Libya Brief

Facts and analysis on a country in transition

Also available in Deutsch

The short Libya Briefs offer facts and analyses on recent developments in and around Libya. They present the results of activities done by the Regional Program with opinions and analysis from experts within the foundation’s network about key issues concerning security, governance, and conflict resolution in the Libyan theatre.

The Fight Over Libya's Oil

Libya's oil crescent has been shaken by clashes between militias and the forces of Khalifa Haftar. This is not the first time that the Gulf of Sidra becomes the scene of Libyan power struggles. The recent developments around the two oil terminals Ras Lanuf and El-Sidr showcase the fragmented political and economic conditions in Libya, which are exacerbated by the parallel structures in West and East. The publication is in German. Read more...

An Assessment of the International Conference on Libya

Following the initiative of French President Emmanuel Macron, an international conference on Libya took place in Paris on 29 May 2018, in an effort to advance the political unification and reconciliation process in the country. The conference was held under the patronage of the UN Special Envoy to Libya. Macron had previously brought together two Libyan key players in France. The French initiative is widely understood as a clear message that France wants to take the lead in the stabilization of Libya. The publication is in German. Read more...

Oil, Banks, and Governance: Economic Realities in a Divided Libya

In Libya, the economy is obstructed by continuing violent conflict and political uncertainty. Inflation accelerated, the black market is thriving and the future challenges are manifold. Many efforts – including specific policies and economic orientations - have been developed by Libya’s political authorities, in the East and in the West, to try and limit the effects of economic problems on the society. However, results remain limited so far. This Libya Brief provides an analysis of the Libyan economy and provides constructive recommendations. Read more...

The Caliphate is Dead, Long Live the Caliphate

After the collapse of the so-called Islamic State in the coastal city of Sirte in December 2016, this brief analyzes what impact the fall of the Libyan offshoot of the "caliphate" will have on the stability of the region and the future of jihadism in North Africa. The publication is in German. Read more...

The new UN Action Plan for Libya: An End to the Crisis?

The new Special Representative of the UN Secretary-General on Libya SRSG Dr. Ghassan Salamé presented a new three-stage UN Action Plan to unify and pacify the war-torn country. This short Libya Brief outlines the UN initiative and evaluates its chances of success. The publication is in German. Read more...

Security and Stability in Libya: The Way Forward

Due to the pressing issues and challenges brought by Libya’s instability and its consequences on both the country and its neighborhood, the KAS Regional Program South Mediterranean and the Madrid-based think tank Stractegia organized an expert workshop dedicated to the security situation in Libya and the way and means that are required to overcome obstacles to reconciliation and peace. Read more...

State legitimacy and local governance in Libya

Instability, insecurity, war and political divisions have been prevailing in Libya for almost six years. In this situation, Libya’s successive governments have failed to address the population’s basic needs. As a result, many Libyans turned their heads towards local governments, adding to internal divisions. To contribute to this understanding, the KAS Regional Program South Mediterranean in cooperation with the Madrid-based think tank Stractegia organized a conference on state legitimacy and local governance in Libya in the current peace process. Read more...

Libya Brief 7

The recent Libya Brief covers the fight over oil in Libya.

Contact person

Dr. Canan Atilgan

Director Regional Program Political Dialogue South Mediterranean

Dr. Canan Atilgan
Phone +216 70 02 94 60
Fax +216 71 96 23 81
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Türkçe,‎ русский,‎ Français

Simon Engelkes

Project Coordinator

Simon Engelkes
Phone +216 70 02 94 60
Fax +216 71 96 23 81
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ عربي

Libya Brief

Fakten und Analysen zu einem Land im Umbruch

Auch verfügbar in English

Die Libyen-Briefs bieten Fakten und Analysen zu aktuellen Entwicklungen in und um Libyen. Sie präsentieren Ergebnisse aus Maßnahmen des Regionalprogramms Südliches Mittelmeer mit Meinungen und Analysen von Experten aus dem Netzwerk der Stiftung zu den Schwerpunktthemen Sicherheit, Governance und Konfliktbewältigung in Libyen.

Der Machtkampf um Libyens Öl

Bewaffnete Kämpfe zwischen Milizen und den Truppen von Khalifa Haftar haben den libyschen Öl-Halbmond erschüttert. Es ist nicht das erste Mal, dass die Küste am Golf von Sidra zum Schauplatz für libysche Machtkämpfe wird. Die jüngsten Entwicklungen um die beiden Öl-Terminals Ras Lanuf und El-Sidr sind exemplarisch für die fragmentierten politischen und wirtschaftlichen Verhältnisse in Libyen, die sich durch die parallelen Strukturen in West und Ost weiter verschärfen. Lesen Sie hier mehr...

