Training of Trainers Workshop at the NSCDC-Academy (Nigerian Security and Civil Defence Corps) in Abuja

February 22 Monday

Date/time

February 22 - 26, 2016

Loc.

Abuja, Nigeria

With

Dr. Naomi Akpan-Ita, Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi; Provost, CDA

Type

Workshop

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung initiated the cooperation with a Nigerian security institution in 2016 with a five-day workshop for NSCDC and conducted the training from 22th to 26th of February 2016 at the NSCDC-Academy in Abuja.

Also available in Deutsch

Mrs. Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi, the country director of KAS in Nigeria and Dr. Naomi Akpan-Ita led the workshop, which was very well attended with approximately 80 participants.

The target group of the training was the lecturers of NSCDC so that training and learning content at the Academy in Abuja can be supplemented and improved. The establishment and maintenance of a good relationship between citizens and the NSCDC had priority as well as the work of security forces in a democracy and also rights and duties of citizens in uniform. The participants were informed about mediation in order to maintain peace and security. They also worked out which factors hindered the work and how to deal with these problems.

The workshop was thematically divided into four modules. The first module made a reference to fundamentals of democracy, rule of law, constitutionalism, law enforcement and human rights, whose meanings were explained and discussed in interactive sessions. In module two, ethnic and moral situations were discussed in detail and why the aspect of corruption is an important consideration for NSCDC. Module three highlighted conflict analysis, conflict management, communication and peace building. Therefore it was very important for the presenters to enable the participants to understand conflicts per se are not bad, but can improve relations. It was particularly important that causes and effects were discussed to deal adequately with conflicts. They rounded off the workshop by discussing in the fourth module, topics about the role of media and their impact on the activities of NSCDC as well as the improvement of the relationship between the two.

A particular value was placed on ensuring that participants put into practice what they had learned from the workshop and implement it for the citizens in their work. Therefore, in every training module, terms and contents have been developed together and discussed how these can be integrated into the daily work of NSCDC officers. It was explained to the participants why the issues addressed above were of enormous importance. It was also explained how they can address such issues and problems. Through group work and presentations participants were always encouraged and motivated to become actively involved in the discussions, which made the debate very lively and enabled an intensive debate with these themes. For the NSCDC trainees it was very important that they improve their relationship with other security forces and also with civilians. This encouraged the KAS to continue in their work.

In conclusion it can be noted that the five days were very enriching for all concerned. Many participants thanked the KAS and Mrs. Naomi Akpan-Ita for their efforts and their great work and were very pleased with this workshop for enhancing their knowledge and skills. Mrs. Behrendt-Kigozi explained that the KAS will continue to support and promote the NSCDC and promised that further coaching of trainers will be given to them.

Group picture
Mrs. Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi with the Provost, CDA
Group work
Role-playing
High-ranking guests during the opening ceremony

Contact person

Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi

Head of the KAS office in Nigeria and temporary of the office in Ghana

Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi
Phone +234 70 982 128 35

Training für NSCDC Trainer in Abuja

Februar 22 Montag

Datum/Uhrzeit

22. – 26. Februar 2016

Ort

Abuja, Nigeria

mit

Dr. Naomi Akpan-Ita, Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi; Provost, CDA

Typ

Workshop

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung leitete 2016 die Zusammenarbeit mit einer nigerianischen Sicherheitsinstitution mittels eines fünftägigen Workshop für die NSCDC ein und führte diesen vom 22.-26.02.2016 in der Akademie der NSCDC in Abuja durch.

Auch verfügbar in English

Frau Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi, die Landesleiterin der KAS in Nigeria und Frau Dr. Naomi Akpan-Ita leiteten den Workshop, welcher mit ca. 80 Teilnehmern sehr gut besucht wurde. Die Zielgruppe des Trainings bildeten die Lehrkräfte der NSCDC, damit die Trainings- und Lerninhalte an der Akademie in Abuja ergänzt und verbessert werden. Im Vordergrund stand die Etablierung und Festigung einer guten Beziehung zwischen den Bürgern und der NSCDC, sowie die Arbeit von Sicherheitskräften in einer Demokratie als auch die Rechte und Pflichten von Bürgern in Uniform. Den Teilnehmenden wurden Kenntnisse zur Mediation vermittelt, um Frieden und Sicherheit zu erhalten. Es wurde auch erarbeitet, welche Faktoren die Arbeit behindern und wie mit diesen Probleme umgegangen werden kann.

Der Workshop wurde thematisch in vier Module unterteilt. Das erste Modul stellte den Bezug zu grundlegenden Themen wie Demokratie, Rechtsstaatlichkeit, Verfassung, Rechtsdurch-setzung und Menschenrechte her, dessen Bedeutung erläutert und rege diskutiert wurden. Im Modul zwei wurden ethnische und moralische Situationen genauer debattiert und warum der Aspekt Korruption auch für die NSCDC ein wichtiger Gesichtspunkt ist. Modul drei stellte Konfliktanalyse, Konfliktmanagement, Kommunikation und Friedensbildung in den Vorder-grund. Dabei war es den Referenten wichtig, dass die Teilnehmer auch verstehen, dass Konflikte per se nicht schlecht sind, sondern auch Beziehungen verbessern. Besonders wichtig ist es, dass Hintergründe und Einflüsse verstanden werden, um Konflikte angemessen bearbeiten zu können. Themen um die Rolle von Medien und deren Auswirkungen auf die Arbeit von NSCDC und die Verbesserung der beidseitigen Beziehung rundeten den Workshop mittels des vierten Moduls ab.

Besonders Wert wurde darauf gelegt, dass die Teilnehmer das Gelernte anwenden und dies für die Bürger in ihrer Arbeit umsetzen. Daher wurden in jedem Themenmodul die Begriffe und Inhalte gemeinsam erarbeitet und erörtert, wie diese in die alltägliche Arbeit eines NSCDC-Offiziers integriert werden kann. Es wurde erläutert, warum die angesprochenen Themen für NSCDC-Offiziere von enormer Bedeutung sind und wie mit Problemen umge-gangen werden soll. Mittels Gruppenarbeiten und Präsentationen wurden die Teilnehmer stets animiert und motiviert sich selbst in die Diskussionen einzubringen, welches die Debatten äußerst lebhaft machten und eine intensive Auseinandersetzung mit der Thematik ermög-lichte. Den Teilnehmern selbst war es sehr wichtig, die Beziehung zwischen den Sicherheits-kräften und den Bürgern zu verbessern, welches die KAS in ihrer Arbeit weiterhin bestärkte.

Abschließend kann festgehalten werden, dass die fünf Tage für alle Beteiligten sehr bereichernd waren. Viele Teilnehmer dankten der KAS und Frau Dr. Naomi Akpan-Ita für ihre Bemühungen und ihre Arbeit und waren sehr froh durch diesen Workshop ihr Wissen und ihre Kenntnisse verbessern zu können. Frau Behrendt-Kigozi erklärte, dass die KAS die NSCDC weiterhin unterstützen und fördern möchte und es ein weiteres Coaching der geschulten Lehrkräfte geben wird.

Gruppenbild
Hochrangige Gäste während der Eröffnungszeremonie
Frau Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi mit dem Provost, CDA
Gruppenarbeit
Rollenspiel

Ansprechpartner

Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi

Leiterin des Auslandsbüros in Nigeria

Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi
Tel. +234 70 982 128 35