Clear messages, democratic structures – Political communication across Africa

E-Lection Bridge Durban 2014

Also available in Deutsch

Passionate discussions and a concentrated working-atmosphere on the first conference day: The E-Lection Bridge 2014 taking place in sunny Durban serves as a platform for political communicators of 12 different African countries for exchanging ideas about goals and problems of their daily work.

Image 1 of 6
E-Lection Bridge Africa 2014

Dr. Klaus Schüler, General Manager of the CDU Germany, opened the E-Lection Bridge Africa giving an insight about the campaign of the German General Elections 2013.

On the second day Dr. Klaus Schüler, General Manager of the CDU Germany, opened the E-Lection Bridge with giving an insight of the campaign strategy and organization of the German General Election 2013. He wanted to show the participants how a successfull campaign could look like ranging from positioning the candidate to spreading the key messages throughout the campaign.

In form of a panel discussion the question of inner party democracy was addressed. As an example McHenry Venaani, President of DTA Namibia, and Libolly Haufiku, Member Elections Comittee RDP Namibia, pointed out the different approaches towards a more effective democratic structure in their parties and how that works out. While McHenry Venaani pointed out the progresses his party made with regard to democratic structures, Libolly Haufiku and his party served as an example for the difficulties a party can have with a seriously ill party president unwilling to resign. All participants took part actively in the discussion about how to provide reliable inner party democracy.

In the evening Oliver Röseler, Head of Marketing and Internal Communications CDU Germany, gave a short introduction in what tools can be used to run a successfull campaign. Then he switched over to the more active part of the day, giving the participants the task to work out a message grid for their party and present it to the audience.


Eva Limmer

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Republic of South Africa, June 9, 2014

Contact

Christoph Plate

Director Media Programme Subsahara Africa

Christoph Plate
Phone +27 11 214 29 00
Fax +27 11 214 2913
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français

Klare Botschaften, demokratische Strukturen – Politische Kommunikation in Afrika

E-Lection Bridge 2014 in Durban

Auch verfügbar in English

Hitzige Debatten und konzentriertes Arbeiten am ersten Konferenztag: Auf der E-Lection Bridge Africa 2014 im sonnigen Durban treffen sich die politischen Kommunikatoren aus zwölf verschiedenen afrikanischen Ländern, um sich über gemeinsame Ziele und Probleme auszutauschen.

Bild 1 von 6
E-Lection Bridge Africa 2014

Dr. Klaus Schüler, Bundesgeschäftsführer der CDU Deutschland, eröffnete die diesjährige E-Lection Bridge Afrika mit einem Bericht über die Kampagne zur Bundestagswahl 2013.

Am zweiten Tag eröffnete Dr. Klaus Schüler, Bundesgeschäftsführer der CDU Deutschland, die Konferenz mit einem Überblick über die Kampagnenstrategie und die Organisation der Bundestagswahlen 2013. Den Teilnehmern sollte ein Eindruck vermittelt werden, wie eine erfolgreiche Kampagne aussehen kann – von der Positionierung der Kandidatin bis hin zu den Kernbotschaften, die den Wählern im Gedächtnis bleiben sollen.

Ein wichtiges Thema des ersten Tages war zudem die Frage nach demokratischen Strukturen innerhalb von Parteien. Zu Beginn dieser Podiumsdiskussion gaben McHenry Venaani, Präsident der DTA Namibia, und Libolly Haufiku, Mitglied des Wahlausschusses der RDP Namibia, einen Einblick in die völlig unterschiedliche Verfasstheit ihrer Parteien. Während McHenry Venaani die Fortschritte seiner Partei auf diesem Gebiet hervorhebt, zeigt Libolly Haufiku am Beispiel seiner Partei wie schwierig es ist, einen offensichtlich schwer kranken Präsidenten zum Rücktritt zu bewegen. In einer angeregten Diskussion tauschten sich die Teilnehmer über die oftmals schwierige Situation in ihren Parteien aus und versuchten gemeinsam Lösungen zu finden.

Am Nachmittag gab Oliver Röseler, CDU-Marketingchef, den Teilnehmern Werkzeuge an die Hand, die für eine erfolgreiche Wahlkampagne nötig sind. Nach einer kurzen Einführung waren die Teilnehmer dazu aufgefordert selbst aktiv zu werden und eine sogenannte Message Grid für ihre Partei zu erstellen und zu präsentieren.

Eva Limmer

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Republik Südafrika, 9. Juni 2014

Kontakt

Christoph Plate

Leiter des Medienprogramms Subsahara-Afrika (in Vorbereitung)

Christoph Plate
Tel. +49 30 26996-3359 / -3367 und -3381
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français