Publications

COUNTERBALANCING THE STATE: HOW CAN CIVIL SOCIETY PROMOTE TRANSFORMATION?

Despite rather gloomy prospects for democratic transition in the EaP region, the EU is still a player capable of having a positive impact on developments in the region. CSOs remain the true allies of the EU in its Eastern Neighborhood to raise the voice for democratic transition. The future status of CS as an influential player counterbalancing the EaP states will determine countries’ political model in the region. Consequently, the KAS remains committed to supporting independent Civil Society in Eastern Europe to promote democratic transformation and European rapprochement of their countries. more…

Event Reports | October 12, 2017

Perspectives of the G20 summit on migration and sustainable development

Hamburg will be the central arena for the next G20 summit of the heads of state and government of the world's largest advanced and emerging economies on 7th/8th July this year. The summit focuses on the cooperation with the African continent, one of the top priorities of the German G20 presidency. The G20’s central concern is to promote and secure global economic growth. How to tackle the push factors for migration and flight to Europe in this context? more…

Dr. Susanne Conrad | Country Reports | July 6, 2017

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung mourns the loss of Helmut Kohl

On the death of former German Chancellor Helmut Kohl, Chairman of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung and former President of the European Parliament, Hans-Gert Pöttering, writes: more…

June 17, 2017

The Colombian Peace Deal

An opportunity for just and lasting peace?

This report summarizes the key messages drawn from the debate "The Colombian Peace Deal: An opportunity for just and lasting peace?", held in Brussels on 30 May 2017, and presents some reflections on current developments in the implementation of the peace deal between the Colombian government and the FARC. AUTHORS: Dr. Luis Blanco & Nina Gerlach more…

Dr. Luis Blanco | Event Reports | June 14, 2017

Post-ISIS Ninewa

The European Response

This statement summarizes the discussions held in the European Parliament in the context of the high-level conference "Post-ISIS Ninewa: The European response", held on 6 June 2017. Moreover, it presents recommendations from the Members of the European Parliament Elmar Brok and Ana Gomes for the stabilization and reconstruction of the Ninewa governorate. more…

June 6, 2017

Publikationen

Symposium Europäische Energiepolitik des Wirtschaftsrates der CDU e.V.

Marktwirtschaftliche Neuausrichtung der Energiewende am Standort Deutschland und Europa

Als Auftakt für die zweite Runde des „energylabs“ fand am 11. September 2017 in Brüssel das hochkarätig besetzte „Symposium Europäische Energiepolitik“ statt. Der Fokus lag dabei auf der marktwirtschaftlichen Neuausrichtung der Energiewende am Standort Deutschland und Europa. mehr…

Jasper Eitze, Johannes Hügel | Veranstaltungsberichte | 13. September 2017

Perspektiven des G20-Gipfels auf Migration und nachhaltige Entwicklung

Hamburg wird am 7./8. Juli dieses Jahres zentraler Schauplatz des nächsten G20-Gipfels der Staats- und Regierungschefs der führenden Industrienationen und Schwellenländer sein. Die Zusammenarbeit mit dem afrikanischen Kontinent, einer der Schwerpunkte der G20-Präsidentschaft Deutschlands, wird dabei im Mittelpunkt stehen. Zentrales Anliegen der G20 ist die Förderung und Sicherung des globalen Wirtschaftswachstums. Welche Bedeutung kommt in diesem Kontext der Begegnung der Ursachen von Flucht und Migration nach Europa zu? mehr…

Dr. Susanne Conrad | Länderberichte | 6. Juli 2017

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung trauert um Helmut Kohl

Zum Tode von Bundeskanzler a.D. Helmut Kohl erklärt der Vorsitzende der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung und Präsident des Europäischen Parlaments a.D., Hans-Gert Pöttering: mehr…

17. Juni 2017

The Colombian Peace Deal

An opportunity for just and lasting peace?

Dieser Bericht fasst die wichtigsten Aspekte aus der Debatte "The Colombian Peace Deal: An opportunity for just and lasting peace?", die am 30. Mai 2017 in Brüssel stattfand, zusammen und zeigt einige Überlegungen zu den aktuellen Entwicklungen bei der Umsetzung des Friedensabkommens zwischen der Kolumbianischen Regierung und der FARC auf. AUTOREN: Dr. Luis Blanco & Nina Gerlach mehr…

Dr. Luis Blanco | Veranstaltungsberichte | 14. Juni 2017

POST-ISIS NINEWA

The European Response

Das Dokument fasst die Diskussionen im Europäischen Parlament zusammen, die im Rahmen der Konferenz "Post-ISIS Ninewa: The European Response" am 6. Juni 2017 geführt wurde. Darüber hinaus enthält es Empfehlungen von den Mitgliedern des Europäischen Parlaments Elmar Brok und Ana Gomes für die Stabilisierung und Rekonstruktion des Ninawa-Gouvernements. mehr…

6. Juni 2017