Manual on Political Party Management and Local Party Work

Also available in Deutsch

The political entity that will one day be called the Bangsamoro needs democrats to make it work. Regardless of whether the future will bring a new autonomous region or a federal region – the fate and well-being of the people depends on their ability to govern themselves.

In order to acquire that ability, it is not enough to merely elect officials or simply run for office. Self-determined, meaningful politics calls for a mature and active civil society. After all, the meaning of the word democracy implies that the people rule, the many – not the few.

The EU-funded project “Democratic Party Development Bangsamoro” provides the knowledge and the skills to become an active part of politics. Genuine, democratic, membership-based political parties establish the breeding ground for fair and active civil society participation in public decision-making. Therefore, this publication elaborates on the foundations of political parties itself, on how to build and run organizations that shall have a meaningful impact on politics in Mindanao. Konrad-Adenauer- Stiftung and the Institute for Autonomy and Governance (as the implementing organizations of this project) hope to contribute to lasting peace in Mindanao through our efforts in civic education and political party building. We aim to provide the tools to build vehicles for political pluralism, fair competition and, eventually, a better future for the people of the Bangsamoro.

Authors

Benedikt Seemann, Atty Benedicto Bacani

published

Philippines, March 24, 2017

Handbuch zum Partei-Management und Parteiarbeit vor Ort

Auch verfügbar in English

Das Gebiet im Süden der Philippinen, das künftig die Region Bangsamoro bilden wird, braucht Demokraten um Demokratie in dieser Region auch leben zu können. Ganz gleich was die Zukunft bringen wird, sei es eine Autonomieregion Bangsamoro eine oder ein Bundesland, das Schicksal dieses Vorhabens hängt von der Fähigkeit der Menschen sich selbst zu regieren ab.

Um hierbei Erfolg zu haben, reicht es nicht aus, offizielle Vertreter*innen zu wählen oder für ein Amt zu kandidieren. Selbstbestimmte, bedeutsame Politik braucht eine mündige und aktive Zivilgesellschaft. Denn: Demokratie bedeutet die "Herrschaft des Volkes".

Das von der Europäischen Union geförderte Projekt „Democratic Party Development Bangsamoro“ (DEPAdev) stellt das Rüstzeug und die Fähigkeiten für eine aktive Politikbeteiligung der Bevölkerung zur Verfügung. Echte, demokratische, Mitglieder-basierte politische Parteien bilden die Grundsäulen für eine faire und aktive zivilgesellschaftliche Beteiligung bei der politischen Entscheidungsfindung. Somit beschäftigt sich diese Publikation mit der Gründung einer demokratischen politischen Partei und deren Aufbau und Führung. Dabei wird aufgezeigt, welche Elemente benötigt werden, um nachhaltigen Einfluss auf die Politik in Mindanao zu haben. Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung und das Institute for Autonomy and Governance (als die implementierenden Organisationen des Projektes) hoffen durch ihre Arbeit im Bereich der politischen Bildung und politischer Parteien einen Teil zum Frieden in Mindanao beigetragen zu haben. Sie stellen die politischen Instrumente zur Verfügung, um politischen Pluralismus, einen fairen Wettkampf und eventuell eine bessere Zukunft für die Menschen in Bangsamoro zu ermöglichen.

Autoren

Benedikt Seemann, Atty Benedicto Bacani

erschienen

Philippinen, 24. März 2017