KAS Roundtable on Civic Education in Schools

May 19 Tuesday

Date/time

May 19, 2015

Loc.

Abuja

With

Fracesca Edeghere; Jerry Agada

Type

Discussion

As a result of discussions with CSO and the Media KAS decided to have a closer look at the teaching of Civic Education at public schools in the FCT and with the consent from the respective official bodies,

Also available in Deutsch

the Pilot Study was conducted in December 2014, carried out by Mrs. Francesca Edeghere.

On 19th May 2015 Mrs. Edeghere presented the finding of the study at the roundtable discussion with members from Educational Institutions at the Transcorp Hilton Hotel. Mrs. Edeghere highlighted the benefits of Civic Education in the schools on the Nigerian society, and the problems associated with the cancellation of this school subject from curriculum in the mid seventies before it was reintroduced in the primary school system in 2007 and in basic and secondary schools in September 2011.

The survey was done at secondary and primary schools in Abuja and in the outskirt of Abuja. Students and teachers were interviewed especially on their perception of the subject and how democracy and civic education is reflecting in rules and regulations of the schools and the daily business. It was noted that most students like the subject Civic Education but also, that teachers who teach civic education, did not study Civic Education as a course when they were undergoing their training. Therefore teachers from different field of studies have to cope with the responsibility of teaching Civic Education.

In attendance at the Roundtable were stakeholders from different regulatory bodies from the education sector. They include Federal Ministry of Education, the Nigerian Educational Research and Development Council (NERDC), National Orientation Agency (NOA). From the political sphere, the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP), was represented by former Minister of State for Education, Prof. Jerry Agada, who gave insightful comments on the way forward for civic education in Nigeria. He thanked KAS and the consultant for this survey which serves as reminder to decision makers in the education sector that more needs to be done. Also members of civil society and the Media gave their inputs on the subject.

The KAS Country Director Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi asked all participants to forward their ideas on how to make teaching Civic Education to young people easier, how teachers could be assisted in carrying out this duty and in which way KAS could be of assistance since it is the aim of KAS to contribute to Democracy, Rule of Law and Prosperity for all citizens of Nigeria.

Some of the recommendations at the end of the roundtable include intensifying Civic Education not only at the classrooms, but at home as well, because education is a cradle-to-grave activity. The parents as the first contact for the children should act as role models, before the teachers will do their own bits.

It was also recommended that the existing curriculum on Civic Education be examined and enriched in collaboration with the NERDC, which is the body concerned with curriculum development in Nigeria.

Teachers in charge of Civic Education should get periodical in-service trainings to bring up the standards needed. It was also recommended that Civic Education should be introduced at the colleges of education in Nigeria, so that enough competent teachers are produced.

It was agreed that KAS would further discuss the issues with the relevant bodies and do further surveys on the subject with parents and in State Schools.

Former Minister of Education Professor Jerry Agada (PDP) was among the guests of the roundtable discussion organzied by the Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation in Nigeria on "Civic Education in Schools" on 19 May, 2015 in Abuja.

Former Minister of Education Professor Jerry Agada (PDP) was among the guests of the roundtable discussion organzied by the Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation in Nigeria on "Civic Education in Schools" on 19 May, 2015 in Abuja.

Guests of the roundtable discussion "Civic Education in Schools" on 19 May, 2015 in Abuja.

Guests of the roundtable discussion "Civic Education in Schools" on 19 May, 2015 in Abuja.

Representative of the Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation in Nigeria Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi and head of the NGO "Fellowship of Partners for the Protection of Ethics and Values (FOPPEV)" Francesca Edeghere during the roundtable discussion on "Civic Education in Schools" on 19 May, 2015 in Abuja.

Representative of the Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation in Nigeria Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi and head of the NGO "Fellowship of Partners for the Protection of Ethics and Values (FOPPEV)" Francesca Edeghere during the roundtable discussion on "Civic Education in Schools" on 19 May, 2015 in Abuja.

Guests of the roundtable discussion "Civic Education in Schools" on 19 May, 2015 in Abuja.

Guests of the roundtable discussion "Civic Education in Schools" on 19 May, 2015 in Abuja.

Contact person

Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi

Head of the KAS office in Nigeria and temporary of the office in Ghana

Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi
Phone +234 70 982 128 35

Runder Tisch der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung zur politischen Bildung im Schulunterricht

Mai 19 Dienstag

Datum/Uhrzeit

19. Mai 2015

Ort

Abuja

mit

Francesca Edeghere; Jerry Agada

Typ

Diskussion

Ein Ergebnis der Diskussionen und Gespräche, die die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung mit zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen in Nigeria in der Vergangenheit führte, war die Entscheidung, Art und Qualität der politischen Bildung

Auch verfügbar in English

an nigerianischen Schulen etwas genauer zu betrachten.

Mit dem Einverständnis der zuständigen nigerianischen Stellen führte die Direktorin der NRO „Gesellschaft zum Schutz ethischer Werte“ Francesca Edeghere im Auftrag der Stiftung im Dezember des vergangenen Jahres eine Pilotstudie zu diesem Thema durch.

