About Us

Also available in Deutsch

Freedom, justice and solidarity are the basic principles underlying the work of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS). The KAS is a political foundation, closely associated with the Christian Democratic Union of Germany (CDU). As co-founder of the CDU and the first Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany, Konrad Adenauer (1876-1967) united Christian-social, conservative and liberal traditions. His name is synonymous with the democratic reconstruction of Germany, the firm alignment of foreign policy with the trans-Atlantic community of values, the vision of a unified Europe and an orientation towards the social market economy. His intellectual heritage continues to serve both as our aim as well as our obligation today.

The Multinational Development Policy Dialogue

The programme Multinational Development Policy Dialogue (MNED, Multinationaler Entwicklungsdialog) of Konrad Adenauer Stiftung (KAS) has offices in Brussels and Washington. Since 2001 MNED Brussels has been responsible for the Dialogue of the foundation with the European Union with regards to development policy. In addition, since 2005 a project team situated in Brussels and Berlin supports the offices of KAS in third countries with their project proposals for EU funding. Two projects which are co-financed from the European Union are also being implemented by MNED Brussels, the EU-project supporting the European Network of Political Foundations and the EU-project “Get on Board! Mobilizing Young Leaders to Support the EU Enlargement Process towards the Western Balkans“.

Our aims are

  • To shape and consolidate the dialogue between, the European Union, NATO and KAS Partners worldwide. The thematic focus is on democratization processes and civic education, human rights, the discussion of current challenges in security policy and its consequences for cooperation with third countries as well as on the effects of climate change and new initiatives in the energy sector.
  • To integrate the priorities of German development policy and the values forming its base as well as the experiences from the global project work of KAS into the coordination processes and programmes of the EU’s external action und development policy.
  • To support the successful integration of Central and Eastern European countries in the institutional structures of the EU and to enhance the political, economic and social transformation in countries of the European Neighbourhood in the Middle East, the Southern Mediterranean and Eastern Europe.

An important instrument for implementing our goals are dialogue programmes which take place in Brussels, such as workshops, conferences or information and study visits together with international, European and local experts or partners. These are fundamental in order to enhance an exchange of information and views between partner organisations and representatives of the European Institutions, civil society and the business world on democracy promotion and development cooperation. Thereby, a strong point of KAS is its function as a mediator between the EU, as an organisation at governmental level, and civil society organisations. Through the creation of a confidence-building platform, an informal exchange and open dialogue is made possible by the foundation. This kind of dialogue is of the utmost significance for discussion on democratisation and human rights issues.

Another of the programme’s activities consists in the formulation of policy papers and analysis concerning European democracy promotion and development cooperation. Exerting influence on European political decision-making and advocating for German priorities in terms of development policy are the main purposes in this context. For instance, in recent years Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation took an active part in the consultations on policy coherence for development, the reform of democracy promotion in European development assistance as well as on the future of budget support and funding instruments after 2013.

The European Network of Political Foundations (ENoP)

Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation is a major member foundation in the European Network of Political Foundations (ENoP). In the political arena of Europe it is essential to build networks for the pooling of interests. This is also significant for a constructive and critical debate about and dialogue with European institutions. Therefore, the European Network of Political Foundations, EnoP, has been created in 2006. The network presently counts more than 60 member foundations from more than 20 countries (within the EU and candidate countries). The members are close to party families represented in the European Parliament, belonging to the democratic spectrum but independent in their decision making and financing of international projects. ENOP is being co-financed by the European Union with the help of a project under the thematic programme “Non-state actors and local authorities in development” of the Development Co-operation Instrument, which is being implemented by KAS as lead partner in a consortium of ENOP members. Sabina Wölkner, the director of the Multinational Development Policy Dialogue of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, is also Project Coordinator and Network Deputy Coordinator of ENoP.

Über uns

Auch verfügbar in English

Willkommen bei der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung !

Freiheit, Gerechtigkeit und Solidarität sind die Leitprinzipien der Arbeit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS). Die KAS ist eine Politische Stiftung, die der Christlich Demokratischen Union Deutschlands (CDU) nahesteht. Als Mitbegründer der CDU und erster deutscher Bundeskanzler verband Konrad Adenauer (1876-1967) christlich-soziale, konservative und liberale Traditionen. Sein Name steht für den demokratischen Wiederaufbau Deutschlands, die außenpolitische Verankerung in einer transatlantischen Wertegemeinschaft, die Vision der europäischen Einigung und die Orientierung an der Sozialen Marktwirtschaft. Sein geistiges Erbe ist uns weiterhin Aufgabe und Verpflichtung zugleich.

