About Us

Also available in Deutsch

Welcome to Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung!

Freedom, justice and solidarity are the basic principles underlying the work of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS). The KAS is a political foundation, closely associated with the Christian Democratic Union of Germany (CDU). As co-founder of the CDU and the first Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany, Konrad Adenauer (1876-1967) united Christian-social, conservative and liberal traditions. His name is synonymous with the democratic reconstruction of Germany, the firm alignment of foreign policy with the trans-Atlantic community of values, the vision of a unified Europe and an orientation towards the social market economy. His intellectual heritage continues to serve both as our aim as well as our obligation today.

In our European and international cooperation efforts we work for people to be able to live self-determined lives in freedom and dignity. We make a contribution underpinned by values to helping Germany meet its growing responsibilities throughout the world.

We encourage people to lend a hand in shaping the future along these lines. With more than 70 offices abroad and projects in over 120 countries, we make a unique contribution to the promotion of democracy, the rule of law and a social market economy. To foster peace and freedom we encourage a continuous dialog at the national and international levels as well as the exchange between cultures and religions.

Human beings in their distinctive dignity and with their rights and responsibilities are at the heart of our work. We are guided by the conviction that human beings are the starting point in the effort to bring about social justice and democratic freedom while promoting sustainable economic activity. By bringing people together who embrace their responsibilities in society, we develop active networks in the political and economic spheres as well as in society itself. The guidance we provide on the basis of our political know-how and knowledge helps to shape the globalization process along more socially equitable, ecologically sustainable and economically efficient lines.

We cooperate with governmental institutions, political parties, civil society organizations and handpicked elites, building strong partnerships along the way. In particular we seek to intensify political cooperation in the area of development cooperation at the national and international levels on the foundations of our objectives and values. Together with our partners we make a contribution to the creation of an international order that enables every country to develop in freedom and under its own responsibility.

In order to achieve its socio-political goals, the Windhoek office of the Konrad Adenauer Foundation works together with a partner organization (WAD) as well as with various co-organisers in so called ‘self-initiated measures’.

Women's Action for Development (WAD) was created by the Konrad Adenauer Foundation as a self-initiated measure in 1994. In May 2001 WAD was registered as an independent organization. WAD aims at enabling the women of Namibia to improve their living conditions through self-help activities and to assert their rights in society. On a local level WAD members form self-help groups which are guided towards helping their members to increasingly become integrated in the economic cycle and to give them the opportunity of achieving their realised income. For this purpose the six regional training centres offer a wide range of educational and training possibilities. On a regional level WAD members select "Regional Women's Voices", who ensure that women's concerns are addressed and discussed with those responsible, and that appropriate solutions to problems and issues are found. In November 2002 the ‘National Women’s Voice’ was created in the presence of the Namibian Prime Minister. It adopts current themes in their broader context to introduce them into a socio-political debate.

The self-initiated measures of the KAS offices play an increasingly important role. Through such instruments, pressing problems and questions can be immediately addressed. KAS in Namibia cooperates closely with the office of the Ombudsman and an educational institution (TUCSIN), in order to focus on measures dealing with good governance, the rule of law and political parties.

Regional integration in Southern Africa (SADC) is a further focal point of KAS work in the region. Together with the Trade Law Centre for Southern Africa (tralac), the development of regional integration is observed and documented.

A further task of the Windhoek office is to support Angola's democratic development. With this goal in mind the foundation cooperates with the Ombudsman of Angola, as well as the Instituto de Desenvolvimento e Democracia (IDD). Furthermore, measure have been initiated which aim at establishing a training centre in the Kwanza Sul province.

Über uns

Auch verfügbar in English

Willkommen bei der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung!

Freiheit, Gerechtigkeit und Solidarität sind die Leitprinzipien der Arbeit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS). Die KAS ist eine Politische Stiftung, die der Christlich Demokratischen Union Deutschlands (CDU) nahesteht. Als Mitbegründer der CDU und erster deutscher Bundeskanzler verband Konrad Adenauer (1876-1967) christlich-soziale, konservative und liberale Traditionen. Sein Name steht für den demokratischen Wiederaufbau Deutschlands, die außenpolitische Verankerung in einer transatlantischen Wertegemeinschaft, die Vision der europäischen Einigung und die Orientierung an der Sozialen Marktwirtschaft. Sein geistiges Erbe ist uns weiterhin Aufgabe und Verpflichtung zugleich.

Mit unserer Europäischen und Internationalen Zusammenarbeit setzen wir uns dafür ein, dass Menschen selbstbestimmt in Freiheit und Würde leben können. Wir leisten einen werteorientierten Beitrag dazu, dass Deutschland seiner wachsenden Verantwortung in der Welt gerecht wird.

