Solutions to overcome the vulnerability of disinformation

Also available in Deutsch

Experts from Bulgaria, Germany, Great Britain and Ukraine discuss propaganda and hybrid warfare

Image 1 of 3
The conference was opened by Yordan Bozhilov, President of the Sofia Security Forum.

The conference was opened by Yordan Bozhilov, President of the Sofia Security Forum.

Many European countries experience the negative impact of disinformation campaigns and hybrid warfare on their societies and governments. Security experts, journalists, diplomats, political advisers and scientists gathered together to analyse the nature of new hybrid wars and disinformation and to discuss different countermeasures. The event was organised by the KAS Media Program South East Europe and Sofia Security Forum together with the British Embassy in Sofia and the Center for National Security and Defence Research. It took place on 22nd May 2018 in Sofia.

The conference with the title "Hybrid warfare and disinformation – the new (old) threats to Europe" was opened by Yordan Bozhilov, President of the Sofia Security Forum. "The internet made our lives easier, but we became also more vulnerable to disinformation and cyberattacks," said Mila Serafimova, also co-host of the event from the Sofia Security Forum and moderator of the discussion.

During her presentation Irina Nedeva, Chairperson of the Association of the European Journalists in Bulgaria, noted that the Fake News phenomenon became bigger than cyberwarfare. Fake news was affecting political decisions. We have seen that elections have been influenced by social media. "Counter-propaganda is not the solution. It would create another cold war," said Nedeva.

Not enough investments in cybersecurity

Hans-Wilhelm Dünn, President of the German Cybersecurity Council, told the audience that only 10 percent of companies invest in cybersecurity, lacking budget, staff and education in this field. Furthermore, he said that international cooperation and regulation were necessary. "Heads of governments need to talk to each other and need a common approach," added Dünn.

"The new dimension about the threats of hybrid warfare and disinformation is the speed. We need to build resilience against disinformation," said Henry Collis, Deputy Director for Security and Defence Projects in the British Prime Minister's Office and Cabinet Office Communications Team. He pointed out that it is not effective to rebut every single case of false information. The effects of disinformation should be addressed by communicating a counter brand. According to Collis to overcome the vulnerability, governments need to reframe the debate by appointing the tactics and to equip people by improving the media environment and working together with social media companies.

Hybrid warfare is an effective and dangerous tool

Mykola Bielieskov, Deputy Director of the Institute of World Policy, gave examples on how the hybrid war is affecting Ukraine. "Hybrid warfare is a tool that is more effective than open combat," explained Bielieskov. Moreover, he warned that the EU and NATO are not the second front and danger of hybrid warfare is imminent. Governments can not only be reactive, they need to build resilience.

Martin Sokolov, Researcher at Center for National Security and Defence Research of the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, explained that hybrid warfare is nothing new and outlined the developments of this phenomenon. Sokolov pointed out: "In order to become more resilient and to become less vulnerable against these threats, our societies need to become more democratic."

All speakers showed different perspectives to the topic, but concluded that countries need to invest more in education of people and work better together, in order to stand against disinformation and hybrid attacks.

Author

Darija Fabijanić

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Bulgaria, May 22, 2018

Lösungen zur Überwindung der Anfälligkeit für Desinformation

Auch verfügbar in English

Experten aus Bulgarien, Deutschland, Großbritannien und der Ukraine diskutieren zum Thema Propaganda und hybride Kriege

Bild 1 von 3
Die Konferenz wurde von Yordan Bozhilov, Präsident des Sofia Security Forums, eröffnet.

Die Konferenz wurde von Yordan Bozhilov, Präsident des Sofia Security Forums, eröffnet.

Eine negative Einflussnahme auf Politik und Gesellschaft findet derzeit in vielen europäischen Staaten aufgrund von Desinformationskampagnen und hybrider Kriegsführung statt. Sicherheitsexperten, Journalisten, Diplomaten, Politikberater und Wissenschaftler kamen zusammen, um die Auswirkungen dieser neuen hybriden Kriege und Propaganda zu analysieren und mögliche Gegenmaßnahmen zu diskutieren. Die Veranstaltung wurde vom KAS-Medienprogramm Südosteuropa und dem Sofia Security Forum mit der Unterstützung der britischen Botschaft und dem Zentrum für nationale Sicherheit und Verteidigungsforschung organisiert. Das Event fand am 22. Mai 2018 in Sofia statt.

