Lively discussion of the Draft of Hate Speech at Media Monitoring Africa workshop

Also available in Deutsch

“How can online hate speech be restricted without affecting the right to free speech?“ – Thirty five representatives from government, media and civil society discussed this question at a workshop in the middle of January organized by Media Monitoring Africa (MMA) and supported by KAS Media Africa. Participants compared South African and German solutions to the debate at the one-day event held at the University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg.

Image 1 of 6
Christian Echle deliveres speech

Christian Echle, Director Media Programme Sub-Sahara Africa

A new bill is currently being drafted in South Africa to make hate speech on social media an offence. Not everyone agrees with it, as the present version provides broad flexibility in interpretation: activists are afraid that it will leave space for a restriction of freedom of expression. Objections against the draft can be submitted at the Department of Justice until January 31.

Media Monitoring Africa has regularly organized panel discussions about media-related topics in collaboration with the KAS Media Programme. Hate speech has already been debated at a workshop in November with a similar gathering of participants, so a common knowledge base was the starting point for the discussion. Everyone was able to exchange their points of view and had the opportunity to gain more information by asking experts. A workshop for children around the age of 12 dealing with the same topic took place next door. The children expressed their thoughts about hate speech, freedom of opinion and equality in a playful way and their ideas were later presented to the workshop.

Media law expert Justine Limpitlaw explained the present draft “Prevention and Combating of Hate Crimes and Hate Speech Bill” and her doubts regarding its current formulation. Limpitlaw is the author of the Media Law Handbooks of Southern and Eastern Africa, published by KAS Media Africa. She believes that the bill can affect publishing criticism of the government such as satire. „What about people who repost hate speech to draw attention and criticize it? There is no distinction in the bill between that and the original post,” said Limpitlaw.

Christian Echle, Director of KAS Media Africa, presented Germany’s efforts against hate speech on Facebook. “South Africa is one step ahead in legal terms, there is no draft of a bill in Germany yet,” said Echle. Nevertheless, the German government is acting against illegal postings on Facebook. Minister of Justice Heiko Maas has been applying pressure on the company due to the ongoing refugee crisis in the country. Defamation of asylum seekers has increased on the social network in recent years. Compared to other European countries, Germany has the most online hate speech postings. Since October 2015 illegal postings have to be removed within 24 hours, otherwise Facebook would be held responsible for them. Facebook therefore commissioned 600 so-called content moderators at the Arvato company in Berlin who remove dangerous postings from the social network day and night. However, Facebook’s guidelines for illegal content remain non-transparent and controversial.

The first Facebook office on the African continent was opened in Johannesburg recently. The challenge to control numerous online postings was underlined by a representative of the office, Emilar Gandhi. Many postings are not reported as inappropriate, which is why Facebook cannot remove them immediately. The discussion also noted that South Africa’s multicultural background makes it complicated to determine which content may offend users. The nudity of a woman’s bare chest for example can be shown in public within some tribes, whereas others would not accept it. It was also stressed that African ideas often differ from American policies.

Some of the workshop participants disputed the need for the hate speech bill at all. According to them, a protection from discrimination and hate speech is already covered in Pepuda, the Promotion of Equality and Prevention of Unfair Discrimination Act. Theresa Ross, Principal State Law Adviser, was grateful for all the inputs and undertook to pass on the criticisms that became obvious in the discussion. Ross emphasized the importance of the hate speech bill: “We have to protect freedom of speech as well as the right to dignity. We cannot run away from what we see happening in the country at the moment.”

As a sum-up, Echle reminded participants to submit objections on the bill to the Department of Justice before the end of the month. “The bill is still a battlefield and we can try to influence it,” said Echle. The South African law will be one of the first laws combating hate speech online and will play an important role internationally and it is likely to be a used as a template for other African countries.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Republic of South Africa, January 30, 2017

Contact

Christoph Plate

Director Media Programme Subsahara Africa

Christoph Plate
Phone +27 11 214 29 00
Fax +27 11 214 2913
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français

Südafrikanischer Gesetzentwurf zur Bestrafung von Hassbotschaften im Internet umstritten

Auch verfügbar in English

„Wie kann man Hassbotschaften im Internet einschränken, ohne die Meinungsfreiheit zu verletzen?“ – mit dieser Frage befassten sich rund 35 Vertreter aus Wirtschaft und Politik Mitte Januar im Rahmen eines gemeinsamen Workshops von Media Monitoring Africa (MMA) und KAS Media Africa. Bei dem eintägigen Event an der Witwatersrand-Universität in Johannesburg verglichen die Teilnehmer südafrikanische und deutsche Debatten und Lösungsansätze.

Bild 1 von 6
Christian Echle deliveres speech

Christian Echle, Leiter des Medienprogramms Subsahara-Afrika

In Südafrika wird gerade ein Gesetz entworfen, das Hassbotschaften in sozialen Netzwerken strafbar machen soll. Nicht alle befürworten das Vorhaben, denn der bisherige Gesetzentwurf lässt viel Raum für Interpretation: Aktivisten befürchten eine Einschränkung der Meinungsfreiheit. Noch bis zum 31. Januar können Einwände gegen den Gesetzentwurf beim Justizministerium eingereicht werden.

