New KAS book on journalism education

First cross-national survey among students in South East Europe

Also available in Deutsch

The "Task Force Journalism Education" of KAS Media Program South East Europe has published a new book based on a research among students about their motivation to study journalism. The survey was conducted from February to March 2015 in Albania, Bulgaria, Croatia, Romania and Serbia with 531 students from state and private universities. The outcomes and the book will be presented during the South East Europe Media Forum on 22nd November 2016 in Belgrade. It will serve as a basis for a public debate with politicians, media managers and other stakeholders on possible education reforms.

The book provides insights into the students’ perspective on journalism education at universities in South East Europe. The main objective of the survey was to analyse the attitudes of students on the system of journalism education and to give an answer to the following questions:

  • What motivates a student to pursue an education in journalism?
  • To what extent are students satisfied with the learning conditions?
  • What are their recommendations for study programme improvement?

Notable experts from universities and NGOs of the region, such as Viktorija Car from the University of Zagreb and Miroljub Radojković from the University of Belgrade, are authors of the book.

Initiated by KAS, the working group was founded in May 2013. It consists of university professors and other media experts from the region and Germany, who discuss the framework conditions and the future development of journalism education in their countries.

The book is the second project of the working group after a publication with country reports on the status quo of journalism education in Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Macedonia, Romania and Serbia.

The book is available online here .

Author

Manuela Zlateva

published

Bulgaria, November 18, 2016

Neues KAS-Buch zu Journalistenausbildung

Erste internationale Studie unter Studenten in Südosteuropa

Auch verfügbar in English

Die Arbeitsgruppe „Journalistenausbildung“ des KAS-Medienprogramms Südosteuropa hat ein neues Fachbuch veröffentlicht. Es basiert auf einer Umfrage unter Studenten zu deren Motivation, Journalismus zu studieren. Die Studie wurde von Februar bis März 2015 in Albanien, Bulgarien, Kroatien, Rumänien und Serbien mit 531 Studenten staatlicher und privater Universitäten durchgeführt. Die Ergebnisse und das Buch werden während des South East Europe Media Forum am 22. November 2016 in Belgrad vorgestellt.

Die Publikation dient als Basis für eine öffentliche Diskussion mit Politikern, Medienmanagern und anderen Entscheidern über Reformen in der Journalistenausbildung.

Die Studie hatte zum Ziel, die Einstellungen der Journalismus-Studenten zur Hochschulausbildung in Südosteuropa zu analysieren und Antworten auf folgende Fragen zu geben:

  • Was motiviert die Studenten, Journalismus zu studieren?
  • Wie zufrieden sind sie mit den Lernbedingungen an den Universitäten?
  • Welche Vorschläge und Empfehlungen zur Verbesserung der Studienprogramme haben die Studenten?

Autoren des Buches sind namhafte Experten von Universitäten und NGOs aus der Region, wie Viktorija Car von der Universität Zagreb und Miroljub Radojković von der Universität Belgrad.

Die Arbeitsgruppe wurde auf Initiative des KAS-Medienprogramms Südosteuropa im Mai 2013 gegründet. Sie besteht aus Universitätsprofessoren und weiteren Medienexperten aus der Region und Deutschland, die über die Rahmenbedingungen und zukünftige Entwicklungen der Journalistenausbildung in Südosteuropa diskutieren.

Das Buch ist das zweite Projekt der Arbeitsgruppe nach einer Publikation mit Länderberichten über den Status Quo der Journalistenausbildung in Albanien, Bosnien-Herzegowina, Bulgarien, Kroatien, Mazedonien, Rumänien und Serbien.

Das Buch ist hier online verfügbar.

Autor

Manuela Zlateva

erschienen

Bulgarien, 18. November 2016