Publications

Page 3

Green Urban Development Prospects in Africa

From 26th to 27th of April a delegation of African parliamentarians and city mayors visited Brussels in occasion of their one-week study tour to Europe, organized by Dr. Oliver Ruppel, Director of the KAS Regional Programme for Sub Saharan Africa. At an evening event, organized by the MNED Brussels, the participants discussed with Jens Gieseke, MEP and Diederick Zambon, Head of the Public Sector Sub-Saharan Africa of the European Investment Bank, on "Green Urban Development Prospects in Africa". This report gives a summary of the respective topics discussed on the event. more…

Johannes Hügel | Event Reports | May 8, 2017

Ahead of the Africa-EU Summit:

Setting the Course for a Sustainable Partnership

The Multinational Development Policy Dialogue of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung had the pleasure to organize the expert conference: “Ahead of the Africa-EU Summit. Setting the Course for a Sustainable Partnership” on April 11th 2017 in Brussels. The event aimed at exploring new avenues for cooperation and partnership in the extraordinary context of the upcoming G20 Summit and the Africa-EU Summit this year. The report gives an overview of the discussed topics and results of the high-level event. more…

Dr. Susanne Conrad | Event Reports | May 4, 2017

Water as warrantor for stability

The water-security-nexus in the Middle East

Water, energy and stability are inextricably linked to one another. Water is mandatory in the processes of production, distribution and use of energy. Energy is necessary for the extraction, desalination and distribution of safe drinking water. Access to clean water can therefore be a warrantor for regional stability. This essential relationship of water and stability is a topic of increasing importance. The main objective of the report is to sum up the discussion´s outcomes regarding water as guarantor for regional stability and the water-security-nexus in the Middle East. more…

Johannes Hügel | Event Reports | April 28, 2017

A Turning Point in EU-Latin American Relations?

Challenges and Opportunities

This report summarizes the key-messages of the conference "A Turning Point in EU-Latin America Relations? Challenges and Opportunities" held in the European Parliament on 17 November 2016. It also presents some reflections on the potential and future of EU-Latin American relations. more…

Dr. Luis Blanco | Event Reports | December 31, 2016

The EU and China in Africa.

Prospects for Cooperation

This report summarizes the main findings of the conference „The EU and China in Africa. Prospects for Cooperation” and delivers concrete policy recommendations. Considering that the impact of EU and China on the African continent has brought benefits and struggles, the conference aimed to assess best pratices and seeked to provide possibilities for pragmatic cooperation of the EU and China in Africa. more…

Event Reports | December 30, 2016

Publikationen

Seite 3

Green Urban Development Prospects in Africa

Von 26. bis 27. April besuchte eine hochrangige afrikanische Delegation von Parlamentariern und Bürgermeistern im Rahmen eines einwöchigen Dialogprogramms Brüssel. Bei einer durch den MNED organisierten Abendveranstaltung diskutierten die Teilnehmer mit Jens Gieseke, MdEP und Diederick Zambon von der Europäischen Investmentbank zum Thema "Green Urban Development Prospects in Africa". Der vorliegende Bericht gibt einen Überblick der diskutierten Themen und Ansichten zu den Afrika-EU Beziehungen im Kontext nachhaltiger grüner Stadtentwicklung. mehr…

Johannes Hügel | Veranstaltungsberichte | 8. Mai 2017

Ahead of the Africa-EU Summit

Setting the Course for a Sustainable Partnership

Der Multinationale Entwicklungsdialog der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung hatte am 11. April 2017 in Brüssel zu der Expertenkonferenz mit dem Titel: “Ahead of the Africa-EU Summit. Setting the Course for a Sustainable Partnership” eingeladen. Die Veranstaltung zielte darauf ab, neue Wege der Zusammenarbeit und Partnerschaft im Kontext des kommenden G20 Gipfels und des diesjährigen Afrika-EU Gipfels zu diskutieren. Der Bericht gibt einen Überblick der auf der Veranstaltung diskutierten Themen und fasst die wichtigsten Ergebnisse zusammen. mehr…

Dr. Susanne Conrad | Veranstaltungsberichte | 4. Mai 2017

Wasser als Stabilitätsgarant

Der Wasser-Sicherheits-Nexus

Der Nahe Osten ist eine Schlüsselregion, in der ein immer höherer Wasserbedarf zu einer Verschlechterung lang andauernder Konflikte führt. Die Diskussionsrunde im Europäischen Parlament diente dazu, Bewusstsein zu schaffen für die Bedeutung von Wasser als Garant regionaler Stabilität und Sicherheit, sowie dringende Fragen im Hinblick auf die Situation der Wasserversorgung und des Wassermanagements in den Palästinensischen Gebieten zu erörtern. mehr…

Johannes Hügel | Veranstaltungsberichte | 28. April 2017

A Turning Point in EU-Latin American Relations?

Challenges and Opportunities

Dieser Bericht fasst die Kernaussagen der Konferenz "A Turning Point in EU-Latin America Relations? Challenges and Opportunities" zusammen, welche am 17. November 2016 im Europäischen Parlament stattgefunden hat. Darüber hinaus analysiert die Publikation das Potential für eine engere Zusammenarbeit zwischen Europa und Lateinamerika in den kommenden Jahren. mehr…

Dr. Luis Blanco | Veranstaltungsberichte | 31. Dezember 2016

The EU and China in Africa

Prospects for Cooperation

Dieser Bericht fast die wichtigsten Ergebnisse der Konferenz “The EU and China in Africa. Prospects for Cooperation“ zusammen und liefert konkrete politische Empfehlungen. Der Einfluss China’s und der EU bringt dem afrikanischen Kontinent gleichzeitig Nutzen und bereitet Probleme. The Konferenz suchte bewährte Praktiken zu ermitteln, um dabei nach Möglichkeiten einer Zusammenarbeit zwischen der EU und China in Afrika zu suchen. mehr…

Veranstaltungsberichte | 30. Dezember 2016