Media Monitoring Africa organisiert regelmäßige gemeinsame Diskussionsrunden mit KAS Media Africa zu aktuellen und regional relevanten Medienthemen. Der Umgang mit Hassbotschaften wurde bereits bei einem Workshop im November in ähnlicher Zusammensetzung diskutiert, sodass die Teilnehmer auf eine gemeinsame Wissensgrundlage aufbauen konnten. Der Austausch bot verschiedenen Interessensgruppen Raum für Dialog und die Möglichkeit für Nachfragen bei Experten. Gleichzeitig fand im Nachbargebäude ein Workshop für Kinder im Alter von 12 Jahren zum selben Thema statt. In spielerischen Übungen erarbeiteten die Kinder Vorstellungen von Hassbotschaften, Meinungsfreiheit und Gleichstellung. Diese flossen anschließend in die Diskussion der Erwachsenen mit ein.

Zu Beginn des Workshops stellte Medienrechtsexpertin Justine Limpitlaw den aktuellen Entwurf der „Prevention and Combating of Hate Crimes and Hate Speech Bill“ vor und erläuterte ihre Zweifel an der aktuellen Fassung des Gesetzes. Limpitlaw hat im Auftrag von KAS Media Africa bereits mehrere Handbücher für Medienrecht im südlichen und östlichen Afrika veröffentlicht. Ihrer Einschätzung nach schränkt der Gesetzentwurf die Verbreitung von Kritik an der Regierung beispielsweise in Form von Satire ein. „Was ist mit Leuten, die Hassbotschaften im Internet teilen, um sie aufzudecken und zu kritisieren? Der Gesetzentwurf geht auf diesen Fall nicht ein“, so Limpitlaw.

Christian Echle, Leiter des Medienprogramms, stellte Deutschlands Bemühungen im Kampf gegen Hassbotschaften auf Facebook vor. „Südafrika ist uns in juristischer Hinsicht einen Schritt voraus, denn derzeit gibt es noch überhaupt keinen Gesetzesentwurf in Deutschland“, so Echle. Allerdings geht die deutsche Regierung bereits konkret gegen illegale Posts auf Facebook vor. Justizminister Heiko Maas setzt das Unternehmen in der aktuellen Flüchtlingsdebatte unter Druck. Beschimpfungen von Asylbewerbern haben sich in den letzten Jahren vervielfacht und im europäischen Vergleich gibt es in Deutschland derzeit die meisten Fälle von Hetze im Internet. Seit Oktober 2015 müssen diese innerhalb von 24 Stunden entfernt werden, sonst wird Facebook dafür verantwortlich gemacht. Aus diesem Grund beauftragt das Unternehmen 600 sogenannte Content-Moderatoren der Firma Arvato in Berlin, die Tag und Nacht illegale Posts aus dem Netzwerk löschen. Facebooks Richtlinien zur Entfernung von Inhalten sind allerdings intransparent und kontrovers.

In Johannesburg wurde erst kürzlich die erste Facebook Repräsentanz auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent eröffnet. Die Herausforderung, unzählige Online-Posts auf Hassbotschaften zu kontrollieren, gilt auch für Südafrika. Viele Posts werden gar nicht als unangemessen gemeldet, weshalb Facebook sie erst spät entfernt. Südafrikas multikultureller Hintergrund verkompliziert außerdem die Frage, welche Inhalte als unangebracht empfunden werden. Die nackte Brust einer Frau darf in manchen Kulturkreisen in der Öffentlichkeit gezeigt werden, in anderen nicht. Darüber hinaus unterscheiden sich afrikanische Vorstellungen oft von den amerikanischen Richtlinien.

In der Diskussionsrunde wurden auch Stimmen laut, die den neuen Gesetzentwurf komplett ablehnten. Ein Schutz vor Diskriminierung und Hassbotschaften sei schon im Pepuda (Promotion of Equality and Prevention of Unfair Discrimination) Act verankert. Theresa Ross, Landesgesetzberaterin im Justizministerium, dankte für vielseitigen Input und versprach, die Kritik weiterzugeben. Dennoch betonte sie die Wichtigkeit des Gesetzes: „Neben dem Schutz der Meinungsfreiheit geht es auch um den Schutz der Würde des Menschen. Wir können nicht die Augen vor dem verschließen, was gerade in unserem Land passiert.“

Zum Abschluss des Workshops erinnerte Echle nochmals daran, Einwände bis Ende des Monats beim Justizministerium einzureichen. „Noch ist die Debatte um den Gesetzesentwurf ein Kampf, den wir beeinflussen können“, so Echle. Das südafrikanische Gesetz gegen hassmotivierte Verbrechen und Hassbotschaften in sozialen Netzwerken ist eines der ersten seiner Art und wird deshalb international eine bedeutende Rolle spielen. Es könnte als Vorbild ähnlicher Gesetze für andere afrikanische Länder dienen.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Republik Südafrika, 30. Januar 2017

Kontakt

Christoph Plate

Leiter des Medienprogramms Subsahara-Afrika

Christoph Plate
Tel. +27 11 214 29 00
Fax +27 11 214 2913
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français