The legal Situation of Palestinian Refugees

Also available in Deutsch

The situation of the Palestinian refugees is one of the most persistent refugee crises in the world which has not seen any progress since its first appearance. Both, the total number of Palestinians worldwide (10,5 million) and the total number of Palestinian refugees (7 million) are only estimates and depend on the source and/or the definition. Not every refugee living in Diaspora is an exile, not every exile is a refugee, not every refugee is registered as such and not every displaced Palestinian is a refugee.

Palestinian refugees do not fall under the legal regime of refugee protection of the 1951 Refugee Convention, its companion instrument the 1967 Refugee Protocol, and the Statute of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) which is eligible to all other refugees. For the Palestinian refugees a special legal regime was created. This regime comprises two special UN agencies - the United Nations Conciliation Commission on Palestine (UNCCP) and the United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees (UNRWA) as well as certain provisions of the 1951 Refugee Convention and the UNHCR statute. UNRWA was established in December 1948 with the dual mission of providing direct relief and establishing a “works program” for the approximately 700.000 refugees that fled what is now known as Israel in 1948. These services have been provided to those meeting UNRWA’s operational definition of “Palestine refugees”: persons whose normal place of residence was in Palestine between June 1946 and May 1948 and who lost their homes and means of livelihood as a result of the 1948 Arab-Israeli conflict. UNRWA’s mandate today includes also provision of basic needs to those refugees and internally displaced people (IDP) that had to flee their homes in the 1967 war as well as the descendants of the original male Palestinian refugees from 1948 and 1967 under the precondition that they live in one of UNRWA’s five fields of operations, whether in a camp or not. Only one third of the registered refugees still live in refugee camps.

UNRWA operates exclusively in the Gaza Strip, West Bank including East Jerusalem, Lebanon, Syria and Jordan with a total of 58 camps. Today, around 5 million Palestinian refugees/IDPs are eligible for UNRWA services, while the estimated number of Palestinian refugees/IDPs worldwide is seven million. Accordingly, not all Palestinians that had to flee their homes in the 1948 or the 1967 war are registered at UNWRA and receive services.

The definition of refugees used by UNRWA is limited to needy persons only. Till today, the beneficiaries that fall under the UNWRA mandate do receive only basic subsistence, like food, clothing and shelter, but are not granted the human rights and fundamental freedoms that are guaranteed by the 1951 Refugee Convention, its accompanying Protocol and the UNHCR statute. These rights and freedoms include freedom of religion (Art.4), rights in property (Art. 13), access to courts (Art. 16) freedom from undue restrictions on employment (Art. 17), primary education (Art. 22) and identity papers (Art. 27) but also the facilitation of a voluntary durable solution, such as repatriation, resettlement and integration. As the legal regime for Palestinian refugees does not give comprehensive protection and not all Palestinian refugees and IDPs are eligible for UNRWA services, it is discussed controversially if, and to which degree the general refugee regulations as guaranteed in the 1951 Refugee Convention and the Statute of the UNHCR can be applied to Palestinian refugees as well.

Article 1D of the 1951 Refugee Convention states: “This Convention shall not apply to persons who are at present receiving from organs or agencies of the United Nations other that the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees protection or assistance. When such protection or assistance has ceased for any reason, without the position of such persons being definitively settled in accordance with the relevant resolutions adopted by the General Assembly of the United Nations, these persons shall ipso facto be entitled to the benefits of this convention.”
Paragraph 1 of Article 1D is an exclusion clause, while paragraph 2 of Article 1D includes those Palestinian refugees again that have ceased to receive protection or assistance from UNRWA for any reason.

Today it is generally believed that Palestinians which are refugees according to the definition of Art 1A.2 of the Refugee Convention and that are outside of UNRWA’s area of operation are entitled to the benefits of the 1951 Convention, given that the perspective state is signatory to the Convention. Regarding those Palestinian refugees that live within the area of UNRWA’s operation, it is discussed between legal scholars if the “protection gaps” within the Palestinians legal regime might fall within the scope of “ceased protection or assistance” of Article 1D paragraph 2 of the Refugee Convention, and therefore make it applicable. In most of their host states (with the exception of Jordan to some degree), Palestinian refugees are not granted those rights, as many Middle Eastern and Arab States and all of the UNRWA states did not sign the Refugee Convention and Protocol and the vast majority of Palestinian refugees live in Middle Eastern and Arab States. Accordingly Palestinian refugees have a precarious existence in these states regarding their legal position and the safeguarding of human and civil rights, which remain subject to political and security considerations of the perspective government. Unlike most other refugees and IDP, who usually seek protection against refoulement (forcible return), Palestinian refugees are denied their right of reparations, including the return to their homes of origin by Israel. Although those rights are enshrined in international law and particularly in UN resolution 194 (1948) and 237 (1967), they are not been enforced. Palestinian refugees do not have access to courts that could provide effective remedies and reparations and no international agency is facilitating a comprehensive durable solution, including reparations.

