Mechanisms of propaganda: from fake news to filter bubbles

Also available in Deutsch

During the media conference "Inside Our Blind Spots" in Kyiv, organised by the German NGO "Network for Reporting on Eastern Europe" (n-ost) and supported by KAS Ukraine, experts identified similarities and differences of propaganda in Ukraine, Georgia and Poland as well as best practices on how to oppose them.

A panel discussion on the 7th of October 2017, hosted by the KAS Media Program South East Europe, was held under the title "Clouded vision: A closer look at the mechanics of propaganda"

A panel discussion on the 7th of October 2017, hosted by the KAS Media Program South East Europe, was held under the title "Clouded vision: A closer look at the mechanics of propaganda"

A panel discussion on the 7th of October 2017, hosted by the KAS Media Program South East Europe, was held under the title "Clouded vision: A closer look at the mechanics of propaganda". Its aim was to discuss different types of propaganda and disinformation and the threat they present to young democracies and countries in transition. The discussion was moderated by Christian Spahr, Head of KAS Media Program South East Europe.

"Many Eastern European states have to make fundamental decision: whether they want more or less EU integration, whether they are pro-Western or pro-Kremlin", Christian Spahr opened the discussion. "Reliable media are vital for this kind of opinion- and decision-making."

During the panel Galyna Schimansky-Geier, Editor for the German section of "StopFake.org", described the power of fake news as one instrument of propaganda. According to her, the purpose of massive fake news is to weaken trust in democracy. The main danger of fake news is not that people actually believe in fake news, but that they lose trust in media in general: "Propagandists make people believe that all news is fake". She claimed that the best way to oppose this threat is increased dialogue with the citizens.

Another Ukrainian expert, Volodymyr Yermolenko, Director of Internews Ukraine, underlined that not all propaganda and disinformation is based on false facts. Sometimes there is a true or partially true core to their content which makes a real analysis of the discourse all the more important in order to respond accordingly and offer alternative perspectives.

Similar mechanisms of propaganda can be found in Georgia, said Nino Gogolashvili, a journalist from Tbilisi who works for the Caucasus Centre of Civil Hearings. According to her, Georgia, which has confirmed its pro-Western attitude more than once, is frequently under the attack of Russian propaganda and disinformation. As a result, the Georgian government restricted the broadcasting of Russian TV stations in 2008. However, Russian TV channels found ways to influence Georgia’s TV landscape, targeting especially elderly people and citizens with a Russian background.

The fourth panellist, Michał Kokot, Foreign Policy Editor for Gazeta Wyborcza in Poland, added another dimension of disinformation: the filter bubble. In his opinion, such a filter bubble has been created three years ago after the latest change of government. Kokot explained how a mixture of historical narratives, propaganda and other forms of influencing media created an information bubble largely controlled by the government.

The panel showed that there are similar challenges in the media sectors of Ukraine and other Eastern and Central European countries. The whole conference served as a platform to discuss further ways to oppose disinformation, share experiences and work out best practices.

Author: Kristin Puschmann, KAS Media Program South East Europe

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Ukraine, October 9, 2017

Mittel der Desinformation - von Fake News bis Filterblasen

Auch verfügbar in English

Im Rahmen der Medienkonferenz "Inside Our Blind Spots" in Kiew haben Experten in einer Diskussionsrunde Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede von Propaganda in der Ukraine, Georgien und Polen diskutiert und auf verschiedene Ansätze zu ihrer Abwehr hingewiesen. Die Konferenz wurde von der deutschen Medienorganisation n-ost veranstaltet und vom KAS-Büro Kiew unterstützt.

Das Panel am 7. Oktober 2017, das von Christian Spahr, Leiter des KAS-Medienprogramms Südosteuropa moderiert wurde, stand unter dem Titel "Clouded vision: A closer look at the mechanics of Propaganda"

Das Panel am 7. Oktober 2017, das von Christian Spahr, Leiter des KAS-Medienprogramms Südosteuropa moderiert wurde, stand unter dem Titel "Clouded vision: A closer look at the mechanics of Propaganda"

Das Panel am 7. Oktober 2017, das von Christian Spahr, Leiter des KAS-Medienprogramms Südosteuropa moderiert wurde, stand unter dem Titel "Clouded vision: A closer look at the mechanics of Propaganda". Ziel der Diskussion war es, verschiedene Erscheinungsformen von Desinformation zu identifizieren und einzuschätzen, welche Gefahr sie für junge Demokratien und Transformationsländer darstellen.

Galyna Schimansky-Geier, Redakteurin der deutschen Ausgabe von "StopFake.org" der Ukraine, beschrieb die Wirkung von Fake News als Mittel zur Beeinflussung der öffentlichen Diskussion in der Ukraine nach der Annexion der Krim und im Konflikt um die Ostukraine. Schimansky-Geier zufolge besteht die größte Gefahr von Fake News nicht darin, dass Menschen ihren Inhalten Glauben schenken, sondern dass durch sie das Vertrauen in Medien generell zerstört wird: "Propagandisten bringen Leute dazu, zu glauben, dass alle Nachrichten falsch sind". Der beste Weg, um dem entgegenzuwirken, sei es, den Dialog zwischen Politikern und Bürgern zu verbessern.

Ein anderer ukrainischer Experte, Volodymyr Yermolenko, Direktor von Internews Ukraine, gab zu bedenken, dass Propaganda nicht allein auf Falschinformationen beruht. "Oft versteckt sich hinter den Botschaften ein Funke Wahrheit, der ausgeschmückt wird", so Yermolenko. Dieser Umstand mache eine genaue Analyse der Inhalte umso wichtiger, um gezielt zu reagieren und alternative Standpunkte anzuführen.

Ähnliche Propaganda-Mittel lassen sich auch in Georgien finden, sagte Nino Gogolashvili, Journalistin des "Caucasus Centre of Civil Hearings" in Tiflis. Georgien befinde sich zwar aktuell nicht im Krieg mit Russland. Nachdem das Land sich in der Vergangenheit jedoch wiederholt zu seiner pro-westlichen Einstellung bekannt hatte, stand es immer wieder im Visier russischer Propaganda-Aktivitäten. Als Reaktion darauf hatte die georgische Regierung 2008 die Ausstrahlung russischsprachiger Fernsehsender beschränkt. Diese hätten jedoch neue Wege gefunden, die georgische Medienlandschaft zu beeinflussen, wobei sie sich besonders auf ältere und russischstämmige Bürger konzentrierten.

Der vierte Experte der Runde, Michał Kokot, außenpolitischer Redakteur der polnischen "Gazeta Wyborcza", machte auf Filterblasen als weitere Dimension von Desinformation aufmerksam. In Polen sei eine solche Blase vor drei Jahren nach dem jüngsten Regierungswechsel entstanden. Kokot beschrieb, wie durch eine Mischung aus historischen Narrativen, Propaganda und anderer Formen der Medienbeeinflussung eine Informationsblase entstanden sei, die stark von der Regierung kontrolliert werde.

Die Diskussionsrunde hat gezeigt, dass die Medien in der Ukraine und anderen ost- und mitteleuropäischen Ländern vor ähnlichen Herausforderungen stehen. Die n-ost-Konferenz bot eine gute Plattform, um in verschiedenen Diskussionsrunden und Workshops Erfahrungen auszutauschen, wie Propaganda und Fake News begegnet werden kann. Die Konferenz wurde vom KAS-Büro Kiew unterstützt und mitorganisiert.

Autorin: Kristin Puschmann, KAS-Medienprogramm Südosteuropa

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Ukraine, 9. Oktober 2017