E-lection Bridge Africa

Also available in Deutsch

Image


Travelling through Africa reveals a continent on the move. This is especially true for the field of communication. All over the region the number of internet and, particularly, cell phone users is rapidly rising. Even in remote areas, life without a cell phone is often unimaginable. And these devices are increasingly web compatible. “A revolution,” proclaim professional observers. Modern political communication is affected and altered by these innovations. In fact, the effects of digitalisation on democratic competition are already visible in many places on the continent – on websites, social networks and YouTube videos. From Accra to Johannesburg, from Kampala to Windhoek, from Nairobi to Maputo.

Change in technology and content mean challenges not only for the campaign movers and shakers in the African region. Their German colleagues are also continually discussing and trying out new instruments of political communication, true to the belief, “the future is now.” The idea of sharing knowledge seems apparent, providing a platform from which everyone can profit. KAS Media Africa, the Media Programme Sub-Sahara Africa of the Konrad Adenauer Stiftung, would like to contribute to such an exchange. We want to build a bridge – between German and African players in modern political communication, who can then share their ideas, practices, successes, failures, assessments and much more.

Image

Foto: Coda

Welcome to the KAS E-lection Bridge Africa!

We want to veer away from the one-way street in which knowledge and experience only flow in one direction, and head toward a new form of ‘two-way road’ between the practitioners. Experts from Germany and Africa will take turns providing information about the digital state of affairs via short interviews suitable for viewing on the internet and cell phone. Kicking-off the series, in a two-part episode, will be the General Secretary of the CDU, Klaus Schüler, and Jake Obetsebi Lamptey, Chairman of the New Patriotic Party in Ghana.

“KAS E-lection Bridge Africa” conferences have taken place in Accra, Ghana, in April 2011 and in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, in May 2012. The conference 2013 was held in Windhoek, Namibia. This year KAS Media Africa invited all participants to Durban, South Africa.

Warning
Please activate JavaScript in your browser settings
Please install the Flash plug-in to see this content. ›

Contact person

Christian Echle

Director Regional Programme Political Dialogue Asia

Christian Echle
Phone +65 6603 6160
Fax +65 6227 8343
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English

E-lection Bridge Africa

Auch verfügbar in English

Abbildung


Wer durch Afrika reist, erlebt einen Kontinent im Aufbruch. Dies gilt insbesondere für den Kommunikationssektor. Überall in der Region steigen die Nutzerzahlen des Internets und vor allem der Mobiltelefonie rapide an. Selbst in entlegenen Gebieten treffen wir inzwischen Menschen an, für die ein Leben ohne Handy kaum noch vorstellbar ist. Immer häufiger sind diese Endgeräte internetfähig. „Eine Revolution“, urteilen professionelle Beobachter. Die moderne Politische Kommunikation wird von diesen Innovationen erfasst und verändert. Die Folgen der Digitalisierung für den demokratischen Wettbewerb sind auf dem Kontinent bereits vielerorts sichtbar - auf Webseiten, sozialen Netzwerken und YouTube-Videos. Von Accra bis Johannesburg, von Kampala bis Windhoek, von Nairobi bis Maputo.

Die Kampagnen-Macher in der Region stehen wahrlich nicht alleine da, wenn es um die Herausforderungen der technologischen und inhaltlichen Umbrüche geht. Auch ihre deutschen Kollegen diskutieren und probieren fortwährend neue Instrumente der Politischen Kommunikation aus – nach dem mutigen Motto „Die Zukunft passiert jetzt“. Ein Erfahrungsaustausch liegt da nahe; eine Plattform, von der beide Seiten ein Stück weit profitieren können. KAS Medien Afrika, das Medienprogramm Subsahara-Afrika der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, möchte dazu einen Beitrag leisten. Wir wollen eine Brücke schlagen – zwischen deutschen und afrikanischen Akteuren der modernen Politischen Kommunikation, die ihre Ideen, Anwendungen, Erfolge, Rückschläge, Einschätzungen und noch vieles mehr miteinander teilen.

Abbildung

Foto: Coda

Herzlich willkommen zur KAS E-lection Bridge Africa!

Wir wollen weg von der Einbahnstraße, in der Wissen und Erfahrungen nur in eine Richtung fließen, hin zur neuen Form der „Zweibahnstraße“ zwischen den Praktikern. In internetgerechten kurzen Interviews, die auch auf dem Handy noch gut zu verfolgen sind, werden Experten aus der Bundesrepublik und Afrika nun abwechselnd Auskunft über den digitalen Stand der politischen Dinge geben. Den Auftakt unserer Reihe machen – ausnahmsweise in einer Doppelfolge - der CDU-Bundesgeschäftsführer Klaus Schüler und Jake Obetsebi Lamptey, Chairmann der New Patriotic Party in Ghana.

Die ersten beiden Konferenz der „KAS E-lection Bridge Africa“ haben im April 2011 in Accra, Ghana, und im Mai 2012 in Dar es Salaam, Tansania, stattgefunden. Im April 2013 war die E-lection Bridge zu Gast in Windhuk, Namibia. Dieses Jahr lud KAS Media Africa die Teilnehmer nach Durban in Südafrika ein.

Achtung
Aktivieren Sie bitte JavaScript in Ihren Browsereinstellungen.
Bitte laden Sie das Flash-Plugin hier, um den Inhalt zu sehen. ›

Ansprechpartner

Christian Echle

Leiter des Regionalprogramms Politikdialog Asien/Singapur (in Vorbereitung)

Christian Echle
Tel. +49 30 26996 -3359/ -3367 / -3381
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English