Trust in Bulgarian media reaches all-time low

Also available in Deutsch

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) and "Alpha Research" present a survey on media freedom and political communication in Bulgaria.

Only every tenth Bulgarian (10 percent) believes in the independence of media in the country. The communication of politicians is also perceived in a negative way – only 11 percent feel well informed. These are the main results of a national representative survey (1.024 interviewees).

The media situation in Bulgaria is seen more and more critically – both by international organisations and its citizens. "Less and less Bulgarians believe in real media freedom," commented Christian Spahr, Head of the KAS Media Program South East Europe, the new survey results. 10 percent believe in the independence of media, 67 percent deny it, and 24 percent are not sure. "The crisis of confidence in media has grown," said Spahr. "The survey shows only minimal differences between different age groups, people from urban and rural areas or with different educational backgrounds," explains Boriana Dimitrova, Managing Partner at Alpha Research.

Bulgaria is currently listed on rank 109 out of 180 countries in the international ranking on press freedom by Reporters without Borders. "There is no systematic oppression of journalists in Bulgaria, but many factors are weakening the freedom of the media: monopolies of oligarchs, interdependency between media and politics, the dramatic economic crisis of media outlets as well as legal deficits and a weak self-regulation," says KAS expert Christian Spahr. In an earlier study of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung every third journalist said that they cannot report about certain persons, companies or topics.

People not only feel insufficiently informed by the media, but also by politicians. 64 percent believe that communication of politicians is either poor or very poor, only 11 percent are satisfied. Further 25 percent can’t give a definitive assessment. "In times of European crises and the need of substantial reforms, politicians should invest more than ever in professional communication," concludes Spahr. "Expert forums like the government communication association SEECOM and conferences of KAS support PR specialists on the way towards a more transparent citizen dialogue." The KAS Media Program South East Europe recently published an expert book on political communication which in particular describes the challenges for the new EU Member States and candidate countries.

The quality of debates in the media was also a topic of the survey: A majority of Bulgarians notices discrimination and defamation in the public discourse, which are reflected in the media coverage. For example, 67 percent of Bulgarian citizens notice discrimination and insults against politicians.

According to Alpha Research, the reason is not only to be found in the quality of reporting, but especially in the interaction of politicians amongst each other: "Because of insults, aggression and hate speech as well as a humiliating tone against political opponents in television appearances and media reporting of parliamentary debates, politicians become the authors and at the same time the victims of discrimination", explains Boriana Dimitrova.

54 percent of Bulgarians recognise discrimination and defamation against national and ethnic minorities in political debates covered by the media, 49 percent think that religious minorities are discriminated, and 44 percent see cases of discrimination against non-governmental organisations (NGOs).

The survey was presented at the South East Europe Media Forum (SEEMF) on 27th November 2017 in Sofia. Around 300 participants were present at the conference. SEEMF is the biggest media conference in South East Europe and takes place every year in a different country of the region. The conference is organised by the KAS Media Program South East Europe, the South East European Media Organisation (SEEMO) and the Central European Initiative (CEI).

Author

Manuela Zlateva

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Bulgaria, November 22, 2017

Warning
Please activate JavaScript in your browser settings
Please install the Flash plug-in to see this content. ›

Media and political communication in Bulgaria

Vertrauen in bulgarische Medien erreicht Tiefstwert

Auch verfügbar in English

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung und "Alpha Research" stellen Umfrage zu Medienfreiheit und politischer Kommunikation in Bulgarien vor.

Nur jeder zehnte Bulgare (10 Prozent) glaubt an die Unabhängigkeit der Medien im eigenen Land. Der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit der Politiker stellen die Bürger ein ähnlich schlechtes Zeugnis aus – nur 11 Prozent fühlen sich gut informiert. Dies sind die Hauptergebnisse einer landesweiten repräsentativen Erhebung (1.024 Befragte).

