Internship at the Country Office Palestinian Territories

Gain practical experience for your future career

Also available in Deutsch

Open internship spots (as of 10.08.2017):

01-04/2018: All spots filled
04-07/2018: All spots filled
07-12/2018: Open for applications


Thank you for your interest in the internship program at the foreign office of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) for the Palestinian Territories in Ramallah.

Your time with us will give you a unique insight into KAS’s worldwide engagement and our activities and projects in the Palestinian Territories. As an intern, you will acquire knowledge and skills, as well as exposure to the complex situation in the Palestinian Territories. The duration of the internship ranges from 8 to 12 weeks. Once completed, you will receive a report/certificate indicating the duration of and tasks completed during your internship.

Requirements:

Political interest, engagement, social and intercultural expertise, team orientation and identification with KAS’s Christian democratic values are essential requirements for successful applicants.

KAS accepts applications from recently graduated or current university or graduate students of any specialization. However, an academic background in a relevant discipline (Political Science, Economics, Law, International Relations or Middle Eastern Studies) would be beneficial.

In addition to the work in our Ramallah office, applicants should be willing to take part in various evening and weekend events organized by KAS or one of its partners. Furthermore, working in a political institution requires discretion, sensitivity and sensibility. Though the political foundation’s foreign offices do not have the same legal status as that of a diplomatic mission, we see ourselves as representative of German foreign policy. Therefore, diplomatic conduct is required of the interns and of the office.

Applicants should have very good analytical skills and an understanding of political affairs, and be able to work both independently and as team players. It is desirable that the applicants have some experience living or working abroad, preferably in an Arabic-speaking country.

For our online, social media presence, we are also looking for applicants who have some experience with photo and film editing programs.

Language Skills:

The working languages in our office are English and German. Excellent English writing and speaking language skills are absolutely necessary for external communications, report writing, and daily internal communication. Knowledge of the Arabic language is a plus but not necessary.

Office Tasks:

You can expect to engage in a diverse range of responsibilities during your internship. You will help in planning, organizing and implementing different political education measures; you will assist with delegation visits; you will conduct scientific research; and you will help in preparing political analyses. More specifically, you will provide:

  • Organizational assistance with planned and ongoing business operations
  • Participation in presentations and preparing reports
  • Support for the financial administration
  • Organizational assistance with KAS events
  • Preparation of publications together with the Head of the Office/Program Managers
  • Management of the website and other social media tools

Working Hours:

The working hours are from 8:30 and 16:30. Variations in this schedule are possible after consulting with the Head of the Office. Changes in working hours may sometimes be necessary due to KAS events.

Logistics for Successful Applicants:

Interns are responsible for all the costs of travel, accommodation and other living expenses. KAS can assist in providing information in preparation for the intern’s stay. The cost of flights amounts to around €300. Accommodation will be approximately €300 per month in addition to living expenses of around €250 per month. We recommend that you look at potential funding opportunities within your university or, for German students, the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD).

Upon entering the country, you will be given a tourist visa in Tel Aviv which will allow you to stay in Israel and the Palestinian Territories for up to three months.

Note regarding safety: The country office reserves the right to cancel an internship if there are any changes in the security situation.

Application requirements

Due to high demand on our internship vacancies, we recommend sending us your application documents via e-mail, in form of a single document, at least six months in advance of your intended stay.

Applications for an internship in our offices should include the following documents and information:

  • A motivation letter
  • A full CV
  • Academic certificates
  • Desired period for the internship

Please send your complete application to: Info.Ramallah@kas.de

We hope that we were able to answer most of your questions regarding an internship in the foreign office of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung for the Palestinian Territories. If you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Contact person

Bastian Schroeder

Program Manager

Bastian Schroeder
Phone +972 2 240 4305
Fax +972 2 240 4307
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ عربي,‎ زبان فارسی

Praktikum im Auslandsbüro Palästinensische Gebiete

Praktische Erfahrungen im Ausland sammeln, neue berufliche Perspektiven entwickeln

Auch verfügbar in English

Freie Praktikumsplätze im Auslandsbüro (Stand 10.08.2017):

01-04/2018: Alle Plätze vergeben
04-07/2018: Alle Plätze vergeben
07-12/2018: Noch keine Plätze vergeben


Wir freuen uns, dass Sie sich für ein Praktikum im Auslandsbüro der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) in Ramallah interessieren!

Der Aufenthalt bei uns soll Ihnen einen Einblick in das weltweite Engagement der KAS sowie in die entwicklungspolitische Praxis in den Palästinensischen Gebieten vermitteln. Unsere Praktikantinnen und Praktikanten ersetzen keine regulären Arbeitskräfte, sondern erwerben berufsbezogene Kenntnisse und Fertigkeiten. Die Praktikumsdauer sollte mindestens 8 Wochen umfassen. Optimal ist eine Dauer von 3 Monaten. Mit Ende des Praktikums wird ein Zeugnis/eine Bescheinigung über die Dauer des Praktikums sowie die genauen Inhalte und erledigten Aufgaben ausgestellt.

Voraussetzungen

Politisches Interesse, Loyalität, Engagement, soziale und interkulturelle Kompetenz, Teamorientierung sowie Identifizierung mit den christlich-demokratischen Werten der KAS sind wesentliche Voraussetzungen für die Mitarbeiter in unserem Büro.

