350 journalists from all over the world meet in India

Also available in Deutsch

After two years, the International Media Conference was hosted again by the KAS Media Programme Asia in cooperation with the East-West Center (EWC). Journalists from more than 40 nations visited the biennially conference, this year in India under the slogan “South Asia Looking East”.

Image 1 of 2
Torben Stephan, Director of the KAS Media Programme Asia, together with Mahfuz Anam, publisher of the ANN-member Daily Star, who was honored for his courageous work as journalist (photo: Ryan Mohd-Yazid).

Torben Stephan, Director of the KAS Media Programme Asia, together with Mahfuz Anam, publisher of the ANN-member Daily Star, who was honored for his courageous work as journalist (photo: Ryan Mohd-Yazid).

This year’s conference offered an extensive programme for the journalists that came to New Delhi. Whereas the venue and the slogan was the reason for a focus on South Asia and especially India, the participants made the conference all the more international: Topics, like press freedom and its consequences for journalists and their work, the specific field of investigative journalism, various political trouble spots around the world as well as their international influences, or the role of women (in journalism) have been discussed diverse and from different international and interculturel point of views. Every session – whether it was a workshop, a talk or a panel discussion – led to fruitful discussions and a lively exchange of ideas between the participants even afterwards.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Singapore, October 27, 2016

Contact

Torben Stephan

Director Media Programme Asia

Torben Stephan
Phone +65 6603 6182
Fax +65 6603 6180
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English

350 Journalisten aus aller Welt treffen sich in Indien

Auch verfügbar in English

Nach zwei Jahren fand erneut die International Media Conference statt, die das KAS Medienprogramm Asien gemeinsam mit dem East-West Center (EWC) organisiert. Unter dem Motto “South Asia Looking East” besuchten Journalisten aus über 40 Nationen die Konferenz, die alle zwei Jahre ausgerichtet wird und in diesem Jahr in Indien stattfand.

Bild 1 von 2
Torben Stephan (links), Leiter des KAS Medienprogramms Asien, zusammen mit Mahfuz Anam, Herausgeber des ANN-Mitglieds Daily Star, der für seine mutige Arbeit als Journalist ausgezeichnet wurde (Foto: Ryan Mohd-Yazid).

Torben Stephan (links), Leiter des KAS Medienprogramms Asien, zusammen mit Mahfuz Anam, Herausgeber des ANN-Mitglieds Daily Star, der für seine mutige Arbeit als Journalist ausgezeichnet wurde (Foto: Ryan Mohd-Yazid).

Während der diesjährigen Konferenz in Neu Delhi bot sich den Journalisten ein umfangreiches Programm. Während der Austragungsort und das Motto für einen inhaltlichen Schwerpunkt auf Südasien und speziell Indien sorgten, schafften die Teilnehmer ein umso internationaleres Klima. Dadurch konnten Themen, wie Pressefreiheit und die Auswirkungen auf die Arbeit von Journalisten, der Bereich des Investigativjournalismus, verschiedene politische Krisenherde weltweit sowie dessen internationale Einflüsse oder die Rolle der Frauen (im Journalismus) international, interkulturell und divers diskutiert werden. Jeder Programmpunkt – ob Workshop, Vortrag oder Podiumsdiskussion – sorgte für anregende Diskussionen und einen belebten Austausch zwischen den Teilnehmern auch über die Programmpunkte hinaus.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Singapur, 27. Oktober 2016

Kontakt

Torben Stephan

Leiter Medienprogramm Asien

Torben Stephan
Tel. +65 6603 6182
Fax +65 6603 6180
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English