Wir wollen Menschen dazu bewegen, die Zukunft in diesem Sinne mitzugestalten. Durch weltweit mehr als 70 Büros und Projekte in über 120 Ländern leisten wir einen eigenständigen Beitrag zur Förderung von Demokratie, Rechtsstaatlichkeit und Sozialer Marktwirtschaft. Um Frieden und Freiheit zu sichern, unterstützen wir den kontinuierlichen außen- und sicherheitspolitischen Dialog sowie den Austausch zwischen Kulturen und Religionen.

Im Zentrum steht für uns der Mensch in seiner unverwechselbaren Würde, seinen Rechten und Pflichten. Er bildet für uns den Ausgangspunkt für soziale Gerechtigkeit, freiheitliche Demokratie und nachhaltiges Wirtschaften. Indem wir Menschen zusammenbringen, die ihre gesellschaftliche Verantwortung annehmen, entwickeln wir aktive Netzwerke in Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. Unser politisches Wissensmanagement verbessert die Chancen, die Globalisierung sozial gerecht, ökologisch nachhaltig und wirtschaftlich effizient zu gestalten.

Partnerschaftlich arbeiten wir mit staatlichen Institutionen, Parteien, Organisationen der Bürgergesellschaft sowie ausgewählten Eliten zusammen. Durch unsere Ziele und Wertevorstellungen wollen wir insbesondere in der Entwicklungspolitik auch in Zukunft politische Zusammenarbeit regional und global vertiefen. Zusammen mit unseren Partnern tragen wir zu einer internationalen Ordnung bei, die jedem Land eine Entwicklung in Freiheit und Eigenverantwortung ermöglicht.

Das Auslandsbüro in Windhoek betreut Projekte in Namibia und Angola und arbeitet bei der Umsetzung der gesellschaftspolitischen Ziele mit einer Partnerorganisation (WAD) sowie im Rahmen von sog. Eigenmaßnahmen mit zahlreichen Mitveranstaltern zusammen.

Women's Action for Development (WAD) wurde als Eigenmaßnahme der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung im Jahr 1994 ins Leben gerufen. Im Mai 2001 wurde WAD als eigenständige Organisation registriert. Ziel von WAD ist es, die Frauen Namibias in die Lage zu versetzen, ihre Lebensbedingungen durch Selbsthilfeaktivitäten zu verbessern und ihre Rechte in der Gesellschaft durchzusetzen. Auf lokaler Ebene bilden die Mitglieder von WAD Selbsthilfegruppen, die unter Anleitung zunehmend in den Wirtschaftskreislauf hineinwachsen und ihren Mitgliedern Möglichkeiten zur Einkommenserzielung bieten. Hierfür steht in den sechs regionalen Trainingszentren ein reichhaltiges Angebot an Aus- und Fortbildungsmöglichkeiten zur Verfügung.Auf regionaler Ebene sorgen die von den Mitgliedern gewählten "Regional Women's Voices" dafür, dass die Belange der Frauen wahrgenommen, mit den Verantwortlichen diskutiert und einer Lösung zugeführt werden. Im November 2002 wurde in Anwesenheit des namibischen Premierministers die "National Women's Voice" ins Leben gerufen. Sie greift aktuelle Themen in einem grösseren Zusammenhang auf und bringt sie in die gesellschaftspolitische Debatte ein.

Eine zunehmend wichtige Rolle spielen die Eigenmaßnahmen des KAS-Büros. Mit dem Instrument der Eigenmaßnahmen kann unmittelbar auf aktuelle Fragestellungen eingegangen werden. Hier findet eine enge Kooperation mit dem Büro des Ombudsmanns, mit der Bildungseinrichtung TUCSIN statt, Maßnahmen in den Bereichen Good Governance, Rechtsstaatlichkeit, politische Parteien werden focussiert.

Die regionale Integration im Südlichen Afrika (SADC) ist ein weiterer Arbeitsschwerpunkt des KAS-Büros. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Trade Law Centre for Southern Africa (tralac) wird die Entwicklung der regionalen Integration beobachtet und dokumentiert.

Eine weitere Aufgabe des Büros Windhoek ist es, die demokratische Entwicklung in Angola zu unterstützen. Die Kooperation mit dem Ombudsmann Angolas sowie dem Instituto de Desenvolvimento e Democracia (IDD) werden dabei flankiert durch Maßnahmen im Bereich des Aufbau eines ländlichen Ausbildungszentrums in der Provinz Kwanza Sul begonnen.