Media in South East Europe: Reporting in times of crisis

Also available in Deutsch

The "South East Europe Media Forum" in Belgrade brought together 440 journalists, media experts and politicians from 20 countries.

Image 1 of 3
Presentation of the "CEI SEEMO Award for Outstanding Merits in Investigative Journalism"

Presentation of the "CEI SEEMO Award for Outstanding Merits in Investigative Journalism"

Media makers must professionally deal with crises – those in politics and those in their own industry. Quality journalism in times of crisis was the theme of the tenth "South East Europe Media Forum" (SEEMF) on the 21st and 22nd of November in Belgrade. At the largest media conference media in the region 350 specialists discussed, among other topics, the refugee crisis, war reporting and the training of young journalists in changing circumstances. Serbia’s Prime Minister Aleksandar Vučić spoke at the opening.

The event was opened by Christian Spahr, Director of the KAS Media Program South East Europe, and Oliver Vujović, Secretary General of the South East European Media Organisation (SEEMO). "This forum is a platform for exchange about what we can improve with common forces. Informing citizens in a better way and creating high professional standards – these are two main themes of this conference", Spahr said. An additional co-host was the Central European Initiative (CEI), based in Trieste.

The Swiss Ambassador to Serbia, Philippe Guex, also spoke during the official opening. "Journalists in South East Europe are working under difficult conditions", he said. The European Commission (EC) had drawn attention to the increasing restriction of media freedom in the region. Reports of the Commission made important recommendations, for example on avoiding political influence on the media and implementing media legislation. The Swiss Ambassador made clear that journalists themselves bear the responsibility for professional ethics. Informal networks like SEEMF were of particular importance in this respect, in reflecting on the problems of the industry.

Andrea Orizio, Head of the OSCE Mission in Serbia, said that first victim of every crisis was the truth. Journalists nowadays had little time to analyse the context and to present a broad view of events. CEI Secretary General Giovanni Caracciolo di Vietri emphasised the importance of investigative reporting for the further development of democracy in countries in transition.

The Head of the KAS Office for Serbia and Montenegro, Norbert Beckmann-Dierkes, underlined the role of the media for democracy and the significance of professional networks: "SEEMF is making an important contribution to professionalisation of the media in South East Europe." Radomir Ličina, SEEMO representative in Belgrade, commented that the conditions for independent journalism in South East Europe continue to deteriorate and the media in the region face difficult challenges.

Keynote by the Serbian Prime Minister Aleksandar Vučić on the opening day

Among other matters, the Serbian Prime Minister Aleksandar Vučić talked about the refugee crisis, one of the main themes of this year’s conference. Vučić noted that the number of refugees had reduced. There was a good cooperation with the Bulgarian and Turkish authorities in controlling the borders. The Prime Minister spoke in favour of stronger cooperation with neighbouring countries such as Albania. A further topic of his speech was the activities of the Serbian Government in the field of the media, including legislation for freedom of information and the privatisation of media. Vučić was emphatic that he and his Government were open to dialogue with the media makers. In response to questions, Vučić answered international correspondents on matters of domestic and foreign policy.

More in the event report.

Author

Manuela Zlateva

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Serbia, November 25, 2016

Medien in Südosteuropa: Berichterstattung in Krisenzeiten

Auch verfügbar in English

Das X. "South East Europe Media Forum" brachte in Belgrad Journalisten, Medienexperten und Politiker aus 20 Ländern zusammen.

Bild 1 von 3
Öffentliche Diskussion mit serbischen Premierminister Aleksandar Vucic

Öffentliche Diskussion mit dem serbischen Premierminister Aleksandar Vučić

Medienmacher müssen sich professionell mit Krisen auseinandersetzen – denen der Politik und denen ihrer eigenen Branche. Qualitätsjournalismus in Krisenzeiten war das Leitthema des zehnten "South East Europe Media Forum" (SEEMF) am 21. und 22. November in Belgrad. Bei der größten regionalen Medienkonferenz diskutierten 440 Experten unter anderem über die Flüchtlingskrise, Kriegsberichterstattung und die Ausbildung junger Journalisten unter veränderten Bedingungen. Zur Eröffnung sprach auch Serbiens Premierminister Aleksandar Vučić.

