The Paris Protocol – Historical Classification

Also available in Deutsch

The 1993 Oslo I Accord marked the beginning of the peace process between Israelis and Palestinians. The document provided for a five-year transition period, by the end of which a comprehensive peace agreement between the two conflict parties was to be gradually reached. A separate protocol was drafted in order to formally regulate the economic relations between Israel and the Palestinian Territories during this interim period. Despite the expiration of the transition period more than ten years ago, the agreement that came to be known as the “Paris Protocol” continues to form the basis of the economic relations between the two contracting parties to this day.

Historical classification: 1967 to 1994 Israel gained control over the West Bank and the Gaza Strip in the course of the Six-Day War in 1967. Neither territory had previously had economic ties with Israel. The new political realities also entailed the immediate end of the diverse economic relations between the Palestinian Territories and Jordan and Egypt, respectively. In order to prevent an economic collapse in the militarily occupied territories, Israel launched a partial integration of the territories into its own economic structures. This partial integration took the form of an Israeli-imposed, incomplete customs union. Accordingly, the Israeli labour market was also opened up to Palestinian workers. Many Palestinians were tempted to seek work in Israel because of the higher wages. In 1972, one out of four Palestinian workers had found employment in the Israeli economy. At the same time, the economy in the Palestinian Territories was facing problems. While the West Bank and Gaza Strip served as markets for Israeli products, the Israeli protectionism that prevailed until the mid-1980s limited third country imports to these territories. Exports, too, were restricted due to insufficient infrastructure and practical problems regarding trade across the Israeli-controlled external borders. Bureaucratic restrictions such as the granting of investment permissions by Israel further hampered the development of the Palestinian private sector. The above facts indicate a clear trade imbalance as a consequence of this policy: the Palestinian imports were high and the exports low. Up to 90 percent of Palestinian imports came from Israel, while 60 percent of exports were destined for Israel. The resulting trade deficit was mostly counterbalanced by remittances from Palestinians working in Israel and abroad. These remittances constituted up to 30 percent of the West Bank’s gross domestic product (GDP). Thus, the standard of living in the Palestinian Territories rose significantly due to these transfers; however, they also indicate a severe dependence on the Israeli economy.

The Paris Protocol The Paris Protocol (Protocol on Economic Relations between the Government of the State of Israel and the P.L.O., representing the Palestinian people) was signed as part of the Oslo peace negotiations on the 29 April 1994. The aim of the protocol was to formalize the economic relations that had previously been unilaterally determined by Israel and to establish a bilateral agreement for the five-year interim period by the end of which a comprehensive peace agreement between the two conflict parties was to be gradually reached. The signing of the Gaza-Jericho Agreement on the 4 May 1994, which the Paris Protocol was attached to as Annex IV, entailed the protocol’s plan of implementation in the areas of Gaza and Jericho over which the Palestinian Self-Government then assumed authority. The Oslo II Accords expanded the Paris Protocol’s area of application and incorporated the newly defined Zones A and B, which are under full civil control by the Palestinian Authority (PA). The Israeli delegation to the talks drew considerably on the results of the “Economic Consulting Team to the Political Negotiations“, on the basis of which the preferable Israeli negotiating positions had been strategically determined a few months earlier. Accordingly, a central recommendation was to avoid setting any economic limits which could have created precedence for future negotiations. The political goal of Israel and the actual result of the negotiations was thus the maintenance of the prevailing de facto customs union.

Content of the protocol The protocol grants the then newly established PA the right to conduct its own economic policies – albeit only to a limited extent. This includes, inter alia, the right to levy direct and indirect taxes, create a monetary authority and employ people in the public sector. The protocol also provides for the gradual abolition of export restrictions for agricultural products, which had hitherto protected Israeli farmers from Palestinian competition. Furthermore, no additional taxes are to be levied on any goods traded between the two territories. Imports from and exports to third countries are subject to Israeli supervision as well as quantitative restrictions and cannot be independently regulated by the PA. A common external border, encompassing Israel and the Palestinian Territories, was created for the interim period. The border is controlled and the territory taxed by Israel. Taxes on imported goods can be unilaterally levied and altered by Israel. Taxes on goods that are destined for the Palestinian Territories are transferred to the PA , as is the value added tax on Palestinian products that are sold in Israel or made for the Palestinian market. The protocol further obliges both parties to facilitate the continued exchange of workers. Restrictions are only temporarily possible according to the protocol. This is an important issue for the Palestinian economy, in view of the large number of Palestinians working in the Israeli economy, whose retransfers partially counterbalance the trade deficit. The incomplete customs union imposed by Israel in 1967 was hence bilaterally codified through the provisions of the protocol.