Multinationaler Entwicklungsdialog (MNED)

Das Programm Multinationaler Entwicklungsdialog (MNED) ist in Brüssel und Washington angesiedelt. Seit 2001 ist der MNED Brüssel für den Dialog mit der Europäischen Union im entwicklungspolitischen Bereich zuständig. Des Weiteren unterstützt seit 2005 ein Projektteam mit Sitz in Brüssel und Berlin die Büros der KAS in Drittländern bei der Antragstellung für EU Projekte. Zwei von der EU ko-finanzierte Projekte werden ebenso im Rahmen des MNED Brüssel umgesetzt, das EU-Projekt zur Unterstützung des Europäischen Netzwerks Politischer Stiftungen und das EU-Projekt “Get on Board! Mobilizing Young Leaders to Support the EU Enlargement Process towards the Western Balkans“

Unsere Aufgaben sind

  • Die Gestaltung und Konsolidierung des Dialogs zwischen der Europäischen Union, der NATO und KAS Partnern weltweit. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf Demokratisierungsprozessen und politischer Bildung, Menschenrechten, der Diskussion über die aktuellen Herausforderungen in der Sicherheitspolitik und sich daraus ergebenden Konsequenzen für die Zusammenarbeit mit Drittländern sowie die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels und neuer Initiativen im Energiesektor.
  • Die Unterstützung der erfolgreichen Integration von Mittel- und Osteuropäischen Ländern in die institutionellen Strukturen der EU und die Begleitung der politischen, wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Transformation in den Ländern der europäischen Nachbarschaft im Nahen Osten, dem Südlichen Mittelmeerraum und Osteuropa.
  • Die Integration der Interessen und Werte der deutschen Entwicklungspolitik und die Erfahrungen und Expertise der internationalen Projektarbeit der KAS in die Koordinationsprozesse und Programme der Europäischen Außen- und Entwicklungspolitik

Ein Mittel zur Umsetzung dieser Ziele ist die Durchführung von Dialogmaßnahmen, die unter Einbeziehung internationaler, europäischer und lokaler Experten/Partner in verschiedenen Formaten wie Workshops, Konferenzen und Dialogprogrammen in Brüssel stattfinden. Diese Maßnahmen sind elementar, um eine Verbesserung des Informations- und Meinungsaustauschs zwischen Partnerorganisationen der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung mit Vertretern der europäischen Institutionen, der Zivilgesellschaft und Vertretern der Wirtschaft, um Fragen der Demokratieförderung und Entwicklungszusammenarbeit zu erörtern. Dabei ist eine der Stärken der Arbeit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung ihre Vermittlerfunktion zwischen der EU als auf Regierungsebene agierender Organisation und zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen. Durch die Schaffung einer vertrauensbildenden Ebene ermöglicht die Stiftung informellen Austausch und einen offenen Dialog, der insbesondere für die Diskussion von Demokratisierung und Menschenrechten große Bedeutung besitzt.

Die Erarbeitung von Positionspapieren und Analysen zur Europäischen Demokratieförderung und Entwicklungszusammenarbeit mit dem Ziel der Einflussnahme auf politische Entscheidungen auf europäischer Ebene gehört ebenfalls zu unseren Aufgaben. Damit möchte die Stiftung erreichen, dass insbesondere deutsche entwicklungspolitische Interessen in Brüssel stärker Gehör finden. In den letzten Jahren beteiligte sich die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung im Kontext des European Network of Political Foundations (ENoP) an Konsultationen zur Politikkohärenz in der Entwicklungspolitik, der Reform der Demokratieförderung in der Europäischen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit sowie zur Zukunft der Budgethilfe und zur Zukunft der entwicklungspolitischen Förderinstrumente nach 2013.

Das Europäische Netzwerk Politischer Stiftungen (ENoP)

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung ist eine wichtige Mitgliedsorganisation im Europäischen Netzwerk Politischer Stiftungen (European Network of Political Foundations, ENoP). Im politischen Umfeld Europas ist es von essentieller Bedeutung, Netzwerke und Zusammenschlüsse von Interessengruppen zu bilden, um eine effektive Interessenvertretung gestalten zu können. Dies ist auch signifikant für einen konstruktive und kritische Diskussion über und einen Dialog mit den Europäischen Institutionen. Aus diesem Grund wurde 2006 das Netzwerk ENoP gegründet. Das Netzwerk besteht zur Zeit aus über 60 Mitgliedsorganisationen aus mehr als 20 Ländern (aus der EU und Beitrittsländern). Die Mitglieder sind Organisationen, die politischen Parteien, die im Europäischen Parlament vertreten sind und zum demokratischen Spektrum gehören, nahe stehen aber von diesen unabhängig sind, was Entscheidungsfindung und Finanzierung von internationalen Projekten betrifft. ENoP wird von der Europäischen Union ko-finanziert mit Hilfe eines Projekts im thematischen Förderprogramm „Non-State Actors and Local Authorities in Development“ des Development Co-operation Instruments, das vom Multinationalen Entwicklungsdialog der KAS als führender Partner in einem Konsortium mit ENoP Mitgliedern implementiert wird. Andrea Ostheimer, die Programmdirektorin des Multinationalen Entwicklungsdialogs der Konrad Adenauer Stiftung ist die Projektkoordinatorin und stellvertretende Netzwerkkoordinatorin von ENoP.