# Storytellers: Return to old values to look forward

MEANWHILE RADIO DAYS AFRICA IS A POPULAR CONFERENCE FOR MEDIA MAKERS THROUGHOUT THE COUNTRY

Also available in Deutsch

The business models are forever changing, but the community, or listeners, will always remain a constant feature. No matter how the radio of tomorrow will look like, from podcasts to fact-checks – the core of the radio was and will always be the listeners and their stories, which are told by journalists. This is the reason why the radio of the future won`t disappear.

Image 1 of 8
Crowd Outside

Radio Days Africa 2018, held from 4. to 6. July at the University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg, attracted more than 300 delegates from public, community and commercial radio across Africa and the world. The conference started with a discussion on #Storytellers and what challenges and opportunities will arise for the radio in the future. Director of the Wits Radio Academy, Prof. Franz Krüger, opened the panel with a fairytale “Radio Princess and the seven Dwarfs”. During the discussion, Primedia Group CEO Omar Essack talked about how “unappealing” and “unsexy” the radio is in contrast to online media.

In spite of this, radio stations in Africa would “bring home the bacon”, as SABC journalist Nada Wotshela replied. Listeners and their needs are essential for radio. In addition to cost factors, cooperation was also debated. Collaborating with Google, Amazon or Sonos, for example, could help reach the youth, as Commercial Radio Australia CEO Joan Warner said.

Know the community and move with the times

The BBC has also responded to the needs of their community: Join Seren Jones and Olivia Lepoidevin of BBC Minute made it impressively clear that the younger generation prefer solutions-oriented journalism. In addition, there are other success factors for BBC to reach young people, including personalities, informative but interesting writing and going with the trends. "Messages are about people, about going to the people," Jones said.

Soweto-based Jozi FM takes this advice to heart with the slogan "Jozi FM is owned by the community". Jozi FM is a community radio that celebrates many events together with its audience. "Get out, be seen," said Station Manager Mpho Mhlongo.

In order for such a conversation to succeed, one must know their audience. "What do we know about our listeners? Nothing. What does Facebook know about its users? Everything". This statement by Lance Claasen from Un-Told Media pointed out that radio still uses an analog model on a digital platform. He also emphasized the importance of responding to the needs of users and create a product around them. "All processes must be related to relationships, we need to be more than social media."

Building up trust

Hence Africa Check has a mission as a fact-checking organization. Kate Wilkinson, a researcher, shared the organization´s tips and tools on how to verify facts. Again, it was all about the return to old values of journalism: asking, being critical and accurate. The loss of confidence was also discussed by SABC COO Chris Maroleng. He described this as his biggest challenge. He emphasized the need of change.

Podcasts – the future?

Besides the trust, podcasts were a big topic at this year´s Radio Days conference. Some podcasters came to talk about their experiences or to present their podcasts, like Kathy Tu with "Nancy".

The conference ended with the Innovation Panel chaired by the veteran journalist Paul McNally. CTO and co-founder Upspeak in Germany, Jonas Reif, talked about the podcast trend in Germany and his App for podcaster and communites. Looking to Germany shows that new trends such as podcasts can exist parallel to conventional radio, both can benefit from each other.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Republic of South Africa, July 11, 2018

Radio Days Africa Logo

#Storytellers: Rückbesinnung auf alte Werte, um nach vorne zu schauen

DIE RADIO DAYS AFRICA SIND MITTLERWEILE EINE LANDESWEIT BELIEBTE KONFERENZ FÜR MEDIENMACHER

Auch verfügbar in English

Die Geschäftsmodelle verändern sich, aber die community, die Zuhörer, bleiben für immer ein konstanter Bestandteil: Egal wie sich das Radio von morgen entwickelt, von Podcasts bis hin zu Fakten-Checks – was es künftig weiterhin ausmachen wird, sind die Hörer und ihre Geschichten, die von Journalisten erzählt werden. Und genau das ist der Grund, warum das Radio auch in Zukunft nicht verschwinden wird.

