Quality journalism in insecure times

KAS panel at IPI World Congress

Also available in Deutsch

A KAS panel discussion on quality journalism and alternative media concepts took place on 19 May 2017 during the IPI World Congress in Hamburg, organised by the International Press Institute (IPI).

(from left) Joan Chirwa, Editor-in-Chief and CEO of "The Mast" newspaper, Christian Spahr, Head of KAS Media Program South East Europe, Anna Babinets, editor at the Organised Crime and Corruption Reporting Project (OCCRP) and Florian Nehm, Head of Corporate Sustainability and EU Affairs at Axel Springer SE

(from left) Joan Chirwa, Editor-in-Chief and CEO of "The Mast" newspaper, Christian Spahr, Head of KAS Media Program South East Europe, Anna Babinets, editor at the Organised Crime and Corruption Reporting Project (OCCRP) and Florian Nehm, Head of Corporate Sustainability and EU Affairs at Axel Springer SE

Speakers were Anna Babinets, editor at the Organised Crime and Corruption Reporting Project (OCCRP), Joan Chirwa, Editor-in-Chief and CEO of the newly-established Zambian independent newspaper "The Mast" and Florian Nehm, Head of Corporate Sustainability and EU Affairs at Axel Springer SE, a leading European publishing house. The discussion was moderated by Christian Spahr, Head of the KAS Media Program South East Europe.

Main topic of the panel were the shrinking spaces for quality reporting as a challenge for the media in different regions of the world. All speakers agreed that the economic crisis and rapid digital change are putting pressure on traditional media. In addition, Christian Spahr put an emphasis on the political influence on media, which is restricting freedom of expression in more and more countries. Possible solutions for these issues, new business models and alternative media concepts were discussed.

Florian Nehm emphasised that "paid content" is an important strategic decision that media outlets should make. Anna Babinets explained the importance of international funding for independent media projects and presented a successful crowdfunding initiative in Ukraine. Joan Chirwa gave insights into the media situation in Zambia, speaking about political pressure on media in her country and how to start a printed newspaper from scratch.

The IPI World Congress gathers annually more than 300 media freedom advocates, senior media executives, editors and journalists from globally renowned media outlets. This year it took place from 18th to 20th May.

Author

Manuela Zlateva

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Hamburg, May 20, 2017

Qualitätsjournalismus in unsicheren Zeiten

KAS-Podiumsdiskussion beim IPI World Congress

Auch verfügbar in English

Ein KAS-Panel zum Thema Qualitätsjournalismus und alternativen Medienkonzepten fand am 19. Mai 2017 im Rahmen des IPI World Congress in Hamburg statt. Die Konferenz wurde vom Internationalen Presseinstitut (IPI) organisiert.

(von links) Joan Chirwa, Geschäftsführerin der Zeitung "The Mast", Christian Spahr, Leiter KAS-Medienprogramm Südosteuropa, Anna Babinets, Redakteurin "Organised Crime and Corruption Reporting Project" (OCCRP) und Florian Nehm, Leiter des Referats Nachhaltigkeit und EU-Angelegenheiten, Axel Springer SE.

(von links) Joan Chirwa, Geschäftsführerin der Zeitung "The Mast", Christian Spahr, Leiter KAS-Medienprogramm Südosteuropa, Anna Babinets, Redakteurin "Organised Crime and Corruption Reporting Project" (OCCRP) und Florian Nehm, Leiter des Referats Nachhaltigkeit und EU-Angelegenheiten, Axel Springer SE.

Referenten waren Anna Babinets, Redakteurin beim "Organised Crime and Corruption Reporting Project" (OCCRP), Joan Chirwa, Chefredakteurin und Geschäftsführerin der neu gegründeten sambischen Zeitung "The Mast" und Florian Nehm, Leiter des Referats Nachhaltigkeit und EU-Angelegenheiten bei der Axel Springer SE. Moderiert wurde die Diskussion von Christian Spahr, Leiter des KAS-Medienprogramms Südosteuropa.

Das Hauptthema der Podiumsdiskussion waren schwierige Rahmenbedingungen für Qualitätsberichterstattung in verschiedenen Regionen der Welt. Alle Teilnehmer waren sich einig, dass die Wirtschaftskrise und der digitale Wandel traditionelle Medien unter Druck setzten. Zudem stellte Christian Spahr den politischen Einfluss auf Medien heraus, der die freie Meinungsäußerung in immer mehr Ländern einschränkt. Mögliche Lösungen dafür sowie neue Geschäftsmodelle und alternative Medienkonzepte wurden diskutiert.

Florian Nehm betonte, dass "Paid Content", also die Bezahlpflicht für bestimmte Inhalte, eine wichtige strategische Entscheidung sei, die Medienhäuser treffen müssten. Anna Babinets erläuterte die Bedeutung internationaler Geldgeber für unabhängige Medienprojekte und stellte eine erfolgreiche Crowdfunding-Initiative aus der Ukraine vor. Joan Chirwa gab Einblicke in die Mediensituation in Sambia. Sie berichtete von politischem Druck auf die Medien in ihrem Heimatland und sprach darüber, wie man auch in Zeiten des Internets eine gedruckte Tageszeitung erfolgreich neu gründen kann.

Der IPI World Congress versammelt jährlich mehr als 300 Medienexperten, Führungskräfte, Redakteure und Journalisten weltweit renommierter Medienunternehmen. Dieses Jahr fand die Konferenz vom 18. bis 20. Mai statt.

Autor

Manuela Zlateva

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Hamburg, 20. Mai 2017