Die Konferenz mit dem Titel "Hybride Kriegsführung und Desinformation – die neue (alte) Bedrohung für Europa" wurde von Yordan Bozhilov, Präsident des Sofia Security Forums, eröffnet. "Das Internet hat unser Leben vereinfacht, aber wir sind gleichzeitig auch anfälliger für Desinformation und Cyberattacken geworden", sagte Mila Serafimova, Mitveranstalterin vom Sofia Security Forum und Moderatorin der Diskussion.

Während ihrer eigenen Präsentation betonte Irina Nedeva, Vorsitzende des Verbandes der Europäischen Journalisten in Bulgarien, dass das Phänomen Fake News größer geworden sei als die Cyber-Kriegsführung, da Fake News die politische Entscheidung der Bürger beeinflusst habe. Man habe sehen können wie Wahlen durch Soziale Medien gelenkt wurden. Allerdings sagte sie: "Gegenpropaganda ist keine Lösung. Es würde nur zu einem weiteren Kalten Krieg führen."

Es wird nicht genug in Cyber-Sicherheit investiert

Hans-Wilhelm Dünn, Präsident des deutschen Cyber-Sicherheitsrates, erklärte, dass nur 10 Prozent der Firmen in Cyber-Sicherheit investieren. Es bestehe generell ein Mangel an Geldern, Personal und Bildung. Außerdem bedürfe es internationaler Kooperation und Regulierung. "Regierungsvertreter müssen miteinander reden und einen gemeinsamen Ansatz finden", so Dünn.

"Das Neue an den Gefahren von hybriden Kriegen und Desinformation ist die Geschwindigkeit. Wir müssen Widerstandsfähigkeit dagegen aufbauen", sagte Henry Collis, Stellvertretender Direktor für Sicherheits- und Verteidigungsprojekte im Büro der britischen Premierministerin und im Kommunikationsteam des Kabinetts. Er betonte, dass jede einzelne Falschinformation zu widerlegen nicht effektiv sei. Es müssen die Effekte von Desinformation angegangen werden, in dem ein Kernnarrative kommuniziert wird – ein sog. "counter-brand" (Konter-Marke). Um die Anfälligkeit für Propaganda zu überwinden, müssen die Regierungen die Debatte neu gestalten, indem sie die Taktiken aufdecken, die Menschen entsprechend ausstatten, die Medienumwelt verbessern und mit Social-Media-Unternehmen zusammenarbeiten.

Hybride Kriegsführung ist ein effektives und gefährliches Werkzeug

Mykola Bielieskov, Stellvertretender Direktor des Insituts für Weltpolitik, erklärte am Beispiel der Ukraine welche Effekte hybride Kriege haben. "Hybride Kriegsführung ist ein Werkzeug, welches effektiver ist als ein offenes Gefecht." Außerdem warnte Bielieskov davor, dass die EU und NATO keine zweite Front seien, sondern in imminenter Gefahr sind. Regierungen können nicht reagieren, sondern müssen Widerstandsfähigkeit aufbauen.

Martin Sokolov, Forscher am Zentrum für nationale Sicherheit und Verteidigungsforschung der Bulgarischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, erklärte das hybride Kriegsführung nichts Neues sei und stellte die Entwicklung des Phänomens dar. Er betonte: "Damit unsere Gesellschaften widerstandsfähig gegen diese Bedrohungen werden, müssen sie demokratischer werden."

Alle Redner stellten die Perspektive aus verschiedenen Disziplinen auf dieses Thema dar, aber schlussfolgerten gemeinsam, dass Staaten mehr in die Bildung der Bürger investieren und enger zusammenarbeiten müssen, um besser gegen Desinformation und hybride Angriffe gewappnet zu sein.

Autor

Darija Fabijanić

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Bulgarien, 23. Mai 2018