New South East European edition of the Investigative Journalism Manual

Also available in Deutsch

The KAS Media Program South East Europe publishes Investigative Journalism Manual with case studies from the Balkans

The goal of the publication is to illustrate the most important facts about investigative journalism. Journalists will have a better understanding about the specifics of investigative journalism, e.g. what is needed to find a reliable source, how to protect their research and data as well as how to ask the right questions.

Investigative journalists in transition countries often operate in extremely difficult environments. The manual is intended to help reporters facing challenges like fragmented media landscapes, the culture of non-transparency and limited resources. This new edition, published by the KAS Media Program South East Europe, presents case studies from investigative reporters from South East Europe. In this version you get an overview on the situation of investigative journalism in the Balkans, a deeper look into the work of the Panama Papers and examples from Serbia and Macedonia. The case studies were written by the successful and award-winning investigative journalists Miranda Patrucić (OCCRP), Branko Čečen (CINS) and Ana Petrusheva (BIRN Macedonia). The Investigative Journalism Manual is available for download here.

In 2010, the first edition of the Investigative Journalism Manual was published by the KAS Media Program Sub-Sahara Africa. The online version of this publication was accessed by some 30,000 visitors annually. Due to that interest in 2016, the Media Program Asia revised all the chapters with content useable worldwide. The Manual now combines the know-how of all Media Programs of Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung. The second edition was so far published in English, Mongolian, Indonesian and Nepali. More case studies, exercises and readings you can find on this website, which is continuously updated.

Author

Darija Fabijanić

published

Bulgaria, August 21, 2018

Neue südosteuropäische Ausgabe des KAS-Handbuchs für investigativen Journalismus

Auch verfügbar in English

Das KAS-Medienprogramm Südosteuropa veröffentlicht Handbuch für investigativen Journalismus mit Fallbeispielen aus dem Balkan

Das Ziel der Publikation ist die wichtigsten Fakten über den investigativen Journalismus darzustellen. Journalisten erhalten ein besseres Verständnis über den investigativen Fachbereich, wie zum Beispiel eine vertrauenswürdige Quelle gefunden wird, wie die Recherche und Daten geschützt und wie die richtigen Fragen gestellt werden.

Investigative Journalisten in Transformationsländern operieren oft in extrem schwierigen Umgebungen. Das Handbuch soll Reportern helfen bei Herausforderungen wie fragmentierten Medienlandschaften, Kultur der Intransparenz oder begrenzten Ressourcen. In der vom KAS-Medienprogramm Südosteuropa veröffentlichten Ausgabe wurden nun Fallstudien von investigativen Reportern aus Südosteuropa vorgestellt. So erhalten Sie einen Überblick über die Situation des investigativen Journalismus auf dem Balkan, einen tieferen Einblick in die Panama Papers und lesen Beispiele aus Serbien und Mazedonien. Diese Fallstudien wurden von den erfolgreichen und preisgekrönten investigativen Journalisten Miranda Patrucić (OCCRP), Branko Čečen (CINS) und Ana Petrusheva (BIRN Macedonia) verfasst. Das "Investigative Journalism Manual" steht hier zum Download zur Verfügung.

Die erste Ausgabe des Handbuches wurde vom KAS-Medienprogramm Sub-Sahara Afrika in 2010 veröffentlicht, mit einer Website, die bis zu 30.000 jährliche Besuche generiert hat. Aufgrund dieses Interesses aktualisierte das KAS-Medienprogramm Asien alle Kapitel in 2016 mit weltweit anwendbaren Inhalten. Das Handbuch kombinierte daraufhin das Know-How aller KAS-Medienprogramme. Diese zweite Ausgabe ist neben der englischen Version, auch auf Mongolisch, Indonesisch und Nepali veröffentlicht worden.

Weitere Fallstudien, Übungen und Texte finden Sie auf dieser Website. Diese wird laufend aktualisiert.

Autor

Darija Fabijanić

erschienen

Bulgarien, 21. August 2018