"We move away from top-down communication and toward real dialogue."

E-lection Bridge Africa: Interview with Dr. Klaus Schüler

Also available in Deutsch

The request for an interview about the digital era is answered, “I’d love to,” via i-Pad. This is typical for Dr. Klaus Schüler since the CDU Federal Manager, and sworn soccer fan, is digitally always “on the ball.” His reputation as an authority in the field of political communication extends far beyond Germany. He is the acting Chairman of the Campaign Managers Committee of the International Democratic Union (IDU).

KAS MEDIA AFRICA: What are the most important current global trends in the field of political communication, in your opinion?

DR. KLAUS SCHÜLER: The growing digitalisation of political campaigns is definitely the number one topic, but not only as a technical phenomenon. Twitter, Facebook and so on are more than new means of communication. They fundamentally change political processes and organisation. A lot of what shaped political communication over the past decades is turned upside down.
On the other hand, I don’t care much for the theories that keep arising regarding the increasing Americanisation or personalisation of election campaigns. The times are over in which the world was divided between American campaigns and their imitators. These days, similar instruments and a high level of professionalism are found on all continents. And personal campaigns were already conducted in ancient Rome.

Biography
Dr. Klaus Schüler studied history in Cologne before holding leading positions in the CDU headquarters under Helmut Kohl and Angela Merkel. As State Secretary he was part of the government in Schleswig-Holstein for two years. The German media hailed the Federal Manager as “the engineer” of the successful 2009 CDU election campaign. Dr. Schüler is the winner of the “Aristotle Excellence Award”, a kind of Oscar for political campaigning. The digitalisation of politics is of passionate interest to him.

KAS MEDIA AFRICA: What does your organisation, the CDU, (Christian Democratic Union) particularly focus on at the moment?

DR. KLAUS SCHÜLER: On a realistic and goal-oriented evaluation of digital campaigning and a potential combination with classical campaign management. We want to be up to date, but don’t want to jump on every bandwagon. We should not forget that we also have many members, supporters and voters who we don’t reach by digital means, at least not yet.
Our key aspects of digital campaigning are videos on the internet via our YouTube channel, (www.cdu.tv) our multimedia magazine, UNION (www.union-magazin.de) and the development of our presence on the Web 2.0. In all cases, it is crucial that we move away from top-down communication and toward real dialogue and participation.

KAS MEDIA AFRICA: How do you currently deal with the topic of ‘social networks?’

DR. KLAUS SCHÜLER: We are represented on all relevant platforms and we are somewhat proud to be the most active and successful party in Germany in this department. Facebook, twitter and YouTube are at the core of our efforts. Our goal is to make the Web 2.0 an important pillar of our next national election campaign in 2013. Considering, that in time and number of users, social networks have been overtaking E-mail communication over the last few years, there is no alternative.

KAS MEDIA AFRICA: What role does the cell phone play in the political communication of the CDU?

DR. KLAUS SCHÜLER: A very large one, not least because the use of online services has continued to shift to this sector. Therefore, our web service is available in an optimized version suitable for all mobile devices including iPhone and iPad. During the parliamentary election in 2009 we were the only party to conduct marketing on mobile online platforms, as well as SMS advertising.

KAS MEDIA AFRICA: Let’s take a look at the future: What will be decisive in political communication? Or, as the Americans say: What is the next big thing?

DR. KLAUS SCHÜLER: The point is always the same: to reach people and get them to vote for the right party. It sounds mundane but it is increasingly difficult to raise awareness as the means of communication get more and more diverse and individualized. The problem can’t be solved simply with a new set of tools. The search for the ‘next big thing’ falls short. Overall, political communication must become more goal-oriented, individualized, conversational and, at least in Germany, considerably more emotionally appealing. This should be internalized by everyone in a political organization, from the management to each and every volunteer. If that succeeds, then we have really accomplished a ‘big thing’.

"Weg von der Top-Down-Kommunikation, hin zu echtem Dialog."

E-lection Bridge Africa: Interview mit Dr. Klaus Schüler

Auch verfügbar in English

Die Zusage zum Interview über das digitale Zeitalter kommt vom i-Pad: „Mache gerne mit“. Das ist typisch für Dr. Klaus Schüler – der CDU-Bundesgeschäftsführer und bekennende Fußball-Fan ist digital immer „auf Ballhöhe“. Sein Ruf als Autorität auf dem Gebiet der Politischen Kommunikation ragt längst über die Bundesrepublik hinaus. Er ist amtierender „Chairman of the Campaign Managers Committee of the International Democratic Union (IDU)“.

KAS MEDIEN AFRIKA: Was sind Ihrer Ansicht nach derzeit die weltweit wichtigsten Trends auf dem Feld der politischen Kommunikation?