Eine Einschätzung der Pariser Konferenz zu Libyen

Auf Initiative des französischen Präsidenten Emmanuel Macron fand in Paris am 29. Mai 2018 eine internationale Konferenz zu Libyen statt, um den politischen Einigungsprozess voranzubringen. Die Konferenz stand unter der Schirmherrschaft des UN-Sondergesandten für Libyen. Zuvor hatte Macron bereits zwei der libyschen Akteure in Frankreich zusammengeführt. Grundsätzlich wird der französische Vorstoß als klare Botschaft verstanden, dass Frankreich die Führungsrolle bei der Stabilisierung Libyens übernehmen will. Lesen Sie hier mehr...

Oil, Banks, and Governance: Wirtschaftliche Realitäten in einem geteilten Libyen

Ungeachtet beschränkter Verbesserungen liegt die libysche Wirtschaft noch immer weit hinter ihrem Potenzial, welches durch anhaltende gewalttätige Konflikte und politische Unsicherheit behindert wird. Bemühungen der politischen Verantwortlichen im Osten und Westen des Landes zeigen bisher nur begrenzt Erfolg. Die Inflation hat sich beschleunigt, der Schwarzmarkt floriert und die zukünftigen Herausforderungen für die libysche Wirtschaft sind vielfältig. Lesen Sie hier mehr...

Das Kalifat ist tot, lang lebe das Kalifat

Nach der Zerschlagung des „Islamischen Staates“ in der Küstenstadt Sirte im Dezember 2016 stellt sich die Frage, welche Auswirkungen der Fall des libyschen „Kleinkalifats“ auf die Stabilität der Region und die Zukunft des Dschihadismus in Nordafrika haben wird. Dieses Kurzdossier skizziert in drei Szenarien mögliche Entwicklungen bezüglich der Zerstreuung von IS-Kämpfern im Anschluss an die massiven Gebietsverluste der Gruppe entlang der libyschen Küste. Lesen Sie hier mehr...

Der neue UN-Aktionsplan für Libyen: Ein Weg aus der Krise?

Eines der größten Probleme Libyens ist der Mangel an stabilen und funktionierenden staatlichen Strukturen. Statt Recht und Ordnung bestimmen Unberechenbarkeit und Unsicherheit den Lebensalltag vieler Libyer. Ende September stellte der neue UN-Sondergesandte für Libyen, Dr. Ghassan Salamé, einen dreistufigen Aktionsplan vor, der das Land vereinen und befrieden soll. Wie sind die Aussichten auf Erfolg? Lesen Sie hier mehr...

Security and Stability in Libya: The Way Forward

Um aktuelle Fragen und Herausforderung durch Instabilität in Libyen und notwendige Reformen des Sicherheitssektors des Landes zu diskutieren, veranstalteten das KAS Regionalprogramm Südliches Mittelmeer gemeinsam mit dem Think Tank Stractegia einen Expertenworkshop, in dessen Rahmen mit libyschen Experten die notwendigen Schritte hin zu Stabilität und Sicherheit in Libyen erörtert wurden. Lesen Sie hier mehr...

State legitimacy and local governance in Libya

Andauernde politische Instabilität, angespannte Sicherheitslage und politische Spaltung kennzeichnen die Situation in Libyen seit nun fast sechs Jahren. Viele Libyer wenden sich in anbetracht der handlungsscheuen Regierungen an Lokalverwaltungen und andere lokale Akteure, die in dieser Situation ein gewisses Maß an Sicherheit und Versorgung bereitstellen können. Dies verschärft die Spaltung des Landes und erodiert die Legitimität der Zentralregierung. Um zu diesem Verständnis der Situation beizutragen, organisierte das Regionalprogramm Südliches Mittelmeer in Zusammenarbeit mit dem spanischen Think Tank Stractegia eine Konferenz. Lesen Sie hier mehr...

Libya Brief 7

Der jüngste Libya Brief behandelt den Kampf um Libyens Öl.

Ansprechpartner

Dr. Canan Atilgan

Leiterin Regionalprogramm Politischer Dialog Südliches Mittelmeer/Tunis

Dr. Canan Atilgan
Tel. +216 70 02 94 60
Fax +216 71 96 23 81
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Türkçe,‎ русский,‎ Français

Simon Engelkes

Projektkoordinator

Simon Engelkes
Tel. +216 70 02 94 60
Fax +216 71 96 23 81
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ عربي