Antidotes against fake news: education and quality journalism

Also available in Deutsch

Experts from South East Europe, Germany, Russia and Ukraine discuss fake news, disinformation and security in Sofia

Image 1 of 3
Christian Spahr, Head of the KAS Media Program South East Europe, emphasised that fake news damage the trust of people in our political model and in democracy.

Christian Spahr, Head of the KAS Media Program South East Europe, emphasised that fake news damage the trust of people in our political model and in democracy.

Upon the invitation of the KAS Media Program South East Europe journalists, diplomats, political advisers, scientists and media experts gathered to discuss fake news in the media as well as security issues. The event took place on 27th June 2017 in Sofia and was organised in cooperation with Sofia Security Forum and Foundation Media Democracy (FMD).

The conference was opened by Christian Spahr, Head of the KAS Media Program South East Europe. In his speech he emphasised that fake news damage the trust of people in our political model and in democracy. "Fake news can be an integral part of a wider propaganda strategy, uniting narratives of political institutions, controlled mainstream media, civil society organisations, domestic and foreign audiences," commented Spahr. The President of the Sofia Security Forum, Yordan Bozhilov, asked for a broader public discussion about the risks of fake news towards national security. FMD Executive Director Orlin Spassov added that falsified news is an inherent part of the Bulgarian media landscape.

Fake news – a well-known phenomenon in Bulgaria

Boriana Dimitrova, Managing Partner of the Bulgarian research institute "Alpha Research", introduced the results of a representative survey on fake news and national security in Bulgaria. The opinion poll was commissioned by the Media Program South East Europe of Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS). Dimitrova noted that younger people and those with lower education are particularly vulnerable to fake news. All results are available on the homepage of the KAS Media Program South East Europe.

Fact-checking and self-regulation as measures against fake news

The survey was the starting point for the following public panel discussions. A first panel focused on the influence of fake news on the media landscape. The debate was led by Kristina Baxanova, news anchor at the Bulgarian TV channel bTV. Speakers were David Crawford, journalist at the German investigative newsroom Correctiv, Daniel Mossbrucker, expert from the NGO "Reporters without Borders", and Galyna Schimansky-Geier, editor at StopFake.org in Kiev. FMD Executive Director Orlin Spassov and Dimitar Vatsov, President of the Human and Social Studies Foundation (Sofia), were also part of the discussion. Mossbrucker commented that fake news is used for undermining trust in journalism. Subsequently Dimitar Vatsov quoted his own study on fake news in Bulgaria, and gave concrete examples of propaganda messages. Galyna Schimansky-Geier presented the activities of her organisation and explained how StopFake identify false facts.

More in the event report.

Author

Manuela Zlateva

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Bulgaria, June 27, 2017

Waffen gegen Fake News: Bildung und Qualitätsjournalismus

Auch verfügbar in English

Experten aus Südosteuropa, Deutschland, Russland und der Ukraine diskutieren in Sofia über Fake News und Sicherheitspolitik

Bild 1 von 3
Christian Spahr, Leiter des KAS-Medienprogramms Südosteuropa, betonte, dass Falschnachrichten das Vertrauen der Menschen in das politische Modell Europas und die Demokratie beschädigen.

Christian Spahr, Leiter des KAS-Medienprogramms Südosteuropa, betonte, dass Falschnachrichten das Vertrauen der Menschen in das politische Modell Europas und die Demokratie beschädigen.

Auf Einladung des KAS-Medienprogramms Südosteuropa kamen Journalisten, Diplomaten, Politikberater, Wissenschaftler und Medienexperten zusammen, um über Falschnachrichten in den Medien und sicherheitspolitische Fragen zu diskutieren. Die Veranstaltung fand am 27. Juni in Sofia statt und wurde in Kooperation mit dem Sofia Security Forum und der bulgarischen Stiftung Mediendemokratie (FMD) organisiert.

Die Konferenz wurde von Christian Spahr, Leiter des KAS-Medienprogramms Südosteuropa eröffnet. In seiner Rede betonte er, dass Falschnachrichten das Vertrauen der Menschen in das politische Modell Europas und die Demokratie beschädigen. "Fake News können integraler Bestandteil einer breitangelegten Propagandastrategie sein, die die Narrative von Regierungen, kontrollierten Mainstream-Medien und politischen Vorfeld-Organisationen vereint", kommentierte Spahr. Der Präsident des Sofia Security Forum, Yordan Bozhilov, forderte eine breitere öffentliche Diskussion über die Risiken von Falschnachrichten für die nationale Sicherheit. FMD-Geschäftsführer Orlin Spassov fügte hinzu, dass Falschnachrichten ein fester Bestandteil der bulgarischen Medienlandschaft seien.

Fake News – ein bekanntes Phänomen in Bulgarien

Die geschäftsführende Partnerin des bulgarischen Meinungsforschungsinstituts "Alpha Research", Boriana Dimitrova, stellte die Ergebnisse einer repräsentativen Umfrage zu Fake News und nationaler Sicherheit in Bulgarien vor. Die Studie wurde im Auftrag des Medienprogramms Südosteuropa durchgeführt. Dimitrova kommentierte, dass Jüngere und Menschen mit niedrigerer Bildung besonders anfällig für Falschinformationen seien. Alle Ergebnisse sind auf der Website des KAS-Medienprogramms Südosteuropa verfügbar.

Fact-Checking und Selbstregulierung als Maßnahmen gegen Fake News

Die Meinungsumfrage war Ausgangspunkt für die anschließenden öffentlichen Podiumsdiskussionen. Ein erstes Panel thematisierte den Einfluss von Fake News auf die Medienlandschaft. Das Gespräch wurde vom News-Anchor des bulgarischen TV-Senders bTV, Kristina Baxanova, moderiert. Referenten waren David Crawford, Journalist beim deutschen Recherche-Zentrum Correctiv, Daniel Moßbrucker, Experte der NGO "Reporter ohne Grenzen", und Galyna Schimansky-Geier, Redakteurin bei StopFake.org in Kiew. FMD-Geschäftsführer Orlin Spassov und Dimitar Vatsov, Präsident der bulgarischen Stiftung für humanitäre und soziale Forschung, nahmen auch an der Diskussion teil. Daniel Moßbrucker kommentierte, dass Falschnachrichten dazu genutzt werden, das Vertrauen in Journalismus zu untergraben. Anschließend zitierte Dimitar Vatsov eine eigene Studie über Fake News in Bulgarien, und darauf basierend gab er konkrete Beispiele für Propaganda-Botschaften.

Mehr im Veranstaltungsbericht.

Autor

Manuela Zlateva

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Bulgarien, 27. Juni 2017