Federalism in Focus

Delegation from the Philippines visits Berlin

September 25 Sunday

Date/time

September 25 - October 1 2016

Loc.

Berlin, Germany

Type

Study and Information Program

A Philippine delegation, composed of lawmakers, political practitioners, and the media, met with Germany’s members of Parliament, practitioners, policymakers, etc. to comprehend the workings of one of the best models of federalism, Germany.

Also available in Deutsch

This study tour, from September 25, 2016 to October 1, 2016, combined knowledge dissemination with actual on the ground experience. Other issues, which fit into the broader Philippine reform agenda, are the parliamentary system of government, party law and political party financing, and the role of parties as democratic institutions.

In discussing the workings of federalism in Germany, the study tour aimed to help its participants serve as information conduits or federalism ambassadors to the Philippines in realistically implementing the specific details of federalism in the country, in particular, intergovernmental relations between the states and the federation and among the states. Moreover, the Philippine delegation could determine what parts of German federalism would work and what would not work within the Philippine context.

The intended outcomes were achieved, as the study tour increased the knowledge of the participants through first-hand experiences of federalism in Germany. The meetings and discussions provided the intended added value and expertise on federalism and reform that can now be translated to outcomes for the constitutional reform in the Philippines.

Philippine Delegation in German Bundestag
Philippine Delegation in German Bundesrat
Philippine Delegation with Mr. Kaster
Philippine Delegation with Dr. Schüler
Philippine Delegation

Contact person

Tonette de Jesus

Senior Program Manager

Tonette de Jesus
Phone +63 2 894 3737

Föderalismus im Fokus

Philippinische Delegation besucht Berlin

September 25 Sonntag

Datum/Uhrzeit

25. September – 1. Oktober 2016

Ort

Berlin, Deutschland

Typ

Studien- und Informationsprogramm

Eine philippinische Delegation bestehend aus Abgeordneten, Politikern, Experten und Journalisten war auf Einladung der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung vom 25. September 2016 bis zum 1. Oktober 2016 in Deutschland.

Auch verfügbar in English

Das Ziel der Studienreise war es, ein besseres Verständnis und praktische Erfahrungen des deutschen Föderalismus zu erwerben. Weitere Themen, die für die aktuelle philippinische Reformagenda von Interesse waren, waren das parlamentarische Regierungssystem, das Parteienrecht, die Parteienfinanzierung und die Rolle der Parteien als demokratische Institutionen.

Auf den Philippinen, wo derzeit die Einführung föderaler Strukturen angestrebt wird, schaut man mit großem Interesse auf das deutsche Modell des Föderalismus. Ziel der Studienreise war es darum, dass die Teilnehmer das in Deutschland erworbene Wissen in den philippinischen Reformprozess einbringen können. Im Fokus der Reise nach Berlin und Potsdam standen die Beziehungen und Prozesse zwischen den Bundesländern und der Bundesregierung sowie unter den Bundesländern selbst. Des Weiteren, konnte die philippinische Delegation sehen, welche Bestandteile des deutschen Föderalismus in ihrer Heimat anwendbar wären und welche nicht.

Das Ziel der Reise wurde vollends erreicht, da die Teilnehmer in direktem Kontakt mit Experten Neues über den deutschen Föderalismus lernen konnten. Das gewonnene Know-How, das in zahlreichen Gesprächen im Bundestag, im Bundesrat, der Zentrale der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung und im Austausch mit Experten erlangt wurde, kann nun in den Diskurs zur Verfassungsreform auf den Philippinen einfließen.

Philippine Delegation in German Bundestag
Philippine Delegation in German Bundesrat
Philippine Delegation with Mr. Kaster
Philippine Delegation with Dr. Schüler
Philippine Delegation in Berlin, Germany

Ansprechpartner

Tonette de Jesus

Programm-Managerin

Tonette de Jesus
Tel. +63 2 894 3737