Young reporters develop ideas for start-ups

Also available in Deutsch

KAS Media Program South East Europe organises the seminar "Entrepreneurial Journalism" for the first time in Moldova.

Image 1 of 4
(from left) Web expert Veroljub Zmijanac, Christian Spahr, Head of KAS Media Program South East Europe, and Marko Nedeljković from Belgrade University

(from left) Web expert Veroljub Zmijanac, Christian Spahr, Head of KAS Media Program South East Europe, and Marko Nedeljković from Belgrade University

More and more young journalists in South East Europe want to work independently from big media outlets. The advantage of this option is that freelance media professionals can often report more critically. At the same time, journalistic web content attracts attention and can be profitable if reporters have a good business model. Young professionals often do not possess enough know-how to develop successfully their own online projects. For this reason, the KAS Media Program South East Europe offers seminars on entrepreneurial journalism.

The workshop took place from 20th to 23rd February 2017 in Chișinău, Moldova. Marko Nedeljković from Belgrade University, Miloš Petrović, owner of the online agency MWEB and the web expert Veroljub Zmijanac had organised the innovative training together with KAS Media Program South East Europe for the first time in 2013. A product of this collaboration is the manual "Entrepreneurial Journalism" in English and Serbian languages. This year the seminar took place outside Serbia for the first time. KAS welcomed 16 participants from Bulgaria, Moldova, Montenegro, Romania and Serbia.

At the beginning of the training Christian Spahr, Head of the KAS Media Program South East Europe, emphasised that the work of freelance journalists on the web can contribute to media diversity and thereby to democratic standards in South East Europe. He underlined that online projects can offer an attractive job perspective to young journalists. Especially in an environment where various media outlets are under political pressure, freelance journalism is an option gaining importance. This is one of the reasons for the KAS Media Program South East Europe to educate young people in online journalism.

"Think about a new project as your potential main job," said lead trainer Marko Nedeljković at the opening. He taught the participants how to prepare good web content. Nedeljković revealed the differences to print journalism with various practical examples. He explained what techniques are required in order to design multimedia content for the internet. A special attention was given to the usage of keywords and metadata, which are important factors for search engine rankings of online articles. For the workshop, the trainers have developed a website where participants could do interactive exercises. They analysed an online article in groups and later produced their own texts with multimedia elements.

More in the event report.

Author

Manuela Zlateva

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Chisinau, February 23, 2017

Junge Balkan-Journalisten entwickeln ihre Geschäftsideen

Das KAS-Medienprogramm Südosteuropa veranstaltet das Seminar "Entrepreneurial Journalism" zum ersten Mal in Moldau.

Bild 1 von 4
(v. l.) Web-Experte Veroljub Zmijanac, Christian Spahr, Leiter des KAS-Medienprogramms Südosteuropa und Marko Nedeljković von der Universität Belgrad

(v. l.) Web-Experte Veroljub Zmijanac, Christian Spahr, Leiter des KAS-Medienprogramms Südosteuropa, und Marko Nedeljković von der Universität Belgrad

Mehr und mehr junge Journalisten in Südosteuropa wollen unabhängig von großen Medienhäusern arbeiten. Ein Vorteil liegt darin, dass man als freier Medienschaffender kritischer berichten kann. Gleichzeitig ziehen neuartige Inhalte im Internet hohe Aufmerksamkeit auf sich und können auch wirtschaftlich erfolgreich sein, wenn Journalisten ein gutes Geschäftsmodell haben. Young Professionals haben jedoch oft wenig Know-how, wie man eigene Projekte im Internet erfolgreich entwickeln kann. Das Seminar "Entrepreneurial Journalism" des KAS-Medienprogramms Südosteuropa befähigt junge Journalisten.

Der Workshop fand am 21. und 22. Februar 2017 in Moldau statt. Marko Nedeljković von der Universität Belgrad, Miloš Petrović von der Online-Agentur MWEB und Web-Experte Veroljub Zmijanac hatten das innovative Training zusammen mit dem KAS-Medienprogramm Südosteuropa zum ersten Mal 2013 organisiert. Daraus entstand das Handbuch "Entrepreneurial Journalism" in englischer und serbischer Sprache. Dieses Jahr wurde das Seminar mit 16 Teilnehmern aus Bulgarien, Moldau, Montenegro, Rumänien und Serbien zum ersten Mal außerhalb Serbiens durchgeführt.

Zum Start des Trainings betonte Christian Spahr, Leiter des KAS-Medienprogramms, dass die Arbeit freier Journalisten im Internet einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Medienvielfalt und damit auch zur Demokratieförderung in Südosteuropa leisten könne. Er unterstrich, dass neue Online-Projekte jungen Journalisten attraktive Jobperspektiven geben können. Besonders in einer Umgebung, in der viele Medienunternehmen unter politischem Druck seitens der Politik stünden, sei die Selbstständigkeit zunehmend attraktiv. Auch aus diesem Grund engagiere sich das KAS-Medienprogramm Südosteuropa dafür, junge Menschen mit Besonderheiten des Online-Journalismus vertraut zu machen.

"Denken Sie daran, dass Ihre neuen Projekte Ihr Hauptjob werden können", sagte Seminarleiter Marko Nedeljković bei der Einführung. Er vermittelte, wie man gute Inhalte für das Web vorbereiten kann. Anhand vieler Praxisbeispiele zeigte er den Unterschied zum Print-Journalismus. Nedeljković erklärte, welche Techniken notwendig sind, um Inhalte für das Internet multimedial zu gestalten. Ein besonderes Augenmerk wurde auf die Nutzung von Schlüsselwörtern und Metadaten gelegt, die für die Sichtbarkeit der Online-Beiträge von Bedeutung sind. Für den Workshop haben die Trainer eine eigene Website entwickelt, auf der die Teilnehmer Übungen interaktiv durchführen konnten. Sie analysierten in Gruppen einen Online-Artikel und erstellten anschließend eigene Texte mit multimedialen Elementen.

Mehr im Veranstaltungsbericht.

Autor

Manuela Zlateva

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Chisinau, 23. Februar 2017

Achtung
Aktivieren Sie bitte JavaScript in Ihren Browsereinstellungen.
Bitte laden Sie das Flash-Plugin hier, um den Inhalt zu sehen. ›