Roundtable on the survey 'Nigeria of my Dream'

March 8 Tuesday

Date/time

March 8, 2016

Loc.

Abuja, Nigeria

With

Herr Prince Herbert; Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi

Type

Lecture

On March 8, 2016 the first roundtable with media representatives and non-governmental institutions (NGOs) was held in the KAS office to present and discuss the survey 'Nigeria of my Dream'.

Also available in Deutsch

After the important elections of 2015 Mr. Prince Herbert had the idea to know what kind of expectations the citizens have concerning the new government under the leadership of President Buhari.

Expectations of the citizens about their country, problems, fears and rising hopes were identified to see how citizens would effectively tackle these problems. The data were collected by questionnaires. Male citizens between the ages of 25-31 years, mainly from the South, were the largest respondents.

The citizens who took part in this survey recognize generally a need for further actions at political, economic and social-cultural levels. This reflects a wide dissatisfaction in all sectors. The problems which are facing Nigeria and fears of citizens are mainly in the political sphere, especially the government and the problem of corruption. Regarding hopes another distribution can be seen, because social-cultural factors are playing an important role to provide future opportunities. For the realization of their Nigerian dream, political factors were primarily emphasized in combination with the government, followed by social-cultural aspects. Citizens take the view that with Buhari a change is possible and Nigeria can make an important and significant step towards a 'better' future. However, they transfer exclusively the task of realization of a better nation to the government and free themselves of responsibility.

Due to the fact that citizens stressed the importance of government and its roles, participants in the roundtables discussed especially the social responsibility in Nigeria and underlined the decline of an active society. They refer to the importance of the existence of a civil society, which involves especially youth actively. Participants attached no great importance to security and peace policy issues in the survey. This brings confusions as conflicts and high criminalities are pervasive throughout Nigeria.

The analysis of the survey was welcome by the participants with great interest and some media and NGOs representatives such as the 'Speakers Corner Trust' will use the results for their own activities to widen the debate and search for solutions.

Presentation of the survey 'Nigeria of my Dream'
Presentation of results of the survey 'Nigeria of my Dream'
Participants of the roundtable during the presentation of results
Participants of the roundtable during the discussion about the survey 'Nigeria od my Dream'

Contact person

Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi

Head of the KAS office in Nigeria and temporary of the office in Ghana

Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi
Phone +234 70 982 128 35

Runder Tisch der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung zur Umfrage 'Nigeria of my Dream'

März 8 Dienstag

Datum/Uhrzeit

8. März 2016

Ort

Abuja, Nigeria

mit

Herr Prince Herbert; Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi

Typ

Vortrag

Am 8. März fand der erste Roundtable mit Medienvertretern und Nichtregierungsinstitutionen (NGOs) im Jahr 2016 im KAS Büro statt, um die Umfrage 'Nigeria of my Dream' vorzustellen und diskutieren zu können.

Auch verfügbar in English

Herr Prince Herbert entwickelte nach den bedeutenden Wahlen aus dem Jahr 2015 diese Idee, um Erwartungen der Bürger an die neue Regierung mit dem Präsidenten Buhari zu erfahren. Die Vorstellungen der Bürger von ihrem Land, Probleme, Ängste sowie aufkommende Hoffnungen wurden gesammelt, um anschließend zu sehen, wie die Bürger die bestehenden Probleme angehen würden. Die Daten wurden mittels Fragebögen erhoben. Männliche Bürger im Alter zwischen 25 und 31 Jahren, hauptsächlich aus dem Süden, stellten die größte erreichte Gruppe dar.

Die befragten Nigerianer sehen allgemein bei politischen, ökonomischen und sozial-kulturellen Aspekten Handlungsbedarf, was eine breite Unzufriedenheit in allen Sektoren wiederspiegelt. Die Probleme, mit denen Nigeria konfrontiert ist sowie Ängste der Bürger liegen überwiegend im politischen Bereich, speziell bei der Regierung und der Korruptionsproblematik. Bezüglich der Hoffnungen lässt sich eine andere Verteilung erkennen, hier spielen sozial-kulturelle Faktoren eine große Rolle, um den Menschen bessere Zukunftschancen zu geben. Für die Realisierung ihres nigerianischen Traumes wurden vorrangig politische Faktoren in Kombination mit der Regierung genannt, gefolgt von sozialen-kulturellen Aspekten. Die Bürger sind der Meinung, dass mit Buhari ein Wandel erfolgen kann und Nigeria einen wichtigen und bedeutenden Schritt in Richtung 'bessere' Zukunft vollziehen kann. Allerdings übertragen sie die Aufgabe der Umgestaltung des Landes ausschließlich auf die Regierung und entziehen sich selbst der Verantwortung.

Aufgrund dessen, dass die Bürger die Bedeutung der Regierung und deren Aufgabe betonten, diskutierten die Teilnehmer des Roundtables vor allem die gesellschaftliche Verantwortung in Nigeria und stellten das Abnehmen einer aktiven Gesellschaft heraus. Sie verwiesen auf die Wichtigkeit der Existent einer Zivilgesellschaft, welche besonders auch Jugendliche aktiv mit einbezieht. Sicherheitspolitischen Themen und Frieden maßen die Befragten in der Umfrage keinen großen Stellenwer bei, was auf reges Unverständnis stieß, da Konflikte und hohe Kriminalität in ganz Nigeria allgegenwärtig sind.

Die Auswertung der Umfrage stieß bei den Teilnehmern auf großes Interesse und einige NGOs und Medienvertreter wie zum Beispiel der 'Speakers Corner Trust' wird die Ergebnisse für eigene Aktivitäten verwenden, um die Diskussion auszuweiten und nach Lösungen zu suchen.

Vorstellung der Umfrage 'Nigeria of my Dream'
Präsentation der Ergebnisse von der Umfrage 'Nigeria of my Dream
Teilnehmer des Runden Tisches während der Präsentation der Ergebnisse zu der Umfrage 'Nigeria of my Dream'
Teilnehmer des Runden Tisches bei der Diskussion über die Umfrage 'Nigeria of my Dream'

Ansprechpartner

Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi

Leiterin des Auslandsbüros in Nigeria

Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi
Tel. +234 70 982 128 35