Trust of Bulgarians in media has further decreased

Also available in Deutsch

Foundation Media Democracy (FMD) and Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) present survey and annual report 2015 on Bulgarian media.

Image 1 of 3
(from left) Nikoleta Daskalova, Media Analyst, FMD; Christian Spahr, Head of KAS Media Program South East Europe, Orlin Spassov, Head of Foundation Media Democracy (FMD) and Dobromir Zhivkov, Business Development Director of Market LINKS

(from left) Nikoleta Daskalova, FMD Media Analyst; Christian Spahr, Head of KAS Media Program South East Europe; Orlin Spassov, Head of Foundation Media Democracy (FMD) and Dobromir Zhivkov, Business Development Director of Market LINKS

Only 12 percent of Bulgarians believe in the independence of media. According to a representative survey commissioned by the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, trust in the media has further decreased. The public relations of politicians is negatively evaluated as well: 67 percent of the citizens feel insufficiently informed. Moreover, KAS and FMD presented their annual monitoring of political reporting. Prime Minister Boyko Borissov and President Rossen Plevneliev are perceived more positively than before.

The Bulgarian media sector still has a poor reputation. "Only every eighth Bulgarian believes in true freedom of media," explained Christian Spahr, Head of the Media Program South East Europe of Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung. According to the opinion poll, 65 percent of the citizens disagree that media are free. Many remain indecisive and only 12 percent explicitly believe in free media reporting. The institute "Market Links" interviewed 1,000 Bulgarians for the survey (December 2015).

"There is no systematic repression of critical journalists in Bulgaria. However, media freedom is restricted by scattered pressure from political actors, media owners and advertising customers, as well as by unstable employment conditions and self-censorship," Spahr adds. Reasons for the lack of independence are furthermore the trend towards monopolisation in the newspaper sector, inefficient legal regulation and weak self-regulation. In a worldwide context, Bulgaria’s press freedom is currently ranked 106th (Reporters Without Borders). KAS has already published several studies concerning the media crisis and pressure on journalists in Bulgaria.

Citizens think that they are insufficiently informed by politicians, too. Two thirds (67 percent) of Bulgarians evaluate the public relations of politicians as poor or very poor. The survey focused on the political class in general and did not distinguish between government authorities and political parties. "High-ranking politicians need to invest more in a modern and transparent information policy," concluded KAS expert Spahr. He added that the KAS Media Program South East Europe offers workshops for communication experts from the public sector and political parties, in order to give professional support to press officers.

According to an annual media monitoring of KAS and FMD, Prime Minister Boyko Borissov is still the most frequently mentioned personality in the political news. He extended his resonance and was mentioned in 23 percent of the analysed reports and news programmes (Basis: 2015; TV channels BNT, bTV, Nova TV; newspapers Trud, Telegraph). The second most frequently mentioned personality is President Rossen Plevneliev.

Borissov and Plevneliev were most positively described among all high-ranking politicians in media. According to FMD, the "media rating" of Borissov is 3.1. This means that the Prime Minister is mentioned three times more in positive context than in negative context. Plevneliev’s rating is 1.9 (analysed media: TV channels BNT, bTV, Nova TV; newspapers Trud, Telegraph, 24 hours; and news portals Blitz, Dnevnik, Offnews; April–December 2015). In 2014 the media image of Borissov and Plevneliev was rather critical. In 2015, the media reported negatively among others towards Volen Siderov (party Ataka, media-rating -8.6), Radan Kanev (-4.3), Lyutvi Mestan (-1.6) and Mihail Mikov (party leader BSP, -1.5).

"It is notable that political parties as such are less present in the media," says the Managing Director of FMD, Orlin Spassov. "In general, media are focusing on persons and not on parties. Individual politicians are often perceived more positively than their respective party." Currently the media response is especially negative for the Bulgarian Socialists (BSP). Moreover, the party of the ethnical Turks (Movement for Rights and Freedoms, DPS) is perceived critically, with the exception of the newspaper Telegraph. The centre-right alliance Reformist Bloc, which is part of the government coalition, is criticised by several media outlets as well, and by others described neutrally. The party of Prime Minister Borissov, GERB, is equally supported and criticised by mainstream media, according to Spassov.

The European refugee crisis is mainly neutrally described in the Bulgarian media, according to the analysis of the Foundation Media Democracy. President Rossen Plevneliev is portrayed with an especially positive position towards refugees. A very critical stance towards refugees is associated in the media with the Bulgarian-orthodox church, representatives of the police and the Ministry of Interior. Minister of Interior Rumyana Bachvarova herself was mainly quoted with neutral or positive contributions.

The research institute Market Links analysed more than 40,000 news items of three daily newspapers (Trud, Telegraph, 24 hours), three television channels (BNT, bTV, Nova TV) and three online media (Blitz, Dnevnik, Offnews).

