS Media Programme

Also available in Deutsch

Welcome to the media capital of Africa – Welcome to Johannesburg!

The KAS Media Programme for Sub-Sahara Africa offers students the opportunity to spend a research visit at their Johannesburg office. In cooperation with local and regional partners, the programme initiates and promotes projects to further develop the media landscape and improve journalistic standards in the region.

The duration of the research stay is usually between eight and twelve weeks. Preference will be given to applicants who have practical media experience and appropriate knowledge. You should have very good command of English as well as creativity and initiative to contribute to the project work.

Successful applicants will assist in the planning, organization and execution of conferences, seminars and workshops and carry out independent academic or journalistic research on a topic related to our work.

Interns have to bear the costs for travel, accommodation and living themselves (flight, accommodation, rental cars, etc.) though a small stipend is offered. We are also happy to help with information and contact addresses when preparing your stay.

It is recommended to submit the application by e-mail at least three months before the desired research visit. Please send your application to the following Email

The following documents are required:

  • Motivation letter;
  • CV with picture;
  • School and academic records;
  • Specification for the desired period.

We look forward to receiving your application!

Die Skyline von Johannesburg

Contact person

Christoph Plate

Director Media Programme Subsahara Africa

Christoph Plate
Phone +27 11 214 29 00
Fax +27 11 214 2913
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français

Forschungsaufenthalt beim KAS Medienprogramm

Auch verfügbar in English

Willkommen in der Medienhaupstadt Afrikas - willkommen in Johannesburg!

Das Medienprogramm Sub-Sahara Afrika bietet Studenten die Möglichkeit eines Forschungsaufenthalts in seinem Johannesburger Büro. In Kooperation mit lokalen und regionalen Partnern initiiert und fördert es zahlreiche Projekte zur Weiterentwicklung der Medienlandschaft und zur Verbesserung journalistischer Standards in der Region.

Die Dauer des Forschungsaufenthalts beträgt in der Regel sechs bis acht Wochen. Bevorzugt werden Bewerber, die über praktische Medienerfahrung und entsprechende Kenntnisse verfügen. Sie sollten sehr gute Englischkenntnisse besitzen sowie Kreativität und Eigeninitiative im Rahmen der Projektarbeit mitbringen.

Erfolgreiche Bewerber assistieren bei der Planung, Organisation und Durchführung von Konferenzen, Seminaren und Workshops und führen eigenständige Recherchen zu ausgewählten wissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen durch.

Der Forschungsaufenthalt ist unentgeltlich, die Bewerber haben sämtliche im Zusammenhang mit ihrem Aufenthalt anfallenden Kosten (Flug, Unterkunft, Mietwagen etc.) selbst zu tragen. Wir helfen jedoch gerne mit Informationen und Kontaktadressen bei der Vorbereitung des Aufenthalts.

Es wird empfohlen, die Bewerbung mindestens drei Monate vor dem gewünschten Forschungsaufenthalt per E-Mail einzureichen.

Folgende Unterlagen werden benötigt:

  • Motivationsschreiben;
  • Lebenslauf mit Lichtbild;
  • Schulische und akademische Nachweise;
  • Angabe zum gewünschten Zeitraum.

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung!

Die Skyline von Johannesburg

Ansprechpartner

Christian Echle

Leiter des Regionalprogramms Politikdialog Asien/Singapur

Christian Echle
Tel. +65 6603 6160
Fax +65 6227 8343
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English