Options for Cooperative Security Solutions in North Africa

Mediterranean Advisory Group Meeting

Also available in Deutsch

Expert workshop on current developments in the field of cooperative security provision in North Africa

Image 1 of 9
Cooperative Security Solutions

f.l.t.r.: Dr. Anouar Boukhars, McDaniel College; Dr. Canan Atilgan, KAS Regional Program South Mediterranean; Intissar Fakir, Carnegie Endowment

With security challenges in the Maghreb and Sahel becoming ever more pressing and collective security schemes being weakened through shifts in regional and global political relations, ad hoc cooperative arrangements have come to play an increasingly important role. These shifts from traditional schemes and organizations to new forms of cooperative security provision were discussed in the framework of the Mediterranean Advisory Group with additional experts from Europe and the US in a closed-door workshop from 12-14 October in Cadenabbia.

Based on an analysis of current security risks in North Africa, above all the spill-over of instability from Libya to neighboring countries through the spread of militant extremism as well as contraband and organized crime, the experts discussed the ability of traditional security providers, such as the African Union, NATO and the EU, to adequately tackle these challenges. In all three cases, a lack of either political will, financial capacities or clear strategic direction was cited as obstacle for stronger engagement in North Africa. Political disagreements between states were furthermore discussed as decisively hindering stronger, unified positions by these organizations and thus as limiting their role as reliable security providers in North Africa.

With this unwillingness or inability of traditional organizations to act as strong security providers, the rising importance of ad-hoc security alliances and new arrangements around specific issues was highlighted. Within North Africa and the Sahel, both Morocco and Algeria have been aiming to position themselves as reliable partners for security provision in order to strengthen their regional power positions. Political animosities and frozen conflicts such as the Western Sahara issue however remain an obstacle for the advancement of regional security provision. It was remarked that traditional institutionalized security responses through multilateral organizations have become less relevant in North Africa, particularly in their role as first responders. Nevertheless these organizations still bring in the necessary weight for long-term stabilization of the region. In order to play a continued important role, it is however necessary for these organizations to better understand bilateral and sub-regional mechanisms in the sphere of security provision.

The role of the US and Russia for security provision in North Africa was furthermore discussed. Russia’s engagement can be seen as taking advantage of the weaknesses of Western strategy – particularly the current US vacuum in the region – and as part of the Russian strategy to position itself as important power player vis-à-vis Western powers, making the Mediterranean increasingly a focus of its efforts. In the absence of an overarching regional MENA policy of the White House, North Africa remains nevertheless an important theatre for the US, with experts even predicting an eventual shift of the US focus from the Pacific to Africa due to multiple factors that require a stronger and sustained US presence, such as demographic development and the repercussions for economic development and migration movements in Africa. From an Arab perspective, the fight against violent extremism and jihadism was emphasized as key issue for security provision in the wider region that has to be advanced through bi- and multilateral security cooperation, but also economic, social and political reform.

The current tendency away from established multilateral organizations towards more ad hoc and issue-specific cooperative security arrangements was analyzed and discussed during the workshop and a continuance of this tendency predicted. Looking beyond security provision, experts stressed the importance of also moving beyond the topics of terrorism and migration in North Africa and to deepen efforts to foster economic development as basis for a lasting stabilization of the region.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Tunisia, October 31, 2017

Options for Cooperative Security Solutions in North Africa

Treffen der Mediterranean Advisory Group

Auch verfügbar in English

Experten-Workshop zu aktuellen Entwicklungen bezüglich kooperativer Sicherheitslösungen in Nordafrika

Bild 1 von 9
Cooperative Security Solutions

v.l.n.r.: Dr. Anouar Boukhars, McDaniel College; Dr. Canan Atilgan, KAS Regionalprogramm Südliches Mittelmeer; Intissar Fakir, Carnegie Endowment

Mit steigender Dringlichkeit von Sicherheitsherausforderungen im Maghreb und in der Sahelzone sowie der wachsenden Instabilität in Folge von Verschiebungen innerhalb der regionalen und globalen politischen Machtverhältnisse spielen kooperative Ad-Hoc-Vereinbarungen zunehmend eine wichtige Rolle für regionale Sicherheit. Die Verschiebungen von traditionellen Sicherheitsordnungen hin zu neuen Formen kooperativer Sicherheitsbereitstellung wurden im Rahmen eines Treffens der Mediterranean Advisory Group vom 12. bis zum 14. Oktober in Cadenabbia von Experten aus Europa, den USA und der Mittelmeerregion diskutiert.

