Publications

Page 6

Workshop in Network Security in Johannesburg

"Surveillance, Privacy and Net neutrality"

How safe are we while surfing the Internet? Are we indeed under surveillance? And what can we do to protect our data on the network? These questions were answered by Constanze Kurz, from Germany’s Chaos Computer Club in a workshop at Wits University in Johannesburg. The event was organized by Media Monitoring Africa and the German Embassy in Pretoria, with the support of KAS Media Africa. more…

Event Reports | March 1, 2016

#KASHuffPost - Youth and Politics in Different Regions of the World

Lively interactions at the opening event of the Adenauer-Huffington-Briefing in Berlin

The Konrad Adenauer Foundation and Huffington Post Germany have entered into a short term partnership which will see KAS staff based in 13 countries contributing articles about their work and the political and social trends on the ground. Over the course of the next few weeks, the blog posts will try to tackle the question of how politics can appeal to young people around the world. more…

Event Reports | February 3, 2016

#FEESMUSTFALL

NET ACTIVISM AND SOUTH AFRICAN PROTEST CULTURE

Former KAS Media Africa intern Flora Hartmann writes about South African students taking to the streets and the role social media is playing in the country’s ‘born-free’ generation’s protest. more…

December 15, 2015

#AfricaBlogging Members prepare Launch of Blogger Platform

Compared to Europe, the reporting in African media is often not very diverse and media companies are often influenced by state interests. Blogs can therefore play a vital role in enriching diversity of opinion and providing an alternative source of information. Their independent point of view allows them to foster new debates and set fresh agendas. Blogs covering political topics are increasingly deepening their quality and depth. Although more superficial news services like twitter can provide rapid updates, bloggers are managing to distinguish themselves by offering more analysis and depth. more…

Event Reports | November 20, 2015

Using Social Media for Political Communication in Africa

Twitter, Facebook, YouTube - especially since the Arab Spring has the potential of social media to influence politics gained worldwide attention. This is also true for the political sphere in Sub-Saharan Africa, although one might argue that the potential is not yet fully exploited. more…

October 22, 2015

Publikationen

Seite 6

Workshop zur Netz-Sicherheit in Johannesburg

"Surveillance, Privacy and Net neutrality"

Wie sicher sind wir beim Surfen im Internet? Werden wir dabei überwacht? Und was können wir tun, um unsere Daten im Netz zu schützen? Diese Fragen beantwortete die Sprecherin des Chaos Computer Club Deutschland, Constanze Kurz, bei einem Workshop an der Wits University Johannesburg. Veranstalter des Events waren das Media Monitoring Africa Programm und die Deutsche Botschaft in Pretoria, mit Unterstützung von KAS Media Africa. mehr…

Veranstaltungsberichte | 1. März 2016

„Politik ist Kontaktsport“

Auftaktveranstaltung zum Adenauer-Huffington-Briefing mit CDU-Generalsekretär Peter Tauber

Im Telefonica BASECAMP in Berlin fiel heute der Startschuss für das Adenauer-Huffington-Briefing - einem gemeinsamen Projekt der KAS und der Huffington Post. In den nächsten Wochen berichten KAS-Auslandsmitarbeiter aus dreizehn Ländern auf einem gemeinsamen Blogportal über ihre Arbeit vor Ort sowie über politische und gesellschaftliche Trends. Eine Frage steht dabei im Vordergrund: Wie kann die Politik junge Menschen besser erreichen? mehr…

Veranstaltungsberichte | 2. Februar 2016

#FeesMustFall

Netzaktivismus in der südafrikanischen Protestkultur

Flora Hartmann, ehemalige Praktikantin beim Medienprogramm Subsahara-Afrika, schreibt über die Studentenproteste in Südafrika und die Rolle der sozialen Medien in Protestbewegungen der "born free"-Generation. mehr…

15. Dezember 2015

#AfricaBlogging-Mitglieder bereiten Plattformlaunch vor

Die Berichterstattung in den afrikanischen Medien ist verglichen mit Europa nicht vielfältig genug. Medienunternehmen werden zudem oft staatlich beeinflusst. Darum sind Blogs als alternative Informationsquellen eine gute Bereicherung für die Meinungsvielfalt auf dem Kontinent. Durch ihren unabhängigen Standpunkt können sie neue Debatten anregen und Themen setzten. Besonders im politischen Themenbereich gewinnen viele Blogs zudem zunehmend an Qualität und Tiefe und profilieren sich so im Wettbewerb mit dem aktuelleren aber oberflächlicheren Nachrichtendienst Twitter. mehr…

Veranstaltungsberichte | 20. November 2015

Politische Inhalte und Soziale Medien

E-lection Bridge Akademie 2015

Menschen lassen sich am ehesten durch Emotionen und Werte zu mehr politischer Teilhabe motivieren. Die Herausforderung, überzeugende politische Botschaften dementsprechend zu formulieren und sie für die Sozialen Medien zu optimieren, stand im Mittelpunkt der diesjährigen E-lection Bridge Akademie in Windhoek, Namibia. mehr…

Veranstaltungsberichte | 16. Oktober 2015