Ilona-Margarita Stettner

Sources:

  • Akram, Susan: Palestinian Refugees and Their Status: Rights, Politics and Implications for a Just Solution; Journal of Paelstine Studies, Vol. 31, No.3, pp36-51; University of California Press
  • http://www.unrwa.org/etemplate.php?id=253
  • http://www.unrwa.org/etemplate.php?id=86
  • http://www.unhcr.org/refworld/pdfid/4add77d42.pdf
  • http://www.unrwa.org/userfiles/2010011791015.pdf

Die Rechtliche Situation Palästinensischer Flüchtlinge

Auch verfügbar in English

Die Rechtliche Situation Palästinensischer Flüchtlinge


Die Lage der palästinensischen Flüchtlinge ist eine der am längsten andauernden Flüchtlingskrisen der Welt. Weder konnte seit ihrer Entstehung eine substantielle Verbesserung erzielt werden, noch ist eine Lösung in Sicht. Sowohl die Zahl der Palästinenser weltweit (10,5 Millionen), als auch die Zahl der palästinensischen Flüchtlinge (7 Millionen) beruht auf Schätzungen und hängt von der jeweiligen Quelle und/oder Definition ab. Nicht jeder palästinensische Flüchtling in der Diaspora lebt im Exil, nicht jeder, der im Exil lebt, ist ein Flüchtling, nicht jeder Flüchtling ist als solcher registriert und nicht jeder vertriebene Palästinenser ist ein Flüchtling.

Palästinensische Flüchtlinge fallen nicht unter das internationale rechtliche Flüchtlingsregime bestehend aus der Flüchtlingskonvention von 1951, dem damit verbundenen Flüchtlingsprotokoll und der Satzung des Hohen Flüchtlingskommissars der Vereinten Nationen (UNHCR), welches für alle Flüchtlinge weltweit Anwendung findet. Für die palästinensischen Flüchtlinge wurde ein gesondertes Regime geschaffen, welches sich aus zwei speziellen UN-Agenturen zusammensetzt: der UN-Schlichtungskommission für Palästina (UNCCP), dem Hilfswerk der Vereinten Nationen für Palästina Flüchtlinge im Nahen Osten (UNRWA) sowie bestimmte Klauseln der Flüchtlingskonvention von 1951 und der UNHCR Satzung. UNRWA wurde im Dezember 1948 mit dem Ziel gegründet, den geschätzten 700.000 Flüchtlingen, die 1948 aus den von Israel eingenommenen Gebieten geflohen sind, direkte Hilfe zukommen zu lassen sowie diese in ein Arbeitsprogramm zu integrieren. Diese Leistungen werden jenen zur Verfügung gestellt, die der operationalen Definition als palästinensische Flüchtlinge der UNRWA entsprechen: Personen, deren ständiger Wohnsitz zwischen Juni 1946 und Mai 1948 in Palästina lag und die ihren Wohnsitz und ihre Lebensgrundlage durch den Arabisch-Israelischen Krieg von 1948 verloren haben. Das UNRWA Mandat umfasst heute ebenfalls die Sicherung der Grundbedürfnisse all jener Binnenflüchtlinge und Flüchtlinge, die im 1967 Krieg Wohnsitz und Lebensgrundlage verloren haben sowie die Nachkommen der männlichen Flüchtlinge von 1948 und 1967 unter der Bedingung, dass sie innerhalb einer der fünf Operationszonen der UNRWA leben, sei es in einem Flüchtlingslager oder nicht. Lediglich ein Drittel der registrierten Flüchtlinge lebt noch immer in einem solchen Lager. Die UNRWA operiert ausschließlich im Gazastreifen, dem Westjordanland inklusive Ost-Jerusalem, Libanon, Syrien und Jordanien und unterhält insgesamt 58 Flüchtlingslager. Heutzutage sind rund 5 Millionen palästinensische Flüchtlinge und Binnenflüchtlinge berechtigt UNRWA Leistungen entgegenzunehmen, während die geschätzte Zahl von palästinensischen Flüchtlingen und Binnenflüchtlingen auf sieben Millionen geschätzt wird. Dementsprechend sind nicht alle Palästinenser, die 1948 und 1967 ihren Wohnsitz verlassen mussten, bei der UNRWA registriert und erhalten Leistungen.