Implementation The escalation of Palestinian violence during and after the Oslo negotiations and the subsequent Israeli response, inter alia, undermined the possible positive effects of a customs union. The outbreak of the Second Intifada in 2000, in particular, led to the establishment of numerous checkpoints and impeded the movement of persons and goods within the Palestinian Territories as well as with Israel and the rest of the world. In addition to the restricted movement of persons and goods, the number of work permits for Palestinians decreased significantly at this time. As a consequence, Israeli employers made do without Palestinian employees and gradually replaced them with foreign workers. Work permits for foreigners increased from 4000 in 1992 to 107 000 in 1996 alone. Those workplaces seem to be definitely lost for Palestinians. These developments led to rising unemployment and a steep decline of the level of income in the Palestinian Territories. Hence, the economic imbalance between Israel and the Palestinian Territories remained in place due to the agreement and the restricted movement of persons and goods. Palestinian imports amounted to 64 percent of the GDP between 2000 and 2008, while exports made for a mere 10.5 percent of the GDP. Furthermore, the gradual crowding out of Palestinians from the Israeli labour market caused a decline of remittances. Accordingly, the retransfers could no longer counterbalance the high trade deficit, as they had in the years prior to 1994. The retransfers were then essentially replaced by international donations that financially support the PA. International donor’s payments increased from 18 percent of the Palestinian GDP to 58 percent between 2000 and 2008. As a consequence, the Palestinian Territories have become very vulnerable to fluctuations in the flow of international funds and the withholding of tax money, as practiced by Israel as a means to exert political pressure.

Sources

Arnon, A. (2007). Israeli Policy towards the Occupied Palestinian Territories: The Economic Dimension 1967-2007. In: The Middle East Journal, 2007, 61(4), pp. 573-595.

Arnon, A. and Weinblatt, J. (2001). Sovereignty and Economic Development: The Case of Israel and Palestine. In: Economic Journal, vol. 111, no. 472, pp. 291-308.

B'Tselem (2011). Restriction of Movement – The Paris Protocol. Available at:

Fact sheet Oslo Accords on the homepage of the KAS in the Palestinian Territories.

Gaza-Jericho Agreement, Annex IV – Economic Protocol (Paris Protocol). Available at:

International Network for Economics and Conflict (2011). Renegotiating the Paris Protocol. Available at:

Mansour, A. (1988). The West Bank Economy 1948-1984. In: The Palestinian Economy: Studies in Development under Prolonged Occupation, ed. Abed, G. London, pp. 71-100.

Molkner, K.C. (2002). Legal and Structural Hurdles to Achieving Political Stability and Economic Development in the Palestinian Territories. In: Palestine and International Law, ed. Silverburg, S., J. McFarland & Company, pp. 367-394.

Palestine Economic Policy Research Institute (MAS) and World Bank (1999). Development under Adversity: The Palestinian Economy in Transition. Ed. Diwan, I. and Shaban, R. Washington: World Bank.

The Israeli-Palestinian Interim Agreement On The West Bank And The Gaza Strip, Annex V – Protocol on Economic Relations (Paris Protocol). Available at:

United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (2009). The Economic Dimensions of Prolonged Occupation: Continuity and Change in Israeli Policy towards the Palestinian Economy. Ed. Khalidi, R. and Taghdisi-Rad, S. New York and Geneva: United Nations.

United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (2011). Report on UNCTAD assistance to the Palestinian people: Developments in the economy of the occupied Palestinian territory. New York and Geneva: United Nations.

World Bank (2011). Coping with Conflict? Poverty and Inclusion in the West Bank and Gaza. Available at:

Das Pariser Protokoll – historische Einordnung

Auch verfügbar in English

Der Vertrag von Oslo I markierte 1993 den Beginn des Friedensprozesses zwischen Israel und den Palästinensern. Das Dokument sah eine Übergangsperiode von fünf Jahren vor, bis zu deren Ende schrittweise ein umfassender Friedensschluss zwischen den beiden Parteien erreicht werden sollte. Um für diese Übergangszeit die Wirtschaftsbeziehungen zwischen Israel und den Palästinensern formell zu regeln, wurde ein gesondertes Protokoll erstellt. Trotz des Auslaufens der Übergangsperiode formt dieses als „Paris Protocol“ bekannte Abkommen bis heute die Grundlage der Wirtschaftsbeziehungen zwischen den beiden Vertragspartnern.

