About Us

Also available in Deutsch

Welcome to the Media Program South East Europe

The Media Program South East Europe was founded in 2005. Initially, the Zagreb office of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) was lead. In 2007, the Media Program moved to Sofia and is covering now Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, the Republic of Moldova, Romania and Serbia.

The Media Program South East Europe is part of the global media program of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung. It has additional offices in Buenos Aires (for Latin America), Johannesburg (for Sub-Saharan Africa) and Singapore (for Asia). In the framework of global democracy promotion, one of the special priorities of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung is the support of free and independent media as an essential precondition for the opinion-making of citizens in a democracy.

The central objective of the media activities of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung is to strengthen the role of media in the process of democratization and transformation. This can be achieved only when all relevant players are involved. Apart from the journalists, key stakeholders are the media owners, politics, civil society and science. It aims at achieving a shared understanding of the role of media in democracy.

Against this background, the Media Program, in cooperation with national and regional cooperation partners, supports and organizes training courses and dialog programs. Examples are national and international conferences, seminars, workshops as well as case studies and analyses supported by the program. The regional approach of the Media Program aims at deepening the regional cooperation and the exchange between the countries in the region. With view of this purpose, the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung encourages regional networks and dialog platforms. In addition, the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung organizes information trips to Germany and supports talented young professionals in the region and Germany.

The Media Program South East Europe works together with persons and institutions with a professional media background. These are journalists from all media, editors, leading executives from media houses, professional and non-governmental organizations, media lawyers, communication experts and politicians.

The Media Program South East Europe concentrates on following fields of action:

1. Journalists’ Qualification

In this area, the preconditions for a qualitative and deepened coverage are to be improved. The program teaches technical skills and in addition, it imparts knowledge in the areas of democracy, European integration, foreign and security policy, social market economy and rule of law. A further aim is to establish ethical standards in media and to foster institutions corresponding to the German Press Council. These measures are expected to contribute to media in South East Europe to better fulfill their watchdog and informing functions.

2. Media Freedom and Plurality of Views

The influence of political and economic interests as well as the increasing concentration of media providers and the lack of transparency of media ownership endanger the plurality of views and the freedom of media in the region. For this reason, the framework conditions for an independent and variegated media landscape are to be improved. The Media Program South East Europe encourages the dialog between politics, media and civil society organizations in view of the role of media and supports this aim together with the Rule of Law Program South East Europe of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (www.kas.de/rspsoe) the development of media law in South East Europe.

3. Political Communication

A modern, professional and responsible political communication lies at the heart of a vital and functioning democracy. Political communication has to serve the transmission of democratic positions and contents. In the framework of the European People’s Party (EPP), the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung supports its partner parties in the region with the view to professionalizing their communication.

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung

Freedom, justice and solidarity are the basic principles underlying the work of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS). The KAS is a political foundation, closely associated with the Christian Democratic Union of Germany (CDU). As co-founder of the CDU and the first Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany, Konrad Adenauer (1876-1967) united Christian-social, conservative and liberal traditions. His name is synonomous with the democratic reconstruction of Germany, the firm alignment of foreign policy with the trans-Atlantic community of values, the vision of a unified Europe and an orientation towards the social market economy. His intellectual heritage continues to serve both as our aim as well as our obligation today.

In our European and international cooperation efforts we work for people to be able to live self-determined lives in freedom and dignity. We make a contribution underpinned by values to helping Germany meet its growing responsibilities throughout the world.

We encourage people to lend a hand in shaping the future along these lines. With more than 70 offices abroad and projects in over 120 countries, we make a unique contribution to the promotion of democracy, the rule of law and a social market economy. To foster peace and freedom we encourage a continuous dialog at the national and international levels as well as the exchange between cultures and religions.

Human beings in their distinctive dignity and with their rights and responsibilities are at the heart of our work. We are guided by the conviction that human beings are the starting point in the effort to bring about social justice and democratic freedom while promoting sustainable economic activity. By bringing people together who embrace their responsibilities in society, we develop active networks in the political and economic spheres as well as in society itself. The guidance we provide on the basis of our political know-how and knowledge helps to shape the globalization process along more socially equitable, ecologically sustainable and economically efficient lines.

