Media situation in East and South East Europe remains critical

KAS Media Program at the 15th Frankfurt Media Law Days

Also available in Deutsch

The media situation in the countries of East and South East Europe were the central topic of the 15th Frankfurt Media Law Days. The event was hosted by Viadrina European University and Southeast Europe Association with the support of the Media Program South East Europe of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS). Prof. Dr. Johannes Weberling was the chairperson of the expert conference.

The event was opened by Prof. Dr. Claudia Weber, Vice-President of Viadrina European University, and Dr. Hansjörg Brey, Executive Director of the Southeast Europe Association. Subsequently, Prof. Dr. Johannes Weberling gave a lecture on the media situation in South East Europe and described the developments of the past 15 years. Hereby he emphasised that the media situation increasingly worsened. In his opinion the biggest issues are obscure media ownership respectively media which are in the hands of oligarchs, external political pressure, lack of self-regulation, self-censorship and increasing conformism among the journalists.

The second conference day started with a discussion on the topic "Media Law in South East Europe. Theory and Reality". The discussion was moderated by Darija Fabijanić, Research Associate at the KAS Media Program South East Europe. Panellists were Hartmut Rank, Head of the KAS Rule of Law Program, Brikena Kasmi, Lawyer and Lecturer at the University of Tirana, Dejan Milenković, Professor for media law at the University of Belgrade, and the Hungarian media expert Petra Szavai. The main questions during the discussion were the current developments in the media legislation and how successful media laws are implemented in Romania, Albania, Serbia and Hungary. In general the discussion showed that the legal framework for a free and pluralistic media landscape exists, yet the entanglements of media companies with political and economic actors constrain free reporting.

Journalists, lawyers, media and legal experts from Germany and Eastern Europe also debated about investigative journalism in the region, how to protect it and about the prevention of media monopolies by ensuring transparency.

During the Frankfurt Media Law Days traditionally the "Article 10 ECHR" Task Force holds a meeting. This time the expert group talked about changes in the media legislation and the media situation in Albania, Hungary, Bulgaria, Poland and Serbia. The task force meets regularly in order to point out problems in the media industry. Thus, the group already discussed topics such as "Higher media diversity through independent pools of journalists", "Media and their dealing with the past" and "Media education and fact checking: remedies against fake news". The KAS Media Program South East Europe has hosted joint workshops with the "Article 10 ECHR" Task Force and has formulated recommendations and guidelines on media topics for journalists and media experts. More here .

Author

Darija Fabijanić

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Frankfurt, June 28, 2018

Medienlage in Ost- und Südosteuropa weiterhin kritisch

KAS-Medienprogramm bei den 15. Frankfurter Medienrechtstagen

Auch verfügbar in English

Die Lage der Medien in den Ländern Ost- und Südosteuropas war das Thema der 15. Frankfurter Medienrechtstage. Die Veranstaltung wurde mit Unterstützung des Medienprogramms Südosteuropa der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) von der Europa-Universität Viadrina und der Südosteuropa-Gesellschaft e.V. organisiert. Prof. Dr. Johannes Weberling führte durch die Fachkonferenz.

Die Veranstaltung wurde von Prof. Dr. Claudia Weber, Vizepräsidentin der Europa-Universität Viadrina, und Dr. Hansjörg Brey, Geschäftsführer der Südosteuropa-Gesellschaft, eröffnet. Im Anschluss hielt Prof. Dr. Johannes Weberling einen Vortrag zur Lage der Medien Südosteuropas und beschrieb die Entwicklung der letzten 15 Jahre. Dabei betonte er, dass sich die Lage der Medien zunehmend verschlechtert hat. Die größten Probleme seien unklare Medienbesitzverhältnisse bzw. Medien im Besitz von Oligarchen, externer politischer Druck, fehlende Selbstregulierung, Selbstzensur sowie steigender Konformismus unter den Journalisten.

Der zweite Konferenztag startete mit einer Diskussion zum Thema "Medienrecht in Südosteuropa. Theorie und Realität", welches von Darija Fabijanić, Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin beim KAS-Medienprogramm Südosteuropa, moderiert wurde. Referenten der Diskussion waren Hartmut Rank, Leiter des KAS-Rechtstaatprogramms, Brikena Kasmi, Anwältin und Dozentin an der Universität Tirana, Dejan Milenković, Professor für Medienrecht an der Universität Belgrad, sowie die ungarische Medienexpertin Petra Szavai. Zentrale Fragen der Diskussion waren die aktuellen Entwicklungen in der Mediengesetzgebung und wie erfolgreich diese Gesetze in Rumänien, Albanien, Serbien und Ungarn implementiert werden? Grundsätzlich zeigte sich in der Diskussion, dass die gesetzlichen Rahmenbedingungen für eine freie und vielfältige Medienlandschaft gegeben sind, allerdings die Verstrickungen der Medienunternehmen mit politischen und wirtschaftlichen Akteuren eine freie Berichterstattung einschränken.

Journalisten, Juristen, Medien- und Rechtsexperten aus Deutschland und Osteuropa diskutierten rege in den weiteren Diskussionsrunden über investigativen Journalismus in Osteuropa und wie dieser geschützt werden kann sowie über die Verhinderung von Medienmonopolen durch Transparenz.

Im Rahmen der Medienrechtstage tagt traditionell auch die "Artikel 10 EMRK"-Arbeitsgruppe. Dieses Mal wurden die Veränderung der Mediengesetzgebung und Mediensituation in Albanien, Ungarn, Bulgarien, Polen und Serbien debattiert. Die Arbeitsgruppe trifft sich regelmäßig um auf Probleme in der Medienbranche hinzuweisen. So diskutierte die Gruppe u.a. bereits die Themen "Medienvielfalt durch unabhängige Journalistenbüros", "Medien und ihr Umgang mit der Vergangenheit" sowie "Medienbildung und Faktenchecks als Mittel gegen Falschnachrichten". Das KAS-Medienprogramm Südosteuropa hat dabei mit der "Artikel 10 EMRK"-Arbeitsgruppe bereits mehrfach zu Medienthemen, Empfehlungen und Richtlinien erarbeitet sowie Workshops organisiert. Mehr hier.

Autor

Darija Fabijanić

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Frankfurt, 28. Juni 2018