Bild 1 von 8
Crowd Outside

Bei den Radio Days Africa 2018 trafen sich rund 300 Teilnehmer vom 4. bis 6. Juli am Journalismus-Institut der Witwatersrand-Universität in Johannesburg. Aus ganz Afrika und der Welt reisten Vertreter von öffentlich-rechtlichen, privaten und Gemeinde-Radios an. Die Konferenz begann mit einer Diskussion zum Thema #Storytellers und welche Herausforderungen und Chancen sich künftig für das Radio ergeben. Direktor der Wits-Radio-Akademie, Prof. Franz Krüger, eröffnete das Panel mit dem Märchen „Prinzessin Radio und die sieben Zwerge“. Während der Diskussion meinte Primedia Group CEO Omar Essack, dass Radio im Gegensatz zu online Medien „unsexy“ wirke.

Dennoch würden Radiostationen in Afrika Geld einbringen, wie SABC Journalistin Nada Wotshela erwiderte. Essentiell für das Radio seien die Zuhörer und ihre Bedürfnisse. Neben Kostenfragen wurde auch über Kooperationen debattiert, so könnte das Zusammenarbeiten mit Google, Amazon oder Sonos helfen, die Jugend zu erreichen, wie CEO des Commercial Radio Australia Joan Warner anbrachte.

Die Community kennen und mit der Zeit gehen

Ganz auf die Bedürfnisse ihrer community geht auch BBC ein: Join Seren Jones und Olivia Lepoidevin von BBC Minute machten eindrücklich klar, dass die junge Generation einen lösungsorientierten Journalismus bevorzuge. Daneben gäbe es noch andere Erfolgsfaktoren, um junge Leute zu erreichen: Persönlichkeit, informatives aber interessantes Schreiben und mit den Trends gehen. „Nachrichten sind über Menschen, über das Hingehen zu den Menschen“, wie Jones meinte.

Das nimmt sich auch Jozi FM aus Soweto mit dem Slogan „Jozi FM is owned by the community“ zu Herzen. Jozi FM ist ein community Radio, das viele Events gemeinsam mit seinen Hörern feiert. „Geh raus, werde gesehen“, meinte Station Manager Mpho Mhlongo.

Damit solch eine Konversation überhaupt gelinge, müsse man aber seine Zuhörerschaft kennen. „Was wissen wir über unserer Hörer? Nichts. Was weiß Facebook über seine User? Alles“. Dieses Statement von Lance Claasen von Un-Told Media machte klar, dass Radio immer noch ein analoges Modell auf einer digitalen Plattform nutzt. Er betonte die Wichtigkeit der Bedürfnisse der User und dass ein Produkt um sie herum geschaffen werden müsse. „Alle Prozesse müssen mit Beziehungen zu tun haben. Wir müssen mehr als Social Media sein.“

Vertrauen schaffen

„Africa Check“ hat daher eine Mission als faktencheckende Organisation. Wissenschaftlerin Kate Wilkinson teilte Tipps und Tools der Organisation, wie Fakten verifiziert werden könnten. Wieder ging es dabei um die Rückbesinnung alter Werte des Journalismus: nachfragen, kritisch und genau sein. Vom Vertrauensverlust sprach auch SABC COO Chris Maroleng, der für ihn die größte Herausforderung darstelle. Er betonte die Notwendigkeit, das zu ändern.

Podcasts - die Zukunft?

Neben dem Vertrauen waren dieses Jahr Podcasts ein großes Thema auf den Radio-Tagen. Einige Podcaster sind gekommen, um über ihre Erfahrungen zu sprechen oder ihre Podcasts vorzustellen, wie beispielsweise Kathy Tu mit ihrem Podcast „Nancy“.

Mit dem Innovation Panel, das der Journalist Paul McNally moderierte, endete die Konferenz. CTO und Co-Founder von Upspeak, Jonas Reif, erzählte vom Podcast-Trend in Deutschland und seiner App für Podcaster und communities. Der Blick nach Deutschland zeigt, dass neue Trends wie Podcasts und das herkömmliche Radio parallel existieren und gegenseitig voneinander profitieren können.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Republik Südafrika, 11. Juli 2018

Radio Days Africa Logo