We cooperate with governmental institutions, political parties, civil society organizations and handpicked elites, building strong partnerships along the way. In particular we seek to intensify political cooperation in the area of development cooperation at the national and international levels on the foundations of our objectives and values. Together with our partners we make a contribution to the creation of an international order that enables every country to develop in freedom and under its own responsibility.

Über uns

Auch verfügbar in English

Willkommen bei dem Medienprogramm Südosteuropa

Das Medienprogramm Südosteuropa der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) besteht seit 2005. Zuerst wurde es vom KAS-Auslandsbüro in Zagreb betreut, seit Januar 2007 hat es seinen eigenständigen Sitz in Sofia. Es umfasst Albanien, Bosnien und Herzegowina, Bulgarien, Kosovo, Kroatien, Mazedonien, Montenegro, die Republik Moldau, Rumänien und Serbien.

Das Medienprogramm Südosteuropa ist Teil des weltweiten Medienprogramms der KAS. Neben dem Büro in Sofia unterhält es weitere Regionalbüros in Buenos Aires (für Lateinamerika), Johannesburg (für Afrika südlich der Sahara) und Singapur (für Asien). Im Rahmen ihrer weltweiten Demokratieförderung legt die KAS damit einen besonderen Schwerpunkt auf die Förderung freier und unabhängiger Medien als Grundvoraussetzung für die Meinungsbildung der Bürger in einem demokratischen Gemeinwesen.

Zentrales Ziel der Medienarbeit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in den Ländern Südosteuropas ist es, die Rolle der Medien im Prozess der Demokratisierung und Transformation zu stärken. Dieses Ziel kann aber nur erreicht werden, wenn alle relevanten Akteure für die Entwicklung freier und unabhängiger Medien mit einbezogen werden. Das sind die Journalisten, aber auch die Medienunternehmer, die Politik, zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen und die Wissenschaft. Es geht dabei vor allem auch um ein gemeinsames Rollenverständnis von Medien in einer Demokratie.

Vor diesem Hintergrund organisiert und unterstützt das Medienprogramm Südosteuropa gemeinsam mit nationalen und regionalen Kooperationspartnern Bildungsmaßnahmen und Dialogprogramme. Dazu gehören nationale und internationale Konferenzen, Seminare, Workshops, Trainings sowie die Erstellung von Studien und Analysen. Der länderübergreifende Ansatz des Medienprogramms dient dazu, insbesondere die regionale Zusammenarbeit und den Austausch zwischen den Ländern in der Region zu vertiefen. Um dies zu erreichen, unterstützt die KAS regionale Netzwerke und Dialogplattformen. Darüber hinaus lädt die KAS zu Informationsreisen nach Deutschland ein und fördert begabte Nachwuchskräfte in der Region sowie in Deutschland.

Das Medienprogramm Südosteuropa arbeitet dabei mit Personen und Institutionen zusammen, die mit professioneller Medienarbeit zu tun haben: Journalisten aus allen Medienbereichen, Verleger, Führungskräfte von Medienhäusern, berufsständische Organisationen und Nichtregierungsorganisationen, Medienrechtler und Wissenschaftler, Kommunikationsexperten und Politiker.

Bei den Maßnahmen des Medienprogramms Südosteuropa stehen in der praktischen Arbeit folgende Aktionsbereiche im Vordergrund:

1. Qualifizierung von Journalisten

Hierbei sollen die Voraussetzungen für eine qualitätsvolle sowie inhaltlich fundierte Berichterstattung verbessert werden. Das Programm vermittelt neben journalistisch-handwerklichen Fähigkeiten insbesondere Kenntnisse in den Bereichen Demokratie, Europäische Integration, Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik, Soziale Marktwirtschaft und Rechtsstaat. Außerdem geht es um die Etablierung medienethischer Standards und die Förderung von Institutionen analog zum Deutschen Presserat. Diese Maßnahmen sollen dazu beitragen, dass die Medien in Südosteuropa ihre Wächter- und Informationsfunktion besser wahrnehmen können.