Anlässlich eines Runden Tisches stellte Frau Edeghere am 19. Mai 2015 in Abuja ihre Studie Gästen aus dem Bildungssektor Nigerias und Vertretern der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung vor. In ihrem Vortrag unterstrich Frau Edeghere die Vorteile der politischen Bildung im Schulunterricht für die nigerianische Gesellschaft. In einem historischen Exkurs zeigte sie die Probleme auf, die aus der zwischenzeitlichen Abschaffung der politischen Bildung in den siebziger Jahren entstanden waren, bevor sie in die Grundschulprogramme im Jahr 2007 wiederaufgenommen und 2011 auch in den weiterführenden Klassen übernommen worden war.

Ihre Studie führte Frau Edeghere in Grund- und Sekundarschulen in der Hauptstadt Abuja und den umliegenden Gemeinden durch. In Interviews gaben Schüler und Lehrer darüber Auskunft, wie sie sich mit dem Themenkomplex Demokratie und politische Bildung generell auseinandersetzten und wie sich diese Lerninhalte auf den täglichen Umgang miteinander an der Schule auswirkten. Dabei stelle sich heraus, dass die Schüler durchaus interessiert sind und politische Bildung wertschätzen. Es wurde jedoch ebenfalls deutlich, dass Lehrer, die dieses Fach vermitteln während ihrer Studienzeit nicht in diesem Fach unterrichtet werden. Insofern stellt die Verantwortung demokratische und politische Bildung zu vermitteln für die Lehrer mit unterschiedlichen Profilierungen eine besondere Herausforderung dar.

Gäste des Runden Tisches der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung waren Verantwortliche aus dem nigerianischen Bildungssektor, unter anderem dem Föderalen Ministerium für Bildung, dem Föderalen Rat für Forschung und Entwicklung (NERDC) sowie der Nationalen Agentur für Orientierung (NOA). Aus der Politik war unter anderen der frühere Minister für Bildung, Prof. Jerry Agada (PDP) zu Gast, der mit aufschlussreichen Beiträgen Perspektiven der politischen Bildung in Nigeria aufzeigen konnte. Prof. Agada bedankte sich bei der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung für die Studie, die den Entscheidungsträger als Erinnerung diene, dass auf diesem Gebiet mehr unternommen werden müsse. Weitere Gäste waren auch Vertreter der Medien und zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen.

Die Landesdirektorin der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi bat die Gäste Ideen vorzutragen, wie man politische Bildung für junge Menschen leichter umsetzen könne und wie Lehrer bei diesem Bestreben besser zu unterstützen seien. Frau Behrendt-Kigozi bot nachdrücklich ihre Unterstützung an. Schließlich sei es das Ziel der Stiftung, Demokratie, Rechtsstaatlichkeit und Prosperität in Nigeria zu unterstützen.

Eines der Ergebnisse der Diskussion war, politische Bildung nicht allein an Schulen zu vermitteln, sondern auch im häuslichen Umfeld zu unterstützen. Zunächst seien die Eltern die Vorbilder ihrer Kinder, bevor die Lehrer ihren Auftrag wahrnehmen könnten.

Ebenfalls vorgeschlagen wurde eine Überarbeitung des Curriculums für die Lehre von politischer Bildung an Schulen und dass Lehrer, die politische Bildung vermitteln, in regelmäßigen Weiterbildungen ihre Kenntnisse festigen und entwickeln können. Auch sollte politische Bildung ein eigenständiges Fach als Teil der Lehrerausbildung werden.

Ergebnis des Runden Tisches ist, dass die Kooperation der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung mit den staatlichen Bildungsinstitutionen in Nigeria nach diesem Treffen fortgeführt und weiterentwickelt wird.

Der frühere Minister für Bildung Professor Jerry Agada (PDP) als Gast des Runden Tischs der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung zum Thema "Politische Bildung im Schulunterricht" am 19. Mai 2015 in Abuja.

Der frühere Minister für Bildung Professor Jerry Agada (PDP) als Gast des Runden Tischs der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung zum Thema "Politische Bildung im Schulunterricht" am 19. Mai 2015 in Abuja.

Gäste des Runden Tischs zum Thema "Politische Bildung im Schulunterricht" am 19. Mai 2015 in Abuja.

Gäste des Runden Tischs zum Thema "Politische Bildung im Schulunterricht" am 19. Mai 2015 in Abuja.

Die Landesdirektorin der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Nigeria Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi und die Direktorin der NRO „Gesellschaft zum Schutz ethischer Werte“ Francesca Edeghere während des Runden Tischs zur politischen Bildung im Schulunterricht am 19. Mai 2015 in Abuja.

Die Landesdirektorin der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Nigeria Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi und die Direktorin der NRO „Gesellschaft zum Schutz ethischer Werte“ Francesca Edeghere während des Runden Tischs zur politischen Bildung im Schulunterricht am 19. Mai 2015 in Abuja.

Gäste des Runden Tischs zum Thema "Politische Bildung im Schulunterricht" am 19. Mai 2015 in Abuja.

Gäste des Runden Tischs zum Thema "Politische Bildung im Schulunterricht" am 19. Mai 2015 in Abuja.

Ansprechpartner

Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi

Leiterin des Auslandsbüros in Nigeria

Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi
Tel. +234 70 982 128 35