Gaza Sky Geeks: International Hackathon in the Gaza Strip

Also available in Deutsch

In cooperation with the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, Gaza Sky Geeks held the first Lady Problems-Hackathon in the Gaza Strip with the goal of promoting entrepreneurship for women.

Image 1 of 2
Gaza Sky Geeks Hackathon

Gaza Sky Geeks Hackathon

The local Start-Up accelerator Gaza Sky Geeks organized a three day long Hackathon in the Gaza Strip on the 1st of December 2016 in cooperation with Angel Hack and the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung. Such hackathons include the testing and developing of IT-solutions by designers, coders and young entrepreneurs as well as a general sharing of work experiences. The aim of the international hackathon series Lady Problems was to break barriers for entrepreneurship of young women and to promote their economic participation. While hackathons typically have a women rate of 20%, the Gaza Sky Geeks hackathon was attended almost exclusively by women.

While there are high cultural, social, economic and also political barriers in the blocked coast strip, the high number of female coders reflects the diversity of the start-up- and tech-scene of Gaza. The area has an official unemployment rate of 45% and over two thirds of the population is below the age 24. This youth tends to be well educated and there are many technical students. Thus, the potential for start-ups is high, the obstacles, however, are too.

In this difficult environment Gaza Sky Geeks is promoting young start-up companies. The organization received a 900.000 US-Dollar loan from Google when being founded in 2011. As of late, the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung is among Gaza Sky Geek’s partners. Up to 60 women and men work every day on new ideas regarding apps. The main focus of the organization is its mentorship-program, which pairs up local entrepreneurs with international start-up experts. Apart from that, the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung is arranging internships for young entrepreneurs from Gaza in German companies.

For some time the targeted promotion of women became the focus of Gaza Sky Geeks. So far, half of the start-up founders supported by Gaza Sky Geeks are female. The goal is to increase the number of female start-up entrepreneurs to 80% in order to compensate for the gender gap within the tech-sector.

The idea behind the particular promotion of IT-start-ups is the fact, that those companies are not dependent on borders. The physical blockade of the Gaza Strip as well as the restrictive import of goods makes it hard to found a company in Gaza. However, hacker and coder are able to work on ideas and solutions beyond borders. Meanwhile, even the Silicon Valley has taken an interest in the tech-start-up scene in Gaza. Tech-gurus from Google, SoundCloud, Microsoft and other big players of the industry have visited the Gaza Strip to get first hand impressions of the local start-up scene. The hackathon therefore created positive feedback from the Gaza Strip, the Arab world as well as from the international tech-industry.

Our partner Gaza Sky Geeks also published a video about the event:

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Palestinian Territories, December 20, 2016

Gaza Sky Geeks: Internationaler Hackathon im Gazastreifen

Auch verfügbar in English

In Kooperation mit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung veranstaltete Gaza Sky Geeks den ersten Lady Problems-Hackathon im Gazastreifen mit dem Anliegen, Unternehmertum von Frauen zu fördern.

Bild 1 von 2
Gaza Sky Geeks Hackathon

Gaza Sky Geeks Hackathon

Am 1. Dezember 2016 organisierte der lokale Start-Up-Förderer Gaza Sky Geeks in Kooperation mit Angel Hack und der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung einen dreitägigen Hackathon im Gazastreifen. Bei solchen Treffen entwickeln und testen Designer, Coder und Jungunternehmer IT-Lösungen und tauschen sich über ihre Arbeit aus. Ziel der internationalen Hackathon-Reihe Lady Problems war es, Barrieren für das Unternehmertum junger Frauen zu durchbrechen und deren Teilhabe am Wirtschaftsleben zu fördern. Während Hackathons durchschnittlich eine Frauenquote von circa 20% haben, nahmen beim Sky Geeks Hackathon fast ausschließlich Frauen teil.

Entgegen kultureller, sozialer, wirtschaftlicher und nicht zuletzt auch politischer Barrieren in dem abgeriegelten Küstenstreifen, verdeutlicht die hohe Anzahl weiblicher Coder die Diversität der Start-Up- und Tech-Szene Gazas. Das Gebiet hat eine offizielle Arbeitslosigkeit von 45%, über zwei Drittel der Bevölkerung sind unter 24 Jahre alt. Diese Jugend ist in der Regel gut ausgebildet und es gibt viele Technik-Studenten. Das Potential für Start-Ups ist daher besonders hoch, die Hürden angesichts der humanitären Situation allerdings auch.

In diesem schwierigen Umfeld unterstützt Gaza Sky Geeks junge Start-Up-Unternehmen im Gazastreifen. Die Organisation wurde bei ihrer Gründung 2011 von Google mit 900.000 US-Dollar Startkapital unterstützt. Seit kurzem zählt auch die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung zu Gaza Sky Geeks Partnern. Bis zu 60 Frauen und Männer arbeiten bei Gaza Sky Geeks jeden Tag an neuen Ideen rund um Apps. Das Hauptaugenmerkt der Organisation liegt auf dem Mentorship-Programm, das lokale Jungunternehmer mit internationalen Start-Up-Experten vernetzt. Daneben vermittelt die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung Praktika in deutschen Unternehmen an Jungunternehmer aus Gaza.

Seit einiger Zeit ist die gezielte Förderung von Frauen in den Mittelpunkt von Gaza Sky Geeks gerückt. Mittlerweile sind die Hälfte aller von Gaza Sky Geeks geförderten Start-Up Gründer weiblich. Um die Gender-Kluft innerhalb der Tech-Branche zu kompensieren, soll die Zahl der geförderten Unternehmerinnen in Gaza auf 80% steigen.

Die Idee hinter der gezielten Förderung von IT-Start-Ups ist, dass diese nicht von Grenzen abhängig sind. Die physische Blockade des Gazastreifens sowie der restriktive Güterimport an den Grenzübergängen macht es schwer, ein Unternehmen in Gaza zu gründen. Hacker und Coder können jedoch über Grenzen hinweg an Ideen und Lösungen arbeiten. Mittlerweile hat die Tech-Start-Up Szene Gazas auch das Interesse des Silicon Valley geweckt. Tech-Gurus von Google, SoundCloud, Microsoft und anderen Größen der Branche haben den Gazastreifen besucht, um sich ein Bild von der dortigen Start-Up Szene zu machen. Der Hackathon rief daher insgesamt große Resonanz im Gazastreifen, der arabischen Welt aber auch in der internationalen Tech-Branche hervor.

Unser Partner Gaza Sky Geeks hat außerdem ein Video zu der Veranstaltung hochgeladen:

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Palästinensische Gebiete, 20. Dezember 2016