Unser Praktikantenprogramm richtet sich an Studierende, die sich im fortgeschrittenen Bachelor-Studium befinden oder in einem Master-Studiengang eingeschrieben sind. Wir akzeptieren Bewerbungen von Studierenden aller Fachrichtungen. Ein akademischer Hintergrund in einer für die Stiftungsarbeit relevanten Disziplin (z.B. Politik-, Wirtschafts-, Rechts- und Islamwissenschaft/ Orientalistik) ist jedoch von Vorteil.

Neben dem Arbeiten in unserem Büro in Ramallah sollten Sie zudem bereit sein, an Abend- und Wochenendveranstaltungen der KAS sowie ihrer Partner teilzunehmen. Zudem verlangt die Arbeit einer politischen Stiftung Diskretion und Sensibilität. Auch wenn die Auslandsbüros der politischen Stiftungen rein rechtlich keine diplomatischen Vertretungen sind, verstehen wir uns als Teil der deutschen Außenpolitik. Dies setzt einen diplomatischen Umgang unseres Auslandsbüros und seiner Praktikantinnen und Praktikanten in den Palästinensischen Gebieten voraus.

Sehr gute analytische Fähigkeiten und ein Verständnis für politische Zusammenhänge setzen wir ebenso voraus, wie ein hohes Maß an Eigenständigkeit und Teamfähigkeit. Außerdem wünschenswert sind bereits gesammelte Auslandserfahrungen, am besten im arabisch-sprachigen Raum.

Für die Arbeit am Internetaufritt unseres Auslandsbüros sind Vorkenntnisse in der Nutzung verschiedener Bild- und Filmbearbeitungsprogramme sowie ein guter Umgang mit der Kamera von Vorteil.

Sprachkenntnisse

Für Außenkontakte, das Schreiben von Berichten und für die tägliche Kommunikation in unserem Büro, sind sehr gute Englischkenntnisse unbedingte Voraussetzung. Die Arbeitssprachen in unserem Büro sind Englisch und Deutsch. Für den Alltag außerhalb des Büros, aber auch für die Arbeit mit unseren palästinensischen Partnern, sind Arabischkenntnisse jedoch durchaus von Vorteil.

Aufgaben

Sie erwartet ein vielseitiges Aufgabenfeld: Sie helfen bei der Planung, Organisation und Durchführung politischer Bildungsmaßnahmen, der Betreuung von Delegationsbesuchen, führen wissenschaftliche Recherchen durch und beteiligen sich an der Erstellung politischer Analysen.

  • Organisatorische Unterstützung des laufenden Geschäftsbetriebs des Auslandsbüros
  • Teilnahme an Vortragsveranstaltungen und Erstellung von Ergebnisberichten
  • Organisatorische und inhaltliche Unterstützung von Veranstaltungen der KAS
  • Administrative Unterstützung der Organisations- und Finanzverwaltung
  • Vorbereitung von Publikationen in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Leiter/dem Programm Manager
  • Verwaltung der Website und der Social Media Auftritte

Arbeitszeiten

Ihre Arbeitszeit im Büro beträgt in der Regel 8 Stunden zwischen 08.30 und 16.30 Uhr. Abweichungen von dieser Regelung sind nach Rücksprache mit dem Leiter des Auslandsbüros möglich und können sich gelegentlich auch durch die Mitbetreuung von Veranstaltungen ergeben.

Logistik

Reise-, Unterkunfts- und Unterhaltskosten sind vom Praktikanten zu tragen. Wir unterstützen Sie jedoch bei der Vorbereitung und Planung Ihres Aufenthaltes und bei der Wohnungssuche. Die Kosten für Hin- und Rückflug betragen etwa 300 Euro, Unterkunft etwa 300 Euro/Monat und der Lebensunterhalt beträgt in etwa 250 Euro. Wir empfehlen Ihnen, sich rechtzeitig über alternative Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten, beispielsweise an Ihrer Universität oder beim DAAD, zu informieren.

Zur Einreise genügt ein einfaches Touristenvisum, das bei der Ankunft am Flughafen in Tel Aviv ausgestellt wird und zu einem 3-monatigen Aufenthalt in Israel und den Palästinensischen Gebieten berechtigt.

Sicherheitshinweis: Das Länderbüro behält es sich vor, bereits zugesagte Praktika aufgrund einer Änderung der Sicherheitslage auch kurzfristig abzusagen.

Bewerbung

Aufgrund der starken Nachfrage empfehlen wir, die Bewerbungsunterlagen circa 6 Monate vor dem gewünschten Praktikumsantritt einzureichen.

Die Bewerbung in PDF-Form sollte folgende Unterlagen und Informationen enthalten:

  • Motivationsschreiben
  • Lebenslauf
  • Angabe des gewünschten Praktikumszeitraums

Interessenten senden ihre vollständigen Bewerbungsunterlagen via E-Mail bitte an: Info.Ramallah@kas.de

Wir hoffen, dass wir mit diesen Informationen die meisten Ihrer Fragen zu einem Praktikum im Auslandsbüro der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung für die Palästinensischen Gebiete beantworten konnten. Zögern Sie nicht, uns bei weiteren Fragen zu kontaktieren.

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung!

Ansprechpartner

Bastian Schroeder

Programm-Manager

Bastian Schroeder
Tel. +972 2 240 4305
Fax +972 2 240 4307
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ عربي,‎ زبان فارسی