Town Hall Meeting at Boki I State Constituency of Cross River State

December 29 Tuesday

Date/time

December 29, 2015

Loc.

Cross River, Nigeria

With

HRH Otu Fredaline Akandu; Hon. Itam Abang;

Type

Panel

In collaboration with Noble Organization for Solidarity and Development (NOSAD), KAS organized a town hall meeting on December 29, 2015 at Community Secondary school, Abo which falls in Boki I constituency of Cross River State.

Also available in Deutsch

This was the second town hall meeting in Cross River State in this legislative period, as KAS and NOSAD decided to give the newly elected Members enough time to settle down in office.

About 250 participants attended the town hall meeting, amongst whom were HRH Otu Fredaline Akandu, clergy men, ward Councilors, students and youth leaders, women groups, public servants, teachers, artisans, politicians as well as community based organizations and NGO leaders from the constituency. Hon. Itam Abang, one of the very few women in the parliament was quite happy to meet her constituents for the first time after elections.

She briefed the constituents on her performance in the House on the bills and motions she had sponsored or co-sponsored. Amongst them was the child rights protection bill and the establishment of an agency for the purpose. As chairman House Committee on Education she held several meetings with school administrators in the private and public schools to ascertain the challenges in the sector and possible ways forward. She mentioned her pledge during her campaign that a piece of land has been acquired for the establishment of ICT Centre to alleviate the sufferings of students from the area and other adjoining communities seeking admissions into tertiary institutions through the Joint Admission and Matriculation Board (JAMB) Computer Based Test (CBT), for which they travel over 200km to Abakaliki, Ebonyi State to write.

The participants were quite grateful and wished that more town hall meetings follow soon. They raised the issue of peace keeping in the area where Boki I community had fought Boki II community in 2010 because of land. They also wished that the Honorable would help them making sure roads in the area are constructed and schools renovated with having more teachers. Hon. Itam Abang answered that she had already lobbied in the parliament, that the state government had put most of these projects on the 2016 budgets, but she will still do more to alleviate the problems of her people.

Hon.(Dr.) Itam Abang during her speech
Participants of the Town Hall Meeting
A participant ask a question

Contact person

Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi

Head of the KAS office in Nigeria and temporary of the office in Ghana

Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi
Phone +234 70 982 128 35

Bürgerversammlung im Boki I Wahlkreis von Cross River Staat

Dezember 29 Dienstag

Datum/Uhrzeit

29. Dezember 2015

Ort

Cross River, Nigeria

mit

HRH Otu Fredaline Akandu; Hon. Itam Abang;

Typ

Forum

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Organisation für Solidarität und Entwicklung (NOSAD) organisierte die KAS am 29. Dezember 2015 eine Bürgerversammlung in Abo, im Boki I Wahlkreis von Cross River State.

Auch verfügbar in English

Dies war die zweite Bürgerversammlung in Cross River State in dieser Legislaturperiode, in der die KAS und NOSAD den neu gewählten Parlamentariern genügend Zeit gab, um sich einzuarbeiten.

Über 250 Teilnehmer haben der Bürgerversammlung beigewohnt. Unter ihnen war HRH Otu Fredaline Akandu, Geistliche, Bezirksratsmitglieder, Schüler- und Jungendleiter, Frauengruppen, Beamte, Lehrer, Handwerker, Politiker sowie gemeinschaftsbasierte Organisationen und NGO-Vertreter aus dem Wahlkreis. Hon. Itam Abang, eine der wenigen Frauen im Parlament, war sehr glücklich ihre Wählerschaft zum ersten Mal nach der Wahl zu treffen.

Sie informierte die Wählerschaft über ihre Leistungen im Parlament, über die Gesetzesvorlagen und Anträge. Darunter waren das Kinderrechtsschutzgesetz und die Errichtung einer Agentur zum Schutz für Kinder. Als Vorsitzende des Bildungsausschusses hatte sie mehrere Treffen mit den Schulverwaltungen für private und öffentliche Schulen, um die Herausforderungen zu meistern und mögliche Wege für Verbesserungen zu ermitteln. Sie informierte über ihr Versprechen, dass ein Stück Land für die Einrichtung eines ICT Centers erworben wurde, um die Leiden der Schüler aus dieser Region und anderen angrenzenden Gemeinden zu lindern, welche zu Immatrikulationszulassungsausschüssen (JAMB) mittels computergestützten Tests (CBT) über 200 km nach Abakaliki, in Ebonyi Staat reisen müssten.

Die Teilnehmer waren sehr dankbar und wünschten, dass weitere Bürgerversammlungen in Kürze folgen würden. Sie baten auch um Hilfe bei der Friedenssicherung, da der Boki I Wahlkreis mit der Boki II Gemeinschaft im Jahr 2010 wegen Landkonflikten kämpfte. Außerdem wünschten die Bürger, dass ihnen geholfen wird, sichere Straßen in der Umgebung zu bauen und Schulen renoviert und mit mehr Lehrern ausgestattet werden. Hon. Itam Abang antwortete, dass sie bereits das Parlament beeinflusst hat die meisten dieser Projekte im Haushalt 2016 Haushalt zu verankern, sie aber noch mehr tun wird um die Probleme der Bürger zu lindern.

Hon.(Dr.) Itam Abang hält ihren Vortrag
Teilnehmer der Bürgerversammlung
Ein Teilnehmer stellt Fragen

Ansprechpartner

Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi

Leiterin des Auslandsbüros in Nigeria

Hildegard Behrendt-Kigozi
Tel. +234 70 982 128 35