Historische Einordnung: 1967 bis 1994 Mit dem Sechstagekrieg von 1967 brachte Israel das Westjordanland und den Gazastreifen unter seine Kontrolle. Beide Territorien hatten zuvor keinen wirtschaftlichen Kontakt zu Israel. Die neuen politischen Realitäten bewirkten für den Gazastreifen und das Westjordanland nun auch den plötzlichen Wegfall vielfältiger wirtschaftlicher Verbindungen zu Jordanien, bzw. Ägypten. Um einen weitgehenden wirtschaftlichen Zusammenbruch in den militärisch besetzten Gebieten zu verhindern, forcierte Israel die partielle Integration dieser Gebiete in seine Wirtschaftsstrukturen. Diese Teil-Integration nahm die Form einer durch Israel auferlegten, inkompletten Zollunion an. So wurde der israelische Arbeitsmarkt für palästinensische Arbeitskräfte geöffnet. Das höhere Lohnniveau bewegte viele Palästinenser und Palästinenserinnen dazu, Arbeit in Israel zu suchen. Bereits 1972 arbeitete etwa ein Viertel der erwerbstätigen palästinensischen Bevölkerung in der israelischen Wirtschaft. Die Wirtschaft in den Palästinensischen Gebieten hingegen stand etlichen Problemen gegenüber. Während das Westjordanland und der Gazastreifen uneingeschränkt als Absatzmarkt für israelische Produkte dienten, waren Importe aus Drittländern aufgrund des israelischen Protektionismus bis Mitte der 80er Jahre eingeschränkt. Exporte waren aufgrund mangelhafter Infrastruktur und praktischer Probleme im Zusammenhang mit dem Handel über die von Israel kontrollierte Außengrenze erschwert. Zudem hemmten bürokratische Restriktionen wie die Erteilung von Investitionserlaubnissen durch Israel die Entwicklung des palästinensischen privaten Sektors. Die obigen Fakten weisen auf ein deutliches Handelsungleichgewicht als Folge dieser Politik hin. Hohen palästinensischen Importzahlen standen geringe Exportzahlen gegenüber. Bis zu 90 Prozent der palästinensischen Importe stammten aus Israel, 60 Prozent der Exporte gingen an Israel. Das hieraus resultierende Handelsdefizit wurde hauptsächlich durch Rücküberweisungen von in Israel und im Ausland arbeitenden Palästinenserinnen und Palästinensern ausgeglichen. Die Rücküberweisungen betrugen bis zu 30 Prozent des Bruttoinlandprodukt (BIP) des Westjordanlandes. Zwar stieg der Lebensstandard in den Palästinensischen Gebieten vor allem durch die Rücküberweisungen merklich, gleichzeitig verdeutlichen die Zahlen die Abhängigkeit der palästinensischen Bevölkerung von der israelischen Wirtschaft.

Das Pariser Protokoll Das Pariser Protokoll (Protocol on Economic Relations between the Government of the State of Israel and the P.L.O., representing the Palestinian people) wurde im Zuge der Oslo-Friedensverhandlungen am 29. April 1994 unterzeichnet. Durch das Protokoll sollten die zuvor einseitig durch Israel determinierten Wirtschaftsbeziehungen in einem bilateralen Abkommen für die fünfjährige Interimsperiode festgeschrieben werden. Mit der Verabschiedung des Gaza-Jericho-Agreements am 4. Mai 1994, dem das Pariser Protokoll als Annex IV beigefügt ist, wurde dessen Durchsetzung in den an die PLO übergebenen Regionen in Gaza und Jericho beschlossen. Die Verträge von Oslo II dehnten das Gebiet, auf welches das Pariser Protokoll Anwendung findet, auf die neu definierten A- und B Zonen aus, die unter vollständiger ziviler Kontrolle der Palästinensischen Autonomiebehörde (PA) stehen. Die israelische Delegation konnte bei den Verhandlungen auf die Ergebnisse des „Economic Consulting Team to the Political Negotiations“ zurückgreifen, das wenige Monate zuvor die aus strategischer Perspektive zu bevorzugenden israelischen Verhandlungspositionen festgelegt hatte. Zentral war dabei die Empfehlung, keine wirtschaftlichen Grenzen festzulegen, was einen Präzedenzfall für kommende Verhandlungen hätte schaffen können. Politisches Ziel und Ergebnis der Verhandlungen war somit der Erhalt der bisherigen De-facto-Zollunion.