Aufbauend auf einer Analyse der aktuellen Sicherheitsrisiken in Nordafrika – allen voran den Auswirkungen der instabilen Lage in Libyen auf seine Nachbarstaaten durch die Ausbreitung extremistischer Gruppierungen sowie Schmuggel und organisierter Kriminalität – diskutierten die Experten die Möglichkeiten traditioneller Sicherheitsanbieter wie der Afrikanischen Union, NATO und EU, um diesen Herausforderungen angemessen zu begegnen. Experten nannten fehlenden politischen Willen, ungenügende finanzielle Kapazitäten oder unzureichende strategische Richtungsentscheidungen als Hindernisse für ein stärkeres Engagement dieser Organisationen in Nordafrika. Außerdem wurden politische Unstimmigkeiten zwischen Staaten als Faktoren genannt, die die Abstimmung einheitlicher Positionen innerhalb dieser Institutionen behindern und deren Rolle als nachhaltige Sicherheitsanbieter in Nordafrika beschränken.

Diese fehlende Bereitschaft oder mangelnde Kapazitäten von traditionellen Organisationen um sich als starke Sicherheitsanbieter zu etablieren, zeigt die steigende Relevanz von Ad-Hoc-Sicherheitsallianzen und neuen Arrangements. Innerhalb Nordafrika und der Sahelzone versuchen sowohl Marokko als auch Algerien, sich als zuverlässige Partner für die Bereitstellung von Sicherheit zu positionieren, um ihre jeweilige regionale Machtposition zu stärken. Politische Feindseligkeiten und eingefrorene Konflikte wie die Frage nach der Unabhängigkeit der Westsahara bleiben jedoch ein Hindernis für Fortschritte bezüglich regionaler Sicherheitskooperation. Es wurde angemerkt, dass traditionelle institutionalisierte Sicherheitsmechanismen multilateraler Organisationen in Nordafrika zwar weniger relevant geworden sind, insbesondere in Bezug auf ihre Rolle als Ersthelfer, diese Organisationen jedoch noch immer das nötige Gewicht für eine langfristige Stabilisierung der Region liefern. Um auch weiterhin eine wichtige Rolle zu spielen, ist es jedoch notwendig ein besseres Verständnis bilateraler und subregionaler Mechanismen im Bereich der Sicherheitsversorgung unerlässlich.

Ferner wurden die Rolle der USA und Russlands im Bereich der Sicherheitsversorgung in Nordafrika erörtert. Russlands Engagement kann als Ausnutzung der Schwächen der Strategie des Westens angesehen werden – insbesondere des derzeitigen US-Vakuums in der Region – und als Teil der russischen Strategie, sich als wichtiger Machtakteur gegenüber westlichen Mächten zu positionieren und das Mittelmeer zunehmend zu ein Schwerpunkt seiner Bemühungen zu machen. Trotz einer fehlenden übergeordneten regionalen MENA-Politik des Weißen Hauses bleibt Nordafrika dennoch ein wichtiges Theater für die USA. Experten sagen sogar eine mögliche Verlagerung des US-Fokus vom Pazifik auf Afrika voraus aufgrund vieler Faktoren, die eine stärkere und anhaltende US-Präsenz erfordern, wie die demografische Entwicklung und die Auswirkungen auf die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung und Migration in und aus Afrika. Aus einer arabischen Perspektive wurde während des Workshops die Bekämpfung von gewaltbereitem Extremismus und Dschihadismus als Schlüsselfrage für die Sicherheitsversorgung in der gesamten Region hervorgehoben, die durch bi- und multilaterale Sicherheitszusammenarbeit, aber auch wirtschaftliche, soziale und politische Reformen, vorangebracht werden muss.

Der derzeitige Trend weg von etablierten multilateralen Organisationen hin zu ad-hoc und themenspezifischen kooperativen Sicherheitsarrangements wurde während des Workshops analysiert und diskutiert. Die Experten sagten diesbezüglich eine Fortsetzung dieser Tendenz vorher. Über die Sicherheitsvorkehrungen hinaus betonten die Diskutanten, dass es wichtig sei, auch über die Themen Terrorismus und Migration in Nordafrika hinauszugehen und die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung als Grundlage für eine dauerhafte Stabilisierung der Region zu vertiefen.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Tunesien, 31. Oktober 2017