After the presentation of the survey and the annual monitoring, Christian Spahr moderated the subsequent panel discussion. FMD expert Orlin Spassov as well as Vyara Ankova, General Director of the Bulgarian National Television (BNT), and Velislava Popova, Editor-in-Chief of the news portal Dnevnik, took part in the discussion. Ankova mentioned the results of the monitoring and stressed out that TV news reporters cannot seek a quantitative balance between parties and politicians in their reporting in general. She explained that news are composed according to the current political situation and government representatives speak normally more often due to their function than other politicians. Furthermore, Ankova emphasised the increasing importance of online media: "The borders between TV and online media are becoming blur." She explained that TV channels publish their reports also on their websites and produce special programmes only for online audience.

Dnevnik Editor-in-Chief Popova explained the specific situation of online media: "Due to low costs, it is easier for journalists to report online." She said that competition is high, but the overall quality of reports can still be improved. According to Velislava Popova, several online media do not comply with ethical standards and publish information without thorough fact checking. Moreover, the fast pace of online media can contribute to low quality standards.

Both Vyara Ankova and Orlin Spassov suggested adjustment of the legislative framework of media in Bulgaria, in order to have similar standards for all types of media.

The press conference and the panel discussion generated great media interest among Bulgarian journalists, media experts and citizens.

Bulgaren vertrauen den Medien nach wie vor wenig

Auch verfügbar in English

Stiftung Mediendemokratie und Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung stellen Meinungsumfrage und Jahresreport 2015 zu bulgarischen Medien vor.

Bild 1 von 3
(v.l.) Nikoleta Daskalova, Medien-Analystin bei der FMD; Christian Spahr, Leiter des KAS-Medienprogramms Südosteuropa; Orlin Spassov, FMD-Geschäftsführer und Dobromir Zhivkov, Leiter Geschäftsentwicklung Market LINKS

(v.l.) Nikoleta Daskalova, Medien-Analystin bei der FMD; Christian Spahr, Leiter des KAS-Medienprogramms Südosteuropa; Orlin Spassov, FMD-Geschäftsführer und Dobromir Zhivkov, Leiter Geschäftsentwicklung Market LINKS

Nur 12 Prozent der Bulgaren glauben an die Unabhängigkeit der Medien in ihrem Land. Das Vertrauen der Bürger ist weiter gesunken, ergab eine repräsentative Meinungsumfrage im Auftrag der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS). Auch die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit von Politikern schneidet schlecht ab: 67 Prozent der Bürger fühlen sich unzureichend informiert. Zudem haben die KAS und die Stiftung Mediendemokratie (FMD) ihr jährliches Monitoring der politischen Berichterstattung in Bulgarien vorgestellt. Premierminister Boyko Borissov und Präsident Plevneliev werden positiver wahrgenommen als früher.

Die bulgarische Medienbranche wird ihren schlechten Ruf nicht los. "Nur jeder achte Bulgare glaubt an reale Medienfreiheit", erläutert Christian Spahr, Leiter des KAS-Medienprogramms Südosteuropa, die neuen Ergebnisse. Demnach verneinen 65 Prozent der Bürger, dass die Medien unabhängig sind. Einige sind unentschieden, und nur 12 Prozent glauben ausdrücklich an freie Berichterstattung. "In Bulgarien gibt es keine systematische Unterdrückung kritischer Journalisten, aber unterschiedliche Arten der Einflussnahme von politischen Akteuren, Medieneigentümern und Werbekunden. Auch unsichere Arbeitsverhältnisse und Selbstzensur engen die Medienfreiheit ein", so Spahr. Gründe für fehlende Unabhängigkeit seien auch ein Trend zur Monopolisierung bei Printmedien, ineffiziente gesetzliche Regeln und eine schwache Selbstregulierung. Bulgarien liegt im internationalen Ranking der Pressefreiheit nur auf Platz 106 (Reporter ohne Grenzen). Die KAS hat mehrere Studien zur Medienkrise und zum Druck auf Journalisten in Bulgarien veröffentlicht.

Ungenügend informiert fühlen sich die Menschen auch von der Politik. Zwei Drittel der Bulgaren (67 Prozent) halten die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit der Politiker für schlecht oder sehr schlecht. Im Rahmen der Erhebung wurde nach den Politikern insgesamt gefragt, also nicht zwischen Regierung und politischen Parteien unterschieden. "Spitzenpolitiker sollten in eine moderne, offene Informationspolitik investieren", kommentierte KAS-Experte Christian Spahr. Die KAS biete Veranstaltungen für Kommunikationsexperten aus der Politik an, um die berufliche Rolle der Pressesprecher zu stärken. Für die Umfrage befragte das Institut Market Links 1.000 Bulgaren (Dezember 2015).

In der politischen Berichterstattung bleibt Premierminister Boyko Borissov der meistgenannte Politiker, ergab ein jährliches Medien-Monitoring von KAS und Stiftung Mediendemokratie. Er konnte seine Resonanz weiter ausbauen und wurde in 23 Prozent der analysierten Berichte und Nachrichtensendungen genannt (Basis: 2015; Fernsehsender BNT, bTV, Nova TV; Zeitungen Trud, Telegraf). Staatspräsident Rossen Plevneliev kommt an zweiter Stelle.

