World press freedom index: Most Balkan countries improve only numerically

Media transparency and independence are still problem areas

Also available in Deutsch

Media freedom has improved numerically in seven states in South East Europe. Three countries have been deteriorating. These are the results of the new world press freedom index of the non-governmental organisation "Reporters Without Borders" (RWB). Romania, Bosnia-Herzegovina and Croatia achieved the best scores according to RWB (ranks 44, 62 and 69 out of 180 countries worldwide). Macedonia and Bulgaria swap places (rank 109 and 111) and have once again received the worst scores in the region.

Seven countries have achieved a better placement compared to the previous year. The exact ranking of the countries depends on numerous factors. Amongst them are the media pluralism and independence, the media environment and self-censorship as well as the legislative framework, which RWB takes into account. Countries can also receive a new rank due to advancement or setback of other countries in comparison. For example, Albania and Bosnia-Herzegovina have improved by a few places, although little progress has been estimated in these countries. The Balkan states are still situated in the middle range of the index compared to all countries worldwide.

Within the EU Bulgaria is scoring the worst. The country’s rank declined from 109 to 111, becoming the last in the region. Reasons for this position are the poor work environment and the insufficient media transparency. As a consequence the trust in media decreases. A survey of the KAS Media Program South East Europe, which was published in November 2017, shows that only 10 percent of the Bulgarians think that the media are independent. 67 percent find them more or less dependent and 24 percent of the respondents were not sure whether the media are independent or not.

In the regional comparison of the media situation Romania achieved the best score in the press freedom index. From some experts’ point of view, the massive civil protests against corruption in the last months could make a contribution to better media conditions.

Serbia is considered as one of the countries – not only in the region but also worldwide – where press freedom deteriorated the most. Within Europe only Malta and the Czech Republic have dropped more ranks. This negative development in Serbia is related to the lack of media independence and transparency.

According to RWB, Croatia and Kosovo have improved the most. Kosovo for example moved four places up and receives its best score since 2010. A positive evaluation in regards to media pluralism contributed to this development.

Acts of violence against journalists were also considered in the press freedom index. In South East Europe RWB registered such kind of abuses in Albania, Kosovo, Moldova and Macedonia.

Rankings of Reporters Without Borders and other organisations such as Freedom House and IREX can be useful indicators for the media freedom in general. They are especially suitable to describe long-term trends in the media situation of individual countries and regions.

Germany is rated on rank 15, Austria on rank 11 and Switzerland on rank 5 on the list of RWB.

Authors

Manuela Zlateva, Darija Fabijanić

published

Bulgaria, April 25, 2018

Rangliste der Pressefreiheit: Die meisten Balkanländer verbessern sich nur nominell

Problembereiche bleiben Medientransparenz und Unabhängigkeit

Auch verfügbar in English

Die Medienfreiheit hat sich nominell in sieben Staaten Südosteuropas verbessert, in dreien sind Rückschritte festzustellen: Das ist das Ergebnis der neuen Rangliste der Pressefreiheit der Nichtregierungsorganisation "Reporter ohne Grenzen" (ROG). Rumänien, Bosnien und Herzegowina und Kroatien werden von ROG aktuell am besten bewertet (Plätze 44, 62 und 69 von 180 Ländern weltweit). Mazedonien und Bulgarien tauschen ihre Platzierung (Rang 109 und 111) und sind erneut die Schlusslichter in der Region.

Sieben Länder haben eine bessere Platzierung als im Vorjahr. Die genaue Einordnung hängt von zahlreichen Faktoren ab. ROG berücksichtigt unter anderem die Medienvielfalt und Unabhängigkeit der Medien, das journalistische Arbeitsumfeld und Selbstzensur sowie die rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen. Länder können auch dadurch eine neue Platzierung erhalten, indem sich andere Staaten im Vergleich verbessern oder verschlechtern. So erzielten Albanien und Bosnien und Herzegowina eine minimale Verbesserung innerhalb der Rangliste, obwohl kaum Fortschritte in diesen Ländern zu beobachten sind. Die Länder der Balkanregion bewegen sich weiterhin nur im globalen Mittelfeld.

Innerhalb der EU nimmt Bulgarien den schlechtesten Platz ein. Das Land rutschte von Rang 109 auf 111 ab und ist nun das Schlusslicht der Region. Gründe für die negative Platzierung Bulgariens liegen im schlechten Arbeitsumfeld und in der mangelnden Medientransparenz. Dies hat zur Folge, dass das Vertrauen in die Medien sinkt. In einer im November 2017 vorgestellten Studie des KAS-Medienprogramms Südosteuropa halten nur zehn Prozent der Bulgaren die Medien für unabhängig. 67 Prozent halten sie für mehr oder weniger abhängig und 24 Prozent der Befragten waren unschlüssig, ob die Medien abhängig oder unabhängig sind.

Demgegenüber wird die Pressefreiheit in einem anderen EU-Staat Rumänien von ROG derzeit als die beste in Südosteuropa bewertet. Die massiven zivilgesellschaftlichen Proteste gegen Korruption haben nach Ansicht von Experten zu einem positiven Umfeld für die Medien beigetragen.

Serbien gilt als eines der größten Absteiger nicht nur in der Region sondern weltweit. Innerhalb Europas verschlechtern sich Malta und Tschechien nur um mehr Plätze. Diese negative Entwicklung hängt mit der mangelnden Medienunabhängigkeit und -transparenz in Serbien zusammen.

Laut ROG-Rangliste machen Kroatien und Kosovo die besten Fortschritte. Kosovo beispielsweise hat sich um vier Plätze verbessert und erzielt sein bestes Ergebnis seit 2010. Zu dieser Entwicklung trug eine positive Bewertung in puncto Medienvielfalt bei.

In der ROG-Rangliste fließen auch Übergriffe auf Journalisten ein. In der Region verzeichnet ROG solche Gewalttaten in Albanien, Kosovo, Moldau und Mazedonien.

Die Rangliste von Reporter ohne Grenzen und weiteren Organisationen wie Freedom House und IREX sind in der Gesamtschau wichtige Gradmesser für Medienfreiheit. Über die Jahre hinweg könnten sie die langfristige Entwicklung der Mediensituation in einzelnen Ländern und Regionen beschreiben.

Deutschland befindet sich in dem weltweiten Ranking auf Platz 15, Österreich auf Platz 11 und die Schweiz auf Platz 5.

Autoren

Manuela Zlateva, Darija Fabijanić

erschienen

Bulgarien, 25. April 2018