Event Reports

Environment, Security and Migration in the Middle East & Africa

Looking to the Future

On April 19, the MNED of Konrad Adenauer Stiftung (KAS) Brussels office, together with the EastWest Institute (EWI), organised a workshop concerning the nexus between migration, environment and security in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. The dialogue brought together experts, policy makers, journalists, and academics from the individual countries across the MENA region to discuss a range of interrelated issues pertaining to the region’s future energy, water and food security, and how the outlooks of these respective domains may affect future migratory flows. more…

Johannes Hügel | June 13, 2018

Shadows of a radicalized youth.

The struggle with Jihadism in the Mediterranean and the EU

This report summarizes the key messages drawn from the conference "Shadows of a radicalized youth: The struggle with Jihadism in the Mediterranean and the EU" held in Brussels on 29 May 2018. more…

Dr. Susanne Conrad | May 30, 2018

Dialogue Programme on Water and Waste Management Models

Insights and Ways Forward for the MENA Region

This article provides a summary of a five-day dialogue programme of meetings, presentations, discussions and field trips entitled ‘Innovations in water and waste management: Models of transferability to the MENA region’, which took place from 25-29 March 2018 in Cologne, Germany and Brussels, Belgium. The publication has been jointly elaborated with Wala' Abdullah from NGO Fanack. more…

Johannes Hügel | May 18, 2018

Sustainability and Climate Responsibility in Global Value Chains

The report summarizes the workshop´s results, focusing on global value chains and related international frameworks, which specifically support environmental and sustainability goals. more…

February 12, 2018

A water energy nexus (WEN) for the Middle East

The historic experience of the European Coal and Steel Community

On Tuesday 28.11.2017 the MNED of the Konrad Adenauer Stiftung and the KAS Palestinian Territories together with EcoPeace Middle East held the event "A water energy nexus (WEN) for the Middle East and the historic experience of the European Coal and Steel Community". The WEN is an exciting new concept surrounding the trade of water and energy between Jordan, Israel and Palestine. This report summarizes the results of the WEN study conducted by KAS and EcoPeace, which have been presented at the European Parliament and accompanied by a keynote speech from Mr Elmar Brok MEP. more…

Johannes Hügel | December 6, 2017


About this Serial

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, its educational institutions, centres and foreign offices, offer several thousand events on various subjects each year. We provide up to date and exclusive reports on selected conferences, events and symposia at www.kas.de. In addition to a summary of the contents, you can also find additional material such as pictures, speeches, videos or audio clips.

Veranstaltungsberichte

Umwelt, Sicherheit und Migration im Nahen Osten und Nordafrika

Ein Blick in die Zukunft

Der Bericht fasst den am 19. April vom MNED der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung und dem EastWest Institute (EWI) in Brüssel organisierten Workshop zum Zusammenhang zwischen Migration, Umwelt und Sicherheit in der Region Naher Osten und Nordafrika (MENA) zusammen. Der Dialog brachte Experten, politische Entscheidungsträger, Journalisten und Wissenschaftler aus den einzelnen Ländern der MENA-Region zusammen, um eine Reihe von miteinander im Kontext stehenden Fragen der künftigen Energie-, Wasser- und Ernährungssicherheit in der Region und deren Einfluss auf zukünftige Migrationsströme zu diskutieren. mehr…

Johannes Hügel | 13. Juni 2018

Shadows of a radicalized youth.

The struggle with Jihadism in the Mediterranean and the EU

Dieser Bericht fasst die wichtigsten Aspekte aus der Konferenz "Shadows of a radicalized youth. The struggle with Jihadism in the Mediterranean and the EU", die am 29. Mai 2018 in Brüssel stattfand, zusammen. mehr…

Dr. Susanne Conrad | 30. Mai 2018

Innovationen im Wasser- und Abfallmanagement

Übertragbarkeitsmodelle für die MENA Region

Dieser Artikel gibt einen Überblick über das fünftägige Studien- und Dialogprogramm zum Thema "Innovationen im Wasser- und Abfallmanagement: Übertragbarkeitsmodelle für die MENA Region", das vom 25.-29. März 2018 in Köln und Brüssel stattfand. Der Beitrag ist das Ergebnis einer Zusammenarbeit mit Wala' Abdullah, Fanack. mehr…

Johannes Hügel | 18. Mai 2018

Nachhaltigkeit und Klimaverantwortung in globalen Wertschöpfungsketten

Der Bericht fasst die Ergebnisse des Workshops zusammen, der sich mit globalen Wertschöpfungsketten und internationalen Rahmenbedingungen beschäftigte, die ganz speziell Umwelt- und Nachhaltigkeitsziele unterstützen. mehr…

Johannes Hügel | 12. Februar 2018

Ein Wasser Energie Nexus für den Nahen Osten

Historische Erfahrungen der Europäischen Gemeinschaft für Kohle und Stahl

Am Dienstag, den 28.11.2017 organisierte der MNED der Konrad Adenauer Stiftung im Europaparlament zusammen mit dem KAS Büro Palästina und EcoPeace Middle East die Veranstaltung "Ein Wasser Energie Nexus für den Nahen Osten und die historische Erfahrung der Europäischen Gemeinschaft für Kohle und Stahl". Der WEN ist ein spannendes neues Konzept des Handels mit Wasser und Energie zwischen Jordanien, Israel und Palästina. Der Bericht fasst die Ergebnisse der von KAS und EcoPeace durchgeführten WEN Studie zusammen, die jetzt im Europaparlament mit Elmar Brok MdEP präsentiert wurde. mehr…

Johannes Hügel | 6. Dezember 2017


Über diese Reihe

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, ihre Bildungsforen und Auslandsbüros bieten jährlich mehrere tausend Veranstaltungen zu wechselnden Themen an. Über ausgewählte Konferenzen, Events, Symposien etc. berichten wir aktuell und exklusiv für Sie unter www.kas.de. Hier finden Sie neben einer inhaltlichen Zusammenfassung auch Zusatzmaterialien wie Bilder, Redemanuskripte, Videos oder Audiomitschnitte.