Facts and figures against disinformation campaigns

Also available in Deutsch

Experts from South East and Western Europe discussed the path of the Western Balkans to EU and NATO accession and the role of media during the process

Image 1 of 4
Experts from Albania, Bulgaria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Germany, Kosovo, Montenegro, Macedonia and Serbia came to Sofia upon the invitation of the KAS Media Program South East Europe and the Sofia Security Forum to discuss the media and information environment of the Western Balkan countries, to analyse its impact on the NATO and EU accession priorities and to formulate recommendations

Experts from Albania, Bulgaria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Germany, Kosovo, Montenegro, Macedonia and Serbia came to Sofia upon the invitation of the KAS Media Program South East Europe and the Sofia Security Forum to discuss the media and information environment of the Western Balkan countries, to analyse its impact on the NATO and EU accession priorities and to formulate recommendations

Many Western Balkan countries are striving for EU and NATO accession. This requires not only reforms, but also widespread public support. In South East Europe, there are various internal and external factors that create an information environment against EU and NATO accession which is negatively impacting public opinion. This happens through fake news, disinformation campaigns as well as political parties and non-governmental organisations that intensify these negative tendencies.

On 4 July 2018, experts from Albania, Bulgaria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Germany, Kosovo, Montenegro, Macedonia and Serbia came to Sofia upon the invitation of the KAS Media Program South East Europe and the Sofia Security Forum to discuss the media and information environment of the Western Balkan countries, to analyse its impact on the NATO and EU accession priorities and to formulate recommendations. The public rhetoric for and against the European and transatlantic structures was also debated. The contributions of the lecturers will be summarised in individual country reports in the upcoming months and published as a book.

Bulgaria as partner of the Western Balkans on their way to the EU

After the expert meeting, an international conference followed. Security experts, journalists, ambassadors, policy advisers and representatives of academia were invited to discuss the effects of propaganda and disinformation and the necessary countermeasures.

The conference was opened by Thorsten Geissler, Head of the KAS Media Program South East Europe, and Yordan Bozhilov, President of the Sofia Security Forum. Geissler commented on Bulgaria’s role as a political decision-maker during the EU presidency and as a partner of the Western Balkans on their way to the EU. Bozhilov presented the results of the expert meeting and explained the objectives of the initiative as well as the intended publication.

Presentation of the results of the Bulgarian EU presidency

Monika Panayotova, Deputy Minister for the Bulgarian EU presidency, reported on the key priorities of the country during the mandate and the results which have been achieved. She put a special focus on the connectivity with the Western Balkans in terms of infrastructure, communication, education and the European future of the region. Panayotova gave as good examples the signing of a cooperation treaty between Sofia and Skopje and the Western Balkans Summit in May 2018.

During her own presentation, Sophie Eisentraut, political adviser to the Munich Security Conference, emphasised that it was important to take action against the Russian propaganda. One possibility was to increase media literacy. Eisentraut added: "We must support media freedom to neutralise propaganda and disinformation." In her opinion the EU should better communicate its values and goals and promote itself.

Sanda Svetoka from the NATO Stratcom CoE presented Russian disinformation activities in the Baltic States and Poland, as well as a new study comparing anti-NATO propaganda in the Balkans and the Baltics.

Jesús M. Pérez Triana, security expert from Spain, explained the linguistic difficulty for propaganda in his country due to the global spread of the Spanish language. In his view in countries with local languages disinformation campaigns are easier to spread.

The President of the Bulgarian Foundation for Humanitarian and Social Research (HSSF) Dimitar Vatsov presented the situation in Bulgaria. He said that outside-directed disinformation activities could be used by political parties and groups in order to assert their own interests.

The discussion was moderated by Mila Serafimova from the Sofia Security Forum.

The NATO spokeswoman Irina Novakova took part in the following discussion with the audience. She commented that counter-propaganda was not an effective measure against disinformation. It would be much more effective to tackle propaganda with facts and figures.

Author

Manuela Zlateva

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Bulgaria, July 5, 2018

Fakten und Zahlen gegen Desinformationskampagnen

Auch verfügbar in English

Experten aus Südost- und Westeuropa diskutieren den Weg der Westbalkan-Länder zum EU / NATO-Beitritt und die Rolle der Medien dabei

Bild 1 von 4
Experten aus Albanien, Bulgarien, Bosnien und Herzegowina, Deutschland, Kosovo, Montenegro, Mazedonien und Serbien kamen nach Sofia, um das Medien- und Informationsumfeld der Westbalkan-Länder und seine Auswirkungen auf die NATO- und die EU-Beitrittsprioritäten zu analysieren und Empfehlungen zu formulieren

Experten aus Albanien, Bulgarien, Bosnien und Herzegowina, Deutschland, Kosovo, Montenegro, Mazedonien und Serbien kamen nach Sofia, um das Medien- und Informationsumfeld der Westbalkan-Länder und seine Auswirkungen auf die NATO- und die EU-Beitrittsprioritäten zu analysieren und Empfehlungen zu formulieren

Viele Westbalkan-Länder streben nach einem EU- und NATO-Beitritt. Dafür sind nicht nur Reformen notwendig, sondern auch eine breite Zustimmung in der Öffentlichkeit. In Südosteuropa gibt es eine Reihe von innen- und außenpolitischen Faktoren, die eine Informationsumgebung gegen den EU- und NATO-Beitritt schaffen, und somit die öffentliche Meinung negativ beeinflussen. Dies geschieht durch Falschnachrichten, Desinformationskampagnen sowie durch politische Parteien und Nichtregierungsorganisationen, die diese Negativtendenzen verschärfen.