2. Medienfreiheit und Meinungspluralismus

Die Einflussnahme politischer und wirtschaftlicher Interessengeflechte, aber auch die zunehmende Konzentration der Medienanbieter sowie die Intransparenz des Medieneigentums gefährden den Meinungspluralismus und die Medienfreiheit in der Region. Deshalb gilt es, die Rahmenbedingungen für eine unabhängige und vielfältige Medienlandschaft zu verbessern. Das Medienprogramm der KAS fördert den Dialog zwischen Politik, Medien und zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen über die Rolle der Medien und unterstützt gemeinsam mit dem KAS-Rechtsstaatsprogramm http://www.kas.de/rspsoe die Entwicklung des Medienrechts in Südosteuropa.

3. Politische Kommunikation

Eine moderne, professionelle und verantwortungsvolle politische Kommunikation ist Kernbestandteil einer vitalen und funktionierenden Demokratie. Politische Kommunikation muss zur Vermittlung von demokratischen Positionen und Inhalten dienen. Im Rahmen des Netzwerkes der Europäischen Volkspartei (EVP) unterstützt die KAS die Partnerparteien in der Region bei der Professionalisierung ihrer Kommunikation.

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung

Freiheit, Gerechtigkeit und Solidarität sind die Leitprinzipien der Arbeit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS). Die KAS ist eine Politische Stiftung, die der Christlich Demokratischen Union Deutschlands (CDU) nahesteht. Als Mitbegründer der CDU und erster deutscher Bundeskanzler verband Konrad Adenauer (1876-1967) christlich-soziale, konservative und liberale Traditionen. Sein Name steht für den demokratischen Wiederaufbau Deutschlands, die außenpolitische Verankerung in einer transatlantischen Wertegemeinschaft, die Vision der europäischen Einigung und die Orientierung an der Sozialen Marktwirtschaft. Sein geistiges Erbe ist uns weiterhin Aufgabe und Verpflichtung zugleich.

Mit unserer Europäischen und Internationalen Zusammenarbeit setzen wir uns dafür ein, dass Menschen selbstbestimmt in Freiheit und Würde leben können. Wir leisten einen werteorientierten Beitrag dazu, dass Deutschland seiner wachsenden Verantwortung in der Welt gerecht wird.

Wir wollen Menschen dazu bewegen, die Zukunft in diesem Sinne mitzugestalten. Durch weltweit mehr als 70 Büros und Projekte in über 120 Ländern leisten wir einen eigenständigen Beitrag zur Förderung von Demokratie, Rechtsstaatlichkeit und Sozialer Marktwirtschaft. Um Frieden und Freiheit zu sichern, unterstützen wir den kontinuierlichen außen- und sicherheitspolitischen Dialog sowie den Austausch zwischen Kulturen und Religionen.

Im Zentrum steht für uns der Mensch in seiner unverwechselbaren Würde, seinen Rechten und Pflichten. Er bildet für uns den Ausgangspunkt für soziale Gerechtigkeit, freiheitliche Demokratie und nachhaltiges Wirtschaften. Indem wir Menschen zusammenbringen, die ihre gesellschaftliche Verantwortung annehmen, entwickeln wir aktive Netzwerke in Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. Unser politisches Wissensmanagement verbessert die Chancen, die Globalisierung sozial gerecht, ökologisch nachhaltig und wirtschaftlich effizient zu gestalten.

Partnerschaftlich arbeiten wir mit staatlichen Institutionen, Parteien, Organisationen der Bürgergesellschaft sowie ausgewählten Eliten zusammen. Durch unsere Ziele und Wertevorstellungen wollen wir insbesondere in der Entwicklungspolitik auch in Zukunft Politische Zusammenarbeit regional und global vertiefen. Zusammen mit unseren Partnern tragen wir zu einer internationalen Ordnung bei, die jedem Land eine Entwicklung in Freiheit und Eigenverantwortung ermöglicht.