Die Medienlage in Bulgarien wird immer kritischer bewertet – sowohl von internationalen Organisationen als auch den Bürgern des Landes. "Immer weniger Bulgaren glauben an eine wirkliche Freiheit der Medien", kommentiert Christian Spahr, Leiter des KAS-Medienprogramms Südosteuropa, die neuen Umfrage-Ergebnisse. Demnach bestreiten 67 Prozent der Bürger, dass die Medien unabhängig sind. Nur 10 Prozent glauben ausdrücklich an unabhängige Berichterstattung, weitere 24 Prozent der Bürger sind sich nicht sicher. "Die Vertrauenskrise hat einen Tiefpunkt erreicht", so Spahr. "Die Ergebnisse zeigen kaum Unterscheide zwischen verschiedenen Altersgruppen, Menschen aus Großstädten und kleineren Orten oder nach dem Bildungsstand", erklärt die geschäftsführende Gesellschafterin des Meinungsforschungsinstituts "Alpha Research", Boriana Dimitrova.

Bulgarien liegt im internationalen Ranking der Pressefreiheit aktuell nur auf Platz 109 von 180 Ländern (Reporter ohne Grenzen). "In Bulgarien gibt es keine systematische Unterdrückung von Journalisten, aber eine Schwächung der Medienfreiheit durch viele Faktoren: Monopole von Oligarchen, eine gegenseitige Abhängigkeit von Medien und Politik, die dramatische wirtschaftliche Krise der Medien sowie rechtliche Defizite und schwache Selbstregulierung", so Spahr. In einer früheren Untersuchung hatte die KAS festgestellt, dass sich jeder dritte Journalist scheut, über bestimmte Personen, Firmen oder Themen zu berichten.

Unzureichend informiert fühlen sich die Menschen nicht nur von den Medien, sondern auch von der Politik. 64 Prozent halten die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit der Politiker für schlecht oder sehr schlecht, nur 11 Prozent sind damit zufrieden. Weitere 25 Prozent haben dazu kein klares Urteil. "In einer Zeit paralleler europäischer Krisen und großen Reformbedarfs müssen Politiker stärker als sonst in professionelle Kommunikation investieren", schlussfolgert Spahr. "Expertenforen wie der Regierungssprecher-Verband SEECOM und Konferenzen des KAS-Medienprogramms Südosteuropa unterstützen den Weg zu einem transparenten Bürgerdialog." Kürzlich erschien ein neues KAS-Fachbuch für politische Kommunikation, das insbesondere die Herausforderungen für neue EU-Mitglieder und Kandidatenländer beschreibt.

Auch die Qualität der Debatten in den Medien war ein Thema der Umfrage: Eine Mehrheit der Bulgaren nimmt Diskriminierungen und Diffamierungen im öffentlichen Diskurs wahr, die sich in der Medienberichterstattung spiegeln.

Politiker stehen dabei im Fokus. 67 Prozent der Bürger nehmen in den Medien Diskriminierungen oder Beleidigungen von Politikern wahr. Dies liegt nach Ansicht der Meinungsforscher von Alpha Research nicht nur an der Qualität der Berichterstattung, sondern maßgeblich auch am Umgang der Politiker untereinander: "Beleidigungen, Aggression und Hassrede sowie ein demütigender Ton gegenüber dem politischen Gegner in Fernsehauftritten und parlamentarischen Debatten führen dazu, dass Politiker gleichzeitig Urheber und Opfer von Diskriminierung sind", erläutert Studienleiterin Boriana Dimitrova.

54 Prozent der Bulgaren erkennen Diskriminierungen und Diffamierungen nationaler und ethnischer Minderheiten in Medienberichten über das politische Geschehen. 49 Prozent sehen Fälle von Diskriminierung religiöser Minderheiten und 44 Prozent sehen Nichtregierungsorganisationen (NGOs) als Ziel von Diskriminierung.

Die Umfrage wurde auf dem South East Europe Media Forum (SEEMF) am 27. November 2017 in Sofia den rund 300 Konferenzbesuchern vorgestellt. SEEMF ist die größte Medienkonferenz in Südosteuropa und findet jedes Jahr in einem anderen Land der Region statt. Veranstalter sind das KAS-Medienprogramm Südosteuropa, die Südosteuropäische Medienorganisation (SEEMO) und die Zentraleuropäische Initiative (CEI).

Autor

Manuela Zlateva

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Bulgarien, 22. November 2017

Achtung
Aktivieren Sie bitte JavaScript in Ihren Browsereinstellungen.
Bitte laden Sie das Flash-Plugin hier, um den Inhalt zu sehen. ›

Medien und politische Kommunikation in Bulgarien