Auf Einladung des KAS-Medienprogramms Südosteuropa und des Sofia Sicherheitsforums kamen am 4. Juli 2018 Experten aus Albanien, Bulgarien, Bosnien und Herzegowina, Deutschland, Kosovo, Montenegro, Mazedonien und Serbien nach Sofia, um das Medien- und Informationsumfeld der Westbalkan-Länder und seine Auswirkungen auf die NATO- und die EU-Beitrittsprioritäten zu analysieren und Empfehlungen zu formulieren. Debattiert wurde ebenfalls die öffentliche Rhetorik für und gegen die europäischen und transatlantischen Strukturen. Die Vorträge werden in den nächsten Monaten in einzelnen Länderbeiträgen zusammengefasst und als Publikation veröffentlicht.

Bulgarien als Partner des Westbalkans auf dem Weg zu EU

Im Anschluss an das Expertentreffen fand eine internationale Fachkonferenz statt. Sicherheitsexperten, Journalisten, Botschafter, Politikberater und Wissenschaftler wurden eingeladen, um die Auswirkungen von Propaganda und Desinformation sowie die notwendigen Gegenmaßnahmen zu diskutieren.

Die Konferenz wurde von Thorsten Geißler, Leiter des KAS-Medienprogramms Südosteuropa und Yordan Bozhilov, Präsident des Sofia Sicherheitsforums, eröffnet. Geißler kommentierte die Rolle Bulgariens als politischen Entscheidungs-träger während der EU-Ratspräsidentschaft und als Partner des Westbalkans auf dem Weg zur EU. Bozhilov stellte die Ergebnisse des Expertentreffens vor und erklärte die Ziele der Initiative sowie der vorgesehenen Publikation.

Resultate der bulgarischen EU-Ratspräsidentschaft vorgewiesen

Monika Panayotova, stellvertretende Ministerin für die bulgarische EU-Ratspräsidentschaft, berichtete über die Schlüsselprioritäten des Landes während des Mandats in Sofia sowie die erreichten Resultate. Einen besonderen Fokus legte sie auf die Verbundenheit mit dem Westbalkan in Hinsicht auf die Infrastruktur, Kommunikation, Ausbildung und die europäischen Zukunft der Region. Als gute Beispiele gab sie die Unterzeichnung eines Vertrags für gute Kooperation zwischen Sofia und Skopje sowie den Westbalkan-Gipfel im Mai 2018.

Während ihrer eigenen Präsentation betonte Sophie Eisentraut, politische Beraterin bei der Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz, dass es wichtig sei gegen die russische Propaganda Maßnahmen zu ergreifen. Eine Möglichkeit sei die Steigerung der Medienkompetenz. Eisentraut fügte hinzu: "Wir müssen die Medienfreiheit unterstützen, um die Propaganda und Desinformation zu neutralisieren." Zudem sei es notwendig, dass die EU besser ihre Werte und Ziele kommuniziert und sich selbst promotet.

Sanda Svetoka von der NATO Stratcom CoE stellte sowohl russische Desinformationsaktivitäten in den baltischen Ländern und Polen vor, als auch eine neue Studie, in der Anti-NATO-Propaganda auf dem Balkan und im Baltikum verglichen wird.

Jesús M. Pérez Triana, Sicherheitsexperte aus Spanien, erklärte die sprachliche Schwierigkeit für Propaganda in seinem Land aufgrund der globalen Verbreitung der spanischen Sprache. In Ländern mit lokalen Sprachen seien seiner Meinung nach Desinformationskampagnen einfacher zu verbreiten.

Der Präsident der bulgarischen Stiftung für humanitäre und soziale Forschung (HSSF) Dimitar Vatsov stellte die Situation in Bulgarien vor. Er war der Meinung, dass Desinformationsaktivitäten, die von außen gesteuert werden, von politischen Parteien und Gruppen leichter aufgegriffen werden, um ihre eigenen Interessen durchzusetzen.

Das Gespräch wurde von Mila Serafimova vom Sofia Sicherheitsforum moderiert.

An einer anschließenden Diskussion mit dem Publikum nahm Irina Novakova, NATO-Pressesprecherin, teil. Sie kommentierte, dass die Gegenpropaganda keine effektive Maßnahme gegen Desinformation sei. Viel effektiver wäre sich an Fakten und Zahlen zu halten.

Autor

Manuela Zlateva

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Bulgarien, 5. Juli 2018