DR. KLAUS SCHÜLER: Die wachsende Digitalisierung politischer Kampagnen ist sicherlich das Thema Nummer eins. Aber nicht nur als technisches Phänomen. Twitter, Facebook und Co. sind mehr als neue Kommunikationsmittel. Sie verändern politische Prozesse und politische Organisation fundamental. Das stellt vieles auf den Kopf, was politische Kommunikation über Jahrzehnte geprägt hat.
Von Thesen zunehmender Amerikanisierung oder Personalisierung von Wahlkämpfen, die immer wieder auftauchen, halte ich hingegen wenig. Die Zeiten, in der sich die Welt in amerikanische Kampagnen und ihre Nachahmer aufgeteilt hat, sind vorbei. Auf allen Kontinenten wird heute mit ähnlichem Instrumentarium und hoher Professionalität gearbeitet. Und Personenwahlkämpfe gab es schon im alten Rom.

Biographie
Dr. Klaus Schüler studierte Geschichte in Köln, bevor er im Konrad-Adenauer-Haus in führenden Positionen unter Helmut Kohl und Angela Merkel tätig war. Als Staatssekretär gehörte er zwei Jahre lang der Regierung Schleswig-Holsteins an. Deutsche Medien bezeichneten den Bundesgeschäftsführer als „Ingenieur“ des erfolgreichen CDU-Wahlkampfs 2009. Dr. Schüler ist Preisträger des „Aristotle Excellence Award“, einer Art „Oscar“ für politisches Campaigning. Die Digitalisierung der Politik interessiert ihn leidenschaftlich.

KAS MEDIEN AFRIKA: Worauf legt Ihre Organisation, die CDU Deutschlands, derzeit ein ganz besonderes Augenmerk?

DR. KLAUS SCHÜLER: Darauf, die Möglichkeiten digitalen Campaignings realistisch und nutzenorientiert einzuschätzen und mit klassischer Kampagnenführung zu verbinden. Wir wollen up to date sein, aber nicht jedem Trend hinterherlaufen. Und wir dürfen niemals außer acht lassen, dass wir auch viele Mitglieder, Unterstützer und Wähler haben, die wir auf digitalen Wegen nicht oder zumindest noch nicht erreichen.
Bewegtbild im Internet mit unserem youtube-Kanal cdu.tv, unser Multimedia-Magazin UNION (www.union-magazin.de) und der Ausbau unserer Präsenz im Web 2.0 sind die Top-Themen, wenn es um digitales Campaigning geht. Der wichtigste Ansatz dabei heißt: Weg von der Top-Down-Kommunikation hin zu echtem Dialog und Partizipation.

KAS MEDIEN AFRIKA: In welcher Form widmen Sie sich aktuell dem Thema „Soziale Netzwerke“?

DR. KLAUS SCHÜLER: Wir sind auf allen relevanten Plattformen vertreten. Und ein bisschen stolz darauf, dass wir auf diesem Gebiet die aktivste und erfolgreichste Partei in Deutschland sind. Facebook, twitter und youtube machen den Kern unserer Anstrengungen aus. Unser Ziel ist, den Bereich Web 2.0 zu einem wichtigen Standbein der nächsten nationalen Wahlkampagne 2013 zu machen. Wenn man sieht, dass bereits seit einigen Jahren Soziale Netzwerke zeitlich und von der Anzahl der User E-Mail-Kommunikation weltweit überholt haben, führt daran auch kein Weg vorbei.

KAS MEDIEN AFRIKA: Welche Rolle spielt das Mobiltelefon in der Politischen Kommunikation der CDU Deutschlands?

DR. KLAUS SCHÜLER: Eine sehr große. Nicht zuletzt, weil sich die Nutzung von Online-Angeboten immer mehr in diesen Bereich verlagert. Deshalb ist unser Online-Angebot in einer für alle mobilen Endgeräte einschließlich iPhone und iPad optimierten Version verfügbar. Bei der Bundestagswahl 2009 haben wir als einzige Partei neben SMS-Werbung auch Marketing auf Online-Plattformen im Mobilbereich betrieben.

KAS MEDIEN AFRIKA: Wagen wir einen Blick in die Zukunft: Worauf wird es dann in der Politischen Kommunikation ankommen. Oder, wie die Amerikaner sagen: What is the next big thing?

DR. KLAUS SCHÜLER: Es wird darauf ankommen, worauf es immer ankam: Menschen zu erreichen und dazu zu bewegen, ihr Kreuz an der richtigen Stelle zu machen. Das klingt banal, ist aber immer schwieriger, wenn Kommunikationswege immer vielfältiger und individueller werden und Aufmerksamkeitsschwellen immer höher. Das löst man nicht einfach mit neuen Tools. Die Suche nach dem „next big thing“ greift viel zu kurz. Politische Kommunikation muss insgesamt zielgenauer, individueller, dialogorientierter und zumindest in Deutschland eine gute Portion emotional ansprechender werden. Das muss jeder in einer politischen Organisation verinnerlichen, von der Führung bis zu jedem einzelnen freiwilligen Helfer. Wenn das gelingt, haben wir wirklich ein „big thing“ erreicht.