Die Definition von UNRWA ist auf bedürftige Personen beschränkt. Bis heute erhalten die unter das UNRWA Mandat fallenden Leistungsempfänger dementsprechend auch lediglich eine Grundsicherung wie etwa Nahrungsmittel, Kleidung und Unterkunft. Die durch die Flüchtlingskonventionen von 1951, dem damit verbundenen Protokoll und der UNHCR Satzung garantierten Menschenrechte und fundamentalen Freiheiten werden ihnen hingegen versagt. Diese Rechte und Freiheiten umfassen Religionsfreiheit (Art. 4), Besitzrechte (Art. 13), Zugang zu Gerichten (Art. 16), Schutz vor unzulässigen Arbeitsbeschränkungen (Art. 17), Grundschulausbildung (Art. 22) und Ausweißpapiere (Art. 27), zielen aber auch auf die Begünstigung freiwilliger permanenter Lösungen wie Rücksiedelung, Umsiedelung und Integration ab. Da die momentane rechtliche Situation den palästinensischen Flüchtlingen diesen umfassenden Schutz nicht gewährt und nicht alle palästinensischen Flüchtlinge und Binnenflüchtlinge berechtigt sind UNRWA Leistungen zu empfangen wird diskutiert, ob und in welchem Ausmaß die allgemeinen Flüchtlingsrichtlinien, wie sie 1951 in den Flüchtlingskonventionen und der Satzung des UNHCR festgeschrieben wurden, auch auf palästinensische Flüchtlinge angewendet werden können.

Artikel 1D der Flüchtlingskonvention besagt: „Diese Abkommen findet keine Anwendung auf Personen, die zur Zeit den Schutz oder Beistand einer Organisation oder einer Institution der Vereinten Nationen mit Ausnahme des Hohen Kommissars der Vereinten Nationen für Flüchtlinge genießen. Ist dieser Schutz oder diese Unterstützung aus irgendeinem Grunde weggefallen, ohne dass das Schicksal dieser Person endgültig gemäß den hierauf bezüglichen Entschließungen der Generalversammlung der Vereinten Nationen geregelt worden ist, so fallen diese Personen ipso facto unter die Bestimmungen dieses Abkommens.“
Paragraph 1 Artikel 1D ist eine Ausschlussklausel, während Paragraph 2 Artikel 1D diejenigen Flüchtlinge wieder einschließt, deren Schutz oder Unterstützung durch die UNRWA weggefallen ist. Sofern palästinensische Flüchtlinge unter die Definition von Artikel 1A.2 der Flüchtlingskonvention fallen und außerhalb des UNRWA Kompetenzbereiches leben, wird heutzutage allgemein angenommen, dass diese Personen berechtigt sind Leistungen der Konvention von 1951 zu empfangen, sollte das Gastland die Konvention ratifiziert haben. Bezüglich der Flüchtlinge die in den UNRWA Operationsbereich fallen wird zwischen Rechtswissenschaftlern diskutiert, ob die „Schutzlücken“ innerhalb des für die Palästinenser errichteten Rechtsregimes möglicherweise den in Artikel 1D Paragraph 2 der Flüchtlingskonvention aufgeführten Tatbestand des Wegfallens des Schutzes oder der Unterstützung erfüllt und den Artikel daher anwendbar macht. In den meisten ihrer Gastländer (mit der teilweisen Ausnahme Jordaniens) werden den palästinensischen Flüchtlingen diese Rechte allerdings nicht gewährt, da viele Staaten des Nahen Ostens und der Arabischen Welt und alle UNRWA-Staaten die Flüchtlingskonvention und das zugehörige Protokoll nicht ratifiziert haben und die große Mehrheit der palästinensischen Flüchtlinge in eben jenen Ländern lebt. Dementsprechend fristen palästinensische Flüchtlinge aufgrund der politischen Interessen und Sicherheitsbedenken in vielen dieser Länder in Hinsicht auf ihren rechtlichen Status und die Wahrung von politischen - und zivilen Rechten eine prekäre Existenz. Ungleich den meisten Flüchtlingen und Binnenflüchtlingen, die in der Regel Schutz vor Zwangsrückführung suchen, wird palästinensischen Flüchtlingen durch Israel ihr Recht auf Reparation, welches die Rückkehr in ihre ursprüngliche Heimat beinhaltet, verweigert. Obwohl dieses Recht im Internationalen Rechtsregime und speziell in den VN-Resolutionen 194 (1948) und 237 (1967) verankert ist, wird es nicht durchgesetzt. Palästinensische Flüchtlinge haben keinen Zugang zu Gerichten, die ihnen effektive Rechtsmittel und Entschädigung ermöglichen könnten, und es gibt keine internationale Organisation, die eine umfassende und dauerhafte Lösung, einschließlich Reparation, zum Ziel hat.

Ilona-Margarita Stettner

Quellen:

  • Akram, Susan: Palestinian Refugees and Their Status: Rights, Politics and Implications for a Just Solution; Journal of Paelstine Studies, Vol. 31, No.3, pp36-51; University of California Press
  • http://www.unrwa.org/etemplate.php?id=253
  • http://www.unrwa.org/etemplate.php?id=86
  • http://www.unhcr.org/refworld/pdfid/4add77d42.pdf
  • http://www.unrwa.org/userfiles/2010011791015.pdf