Borissov und Plevneliev wurden unter allen Top-Politikern in den Medien am positivsten gesehen. Das "Medien-Rating" von FMD für Borissov liegt bei 3,1. Dies bedeutet, dass der Premier dreimal häufiger positiv als negativ erwähnt wurde. Plevnelievs Rating liegt bei 1,9 (hierbei wurden untersucht: TV-Sender BNT, bTV, Nova TV; Zeitungen Trud, Telegraf, 24 Stunden; Online-Portale Blitz, Dnevnik, Offnews; April–Dezember 2015). Im Jahr 2014 war das mediale Bild von Borissov und Plevneliev noch überwiegend kritisch. Negativ berichteten die Medien 2015 unter anderem über Volen Siderov (Partei Ataka, Medien-Rating -8,6), Radan Kanev (-4,3), Lyutvi Mestan (-1,6) und Mihail Mikov (Parteichef BSP, -1,5).

"Auffällig ist, dass die politischen Parteien als solche weniger präsent in den Medien sind", so Studienleiter Orlin Spassov (FMD). "Die Medien konzentrieren sich in der Regel auf Personen, nicht auf Parteien. Einzelne Politiker werden oft positiver wahrgenommen als ihre jeweiligen Parteien". Negativ sei das Medienecho aktuell vor allem für die bulgarischen Sozialisten (BSP). Auch die Partei der ethnischen Türken (Bewegung für Rechte und Freiheiten, DPS) werde überwiegend kritisch wahrgenommen, mit Ausnahme der Zeitung Telegraf. Das an der Regierung beteiligte Mitte-Rechts-Bündnis Reformblock wird von mehreren Medien ebenfalls stark kritisiert, von anderen neutral geschildert. Die Partei von Premier Borissov, GERB, habe gleichermaßen prominente Unterstützer und Kritiker in den Medien, so Spassov.

Die europäische Flüchtlingskrise wird in den bulgarischen Medien überwiegend neutral dargestellt, so die Analyse der Stiftung Mediendemokratie. Präsident Rossen Plevneliev werde in den Medien mit einer besonders freundlichen Position gegenüber Flüchtlingen dargestellt. Eine sehr kritische Einstellung gegenüber Flüchtlingen schilderten die Medien bei der Bulgarisch-orthodoxen Kirche sowie bei Vertretern der Polizei und des Innenministeriums. Innenministerin Rumyana Bachvarova selbst werde zu dem Thema aber überwiegend mit neutralen und positiven Wortmeldungen zitiert.

Für das Medien-Monitoring der beiden Stiftungen analysierte das Meinungsforschungsinstitut Market Links von Januar bis Dezember 2015 mehr als 40.000 einzelne Nachrichten von drei Tageszeitungen (Trud, Telegraf, 24 Stunden), drei Fernsehsendern (BNT, bTV, Nova TV) und drei Online-Medien (Blitz, Dnevnik, Offnews).

Nach der Vorstellung der Meinungsumfrage und des Medienmonitorings folgte eine Podiumsdiskussion, moderiert von Christian Spahr. Es beteiligten sich neben Orlin Spassov auch Vyara Ankova, Intendantin des Bulgarischen Nationalfernsehens, und Velislava Popova, Chefredakteurin des Online-Portals Dnevnik. Ankova ging auf die Ergebnisse des Medienmonitorings ein und betonte, dass das Fernsehen kein quantitatives Gleichgewicht zwischen Parteien und Politikern anstreben kann, weil sich die Berichterstattung an die aktuelle politische Situation anpasse und Regierungsvertreter durch ihre Funktion öfter zu Wort kämen. Zudem betonte sie die steigende Bedeutung von Online-Medien. "Die Grenzen zwischen TV und Online verschwimmen", stellte Ankova fest. TV-Sender publizierten ihre Berichte auch auf ihren Web-Portalen und veröffentlichten mittlerweile auch spezielle Angebote nur für das Online-Publikum.

Dnevnik-Chefredakteurin Popova ging anschließend auf die Vielfalt der Online-Medien ein. Aufgrund geringerer Kosten sei es sehr einfach für Journalisten, online zu berichten. Der Wettbewerb sei hoch, aber die Qualität der Berichte insgesamt noch verbesserungswürdig. Etliche Online-Medien hielten sich nicht an ethische Standards oder veröffentlichten ungeprüfte Informationen. Auch die hohe Geschwindigkeit der Online-Berichterstattung trage dazu bei, dass die Standards nicht immer eingehalten werden.

Sowohl Vyara Ankova als auch Orlin Spassov regten an, den gesetzlichen Rahmen für die Medien in Bulgarien zu überprüfen, um gleiche Standards für alle Medienarten zu schaffen.

Die Pressekonferenz und die Podiumsdiskussion stießen mit rund 60 Besuchern auf hohes Interesse seitens bulgarischer Journalisten, Medienexperten und Bürger.

Autoren

Christian Spahr, Darija Fabijanić

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Bulgarien, 11. Februar 2016