Mediterranean Advisory Group

A Network of Euro-Mediterranean Experts

Also available in Deutsch

The KAS Regional Program Political Dialogue South Mediterranean has launched the Mediterranean Advisory Group (MAG) as a series of dialogue rounds to contribute to the strategic debate on the ongoing processes in Europe’s Mediterranean neighborhood to help in better coping with the various changes and challenges. MAG is a network of experts and practitioners from both shores of the Mediterranean, which reviews and analyzes developments in the region connected to security, foreign policy and migration. The meetings take place on a bi-annual basis and are held alternately in Europe and in the southern Mediterranean region. The findings and recommendations of MAG are intended to inform decision-makers and are published regularly in the Mediterranean Dialogue Series.

Options for Cooperative Security Solutions in North Africa

MAG Meeting 2/2017

Security challenges in the Maghreb-Sahel belt are becoming ever more pressing. While collective security schemes falter in the face of regional and global rivalries, ad hoc cooperative security arrangements are on the rise. Experts discussed what forms of security cooperation can be conceived that avoid the pitfalls of well-known political obstacles that traditional schemes have been struggling to overcome. Read more...

Russia in the Mediterranean: Strategies and Aspirations

MAG Meeting 1/2017

The regional balance in the Mediterranean has been changing over the last years, with uncertainty regarding US involvement, the role of regional actors and increasingly also Russia’s presence in the region. During a closed-door expert workshop in Tunis, participants discussed Russian aspirations in the Mediterranean and the geopolitical implications of its engagement. Read more...

Power Beyond the State: Non-State Actors in the Broader Southern Mediterranean

MAG Meeting 2/2016

Arab states today face a situation in which their weak institutions are besieged by a myriad of newly empowered non-state actors. Spanning across widely diverse groupings, from peaceful political and social grassroots movements to violent extremists, non-state actors put pressure on the flawed Arab state by demanding accountability, justice, revolutionary change. Experts from MENA and Europe discussed non-state actors in the south Mediterranean. Read more...

Logo der Mediterranean Dialogue Series

Logo der Mediterranean Dialogue Series

Contact person

Dr. Canan Atilgan

Director Regional Program Political Dialogue South Mediterranean

Dr. Canan Atilgan
Phone +216 70 02 94 60
Fax +216 71 96 23 81
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Türkçe,‎ русский,‎ Français

Veronika Ertl

Research Associate

Veronika Ertl
Phone +216 70 02 94 60
Fax +216 71 96 23 81
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français

Mediterranean Advisory Group

Ein euro-mediterranes Expertennetzwerk

Auch verfügbar in English

Das KAS-Regionalprogramm Südliches Mittelmeer hat die Mediterranean Advisory Group (MAG) als eine Dialogplattform ins Leben gerufen, um zu der strategischen Debatte um die andauernden Prozesse in Europa’s Mittelmeernachbarn beizutragen und zu helfen, auf den Wandel und die Herausforderungen in der Region angemessen zu reagieren. MAG ist ein Netzwerk aus Experten und Praktikern von beiden Küsten des Mittelmeeres, das die Entwicklungen in den Bereichen Sicherheit, Außenpolitik und Migration in der Region bespricht und analysiert. Die Treffen finden zweimal jährlich in Europa und einem Land des südlichen Mittelmeers statt. Die Ergebnisse und Handlungsempfehlungen der MAG sollen Entscheidungsträger informieren und werden regelmäßig in der Mediterranean Dialogue Series veröffentlicht.

Options for Cooperative Security Solutions in North Africa

MAG-Treffen 2/2017

Expertenworkshop zu aktuellen sicherheitspolitischen Herausforderungen in Nordafrika und den Herausforderungen und Potenzialen von Sicherheitskooperation in der Region, mit der EU und anderen internationalen Akteuren in diesem Kontext. Lesen Sie mehr...

Russia in the Mediterranean: Strategies and Aspirations

MAG-Treffen 1/2017

Das Machtgleichgewicht im Mittelmeerraum hat sich in den letzten Jahren im Kontext zunehmender Unsicherheit über die US-Präsenz in der Region, der Rolle regionaler Akteure und verstärkt auch der Aktivitäten Russlands entscheidend verändert. Experten der MAG diskutierten die geopolitischen Dynamiken im Mittelmeerraum im Kontext der Interessen und Aktivitäten Russlands in der Region. Lesen Sie mehr...

Power Beyond the State: Non-State Actors in the Broader Southern Mediterranean

MAG-Treffen 2/2016

Durch Forderungen nach Gerechtigkeit, Verantwortlichkeit und revolutionärem Wandel setzen nicht-staatliche Akteure - von friedlichen politischen und sozialen Graswurzelbewegungen bis hin zu gewaltbereiten extremistischen Gruppierungen - die problembeladenen politischen Systeme der arabischen Welt unter Druck. Experten der MAG beleuchteten die Dynamiken zwischen staatlichen und nicht-staatlichen Akteuren in der Mittelmeerregion. Lesen Sie mehr...

Logo der Mediterranean Dialogue Series

Logo der Mediterranean Dialogue Series

Ansprechpartner

Dr. Canan Atilgan

Leiterin Regionalprogramm Politischer Dialog Südliches Mittelmeer/Tunis

Dr. Canan Atilgan
Tel. +216 70 02 94 60
Fax +216 71 96 23 81
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Türkçe,‎ русский,‎ Français

Veronika Ertl

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

Veronika Ertl
Tel. +216 70 02 94 60
Fax +216 71 96 23 81
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français