Inhalt des Protokolls Das Protokoll gewährt der durch Oslo II neu geschaffenen PA in engem Rahmen eine eigenständige Wirtschaftspolitik. Dies umfasst unter anderem das Recht, direkte und indirekte Steuern zu erheben, eine Währungsbehörde ins Leben zu rufen und Personen im öffentlichen Sektor anzustellen. Das Protokoll sieht ebenfalls die sukzessive Abschaffung von Exportrestriktionen auf Agrarprodukte vor, welche israelische Landwirte bis dahin vor palästinensischer Konkurrenz geschützt hatten. Beim Handel zwischen den beiden Territorien sollen für keine Waren zusätzliche Steuern anfallen. Import- und Exportbeziehungen mit Drittländern stehen unter israelischer Aufsicht, unterliegen quantitativen Restriktionen und können durch die PA nicht eigenständig geregelt werden. Zudem wird eine gemeinsame Außengrenze geschaffen, die Israel und die Palästinensischen Gebiete umfasst. Israel kontrolliert diese Grenze und übernimmt die Besteuerung. Die Steuern auf Importwaren können durch Israel unilateral erhoben und geändert werden. Steuern auf Güter, die für die Palästinensischen Gebiete bestimmt sind, werden an die PA transferiert. Ebenfalls transferiert wird die Mehrwertsteuer auf palästinensische Produkte, die in Israel verkauft werden oder für den palästinensischen Markt gedacht sind. Darüber hinaus verpflichtet das Protokoll beide Seiten, den Austausch von Arbeitskräften weiterhin zu ermöglichen. Einschränkungen sind laut Protokoll bei gegebenem Anlass nur zeitlich befristet möglich – angesichts der hohen Anzahl von palästinensischen Arbeitskräften in Israel ein wichtiger Aspekt für die palästinensische Wirtschaft. Nur mit Hilfe von deren Rücküberweisungen konnte das Handelsdefizit teilweise ausgeglichen werden. Die seit 1967 durch Israel auferlegte inkomplette Zollunion wurde somit durch die Bestimmungen des Protokolls in weiten Zügen bilateral festgeschrieben.

Umsetzung Unter anderem der Ausbruch palästinensischer Gewalt während und nach den Oslo-Verhandlungen und die israelischen Reaktionen darauf unterminierten die möglichen positiven Effekte der Zollunion. Vor allem der Ausbruch der Zweiten Intifada im Jahr 2000 führte zur Errichtung zahlreicher israelischer Straßensperren und erschwerte den Verkehr von Personen und Waren innerhalb der Palästinensischen Gebiete und den Austausch mit Israel und dem Rest der Welt. Neben dem erschwerten Personen- und Warenverkehr wurde in diesem Rahmen auch die Zahl der Arbeitserlaubnisse an Palästinenser und Palästinenserinnen deutlich gesenkt. In dieser Wechselbeziehung verzichteten israelische Arbeitgeber schrittweise auf palästinensische Angestellte und ersetzten diese durch ausländische Arbeitskräfte. Arbeitserlaubnisse an Personen aus Drittländern sind alleine von 1992 bis 1996 von 4.000 auf 107.000 gestiegen. Diese Arbeitsplätze scheinen für die palästinensische Bevölkerung dauerhaft verloren zu sein. Diese Entwicklungen führten zu steigender Arbeitslosigkeit und einem deutlichen Fall des Einkommensniveaus in den Palästinensischen Gebieten. Das wirtschaftliche Ungleichgewicht zwischen Israel und den Palästinensischen Gebieten blieb aufgrund des Abkommens und des erschwerten Personen- und Warenverkehrs erhalten. Zwischen 2000 und 2008 beliefen sich die palästinensischen Importe auf 64 Prozent des BIP, die Exporte lediglich auf 10,5 Prozent des BIP. Durch die sukzessive Verdrängung der palästinensischen Bevölkerung vom israelischen Arbeitsmarkt konnten deren Rücküberweisungen das hohe Handelsdefizit nicht mehr wie in den Jahren vor 1994 weitgehend ausgleichen. An ihre Stelle sind internationale Geberländer getreten, welche die PA finanziell unterstützen. Deren Zahlungen stiegen von 2000 bis 2008 von 18 Prozent des BIP auf 58 Prozent des BIP. In dieser Situation reagieren die Palästinensischen Gebiete höchst sensibel auf Änderungen im Fluss internationaler Gelder oder auf das Zurückhalten von Steuergeldern seitens Israels als politisches Druckmittel.

Ilona-Margarita Stettner Johannes Lutz