Die Veranstaltung wurde von Christian Spahr, Leiter des KAS-Medienprogramms Südosteuropa, und Oliver Vujović, SEEMO-Generalsekretär der Südosteuropäischen Medienorganisation (SEEMO) eröffnet. "SEEMF ist eine Plattform zum Austausch darüber, was wir gemeinsam verbessern können. Die Bürger besser informieren und hohe professionelle Standards schaffen – das sind die Hauptthemen dieser Konferenz", so Spahr. Weiterer Mitveranstalter war die Zentraleuropäische Initiative (CEI) mit Sitz in Triest.

Während der offiziellen Eröffnung sprach auch der Schweizer Botschafter in Serbien, Philippe Guex. "Die Journalisten in Südosteuropa arbeiten unter schwierigen Bedingungen", sagte er. Die Europäische Kommission (EK) habe auf die sinkende Medienfreiheit in der Region hingewiesen. Die Berichte der EK gäben wichtige Empfehlungen, etwa zur Vermeidung politischer Einflüsse auf die Medien und zur Umsetzung von Mediengesetzen. Der Botschafter machte deutlich, dass die Journalisten selbst auch Verantwortung für die berufliche Ethik tragen. Informelle Netzwerke wie SEEMF seien in dieser Hinsicht von besonderer Bedeutung, um die Probleme der Branche zu reflektieren.

Andrea Orizio, Leiter der OSZE-Mission in Serbien, sagte, dass das erste Opfer jeder Krise die Wahrheit sei. Heutzutage hätten Journalisten wenig Zeit, um den Kontext zu analysieren und das Gesamtbild der Ereignisse darzustellen. CEI-Generalsekretär Giovanni Caracciolo di Vietri betonte die Bedeutung investigativer Recherchen für die Weiterentwicklung der Demokratie in Transformationsländern.

Der Leiter der KAS-Büros Serbien und Montenegro, Norbert Beckmann-Dierkes, unterstrich die Rolle der Medien für die Demokratie und die Bedeutung beruflicher Netzwerke: "SEEMF leistet einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Professionalisierung der Medien in Südosteuropa." Radomir Ličina, SEEMO-Vertreter in Belgrad, kommentierte, dass sich die Bedingungen für unabhängigen Journalismus in Südosteuropa weiter verschlechtern und die Medien in der Region vor schwierigen Herausforderungen stehen.

Serbischer Premierminister Aleksandar Vučić hält Keynote am Eröffnungstag

Der serbische Premierminister Aleksandar Vučić sprach unter anderem über die Flüchtlingskrise, eines der Themen des diesjährigen SEEMF. Vučić verwies darauf, dass die Zahl der Flüchtlinge gesunken sei. Die Kooperation mit den bulgarischen und türkischen Behörden bei der Überwachung der Grenzen sei gut. Der Premier sprach sich für eine stärkere außenpolitische Zusammenarbeit Serbiens mit Nachbarländern wie Albanien aus. Ein weiteres Thema seiner Rede waren die Aktivitäten der serbischen Regierung im Medienbereich, unter anderem das Informationsfreiheitsgesetz und die Privatisierung von Medien. Vučić unterstrich, dass er und seine Regierung offen für den Dialog mit Medienschaffenden seien. In einer Fragerunde beantwortete Vučić Fragen internationaler Korrespondenten zu innen- und außenpolitischen Fragen.

Mehr im Veranstaltungsbericht.

Autor

Manuela Zlateva

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Serbien, 25. November 2016

Achtung
Aktivieren Sie bitte JavaScript in Ihren Browsereinstellungen.
Bitte laden Sie das Flash-Plugin hier, um den Inhalt zu sehen. ›

Statement von Ognian Zlatev, Leiter der Vertretung der EU-Kommission in Bulgarien und SEECOM-Vorsitzender

Achtung
Aktivieren Sie bitte JavaScript in Ihren Browsereinstellungen.
Bitte laden Sie das Flash-Plugin hier, um den Inhalt zu sehen. ›

SEEMF 2017