MENA Business Angel Focus Camp

Also available in Deutsch

Focus camp to inspire and enable investors to contribute to a thriving regional startup ecosystem through the provision of the fundamental knowledge on investing in the MENA startup scene.

Image 1 of 9
MENA Business Angel Focus Camp

Participants listen to Tim Draper after the Startup Istanbul conference.

A lack of seed and early stage funding is one of the key challenges for startups in the MENA region. Additionally, many MENA entrepreneurs find their efforts hampered by legal and logistical roadblocks and 65 percent of entrepreneurs lack strategic planning and decision making skills. To facilitate an understanding of the startup ecosystem and to inspire entrepreneurs to invest in newly emerged, fast-growing business ventures, Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung’s Regional Program South Mediterranean organized and hosted a focus camp from 20-24 October 2017 in Istanbul.

The aim of the seminar was to inspire and train investors in the MENA region to utilize their wealth and experience for nurturing promising ventures that have the potential to promote economic development on a national level while facilitating access to seed funding for small startups. During three days of workshops and visits to the Startup Istanbul conference, the Regional Office trained a motivated group of inspired Business Angels by providing them with the fundamental knowledge required to understand developments and the selection criteria of the regional startup scene.

Business Angels (BA) are instrumental for the seed funding rounds. They provide startups with “smart money” since funding is coupled with mentoring and connections. BA’s funding is a great way to connect the classical private sector with innovation and offers BAs themselves the possibility to diversify their investments. However, BAs don’t always know how and in which startups to invest, and how to develop the right gut feeling at this stage of the startup lifecycle. During the workshop, prominent speakers and facilitators from the MENA region and the global startup scene shared their experience and expertise with the focus camp participants.

The focus camp kicked off with an Angel Investor workshop together with 200 Angel Investors from all around the world and continued with a startup “demo day.” On the second day, Dr. Joachim Behrendt, Angel Investor of Startup Istanbul 2016, held a talk on the role of business angels and the challenges and pitfalls of investing. Subsequently, Ms. Nermine Chatila, an Investment Analyst at the WoMENA Business Angel network, gave an input lecture on due diligence and technical investment terms. Ms. Nora Beckershaus, Director of Operations and Growth at Refinery29 Germany and Omar Yaacoubi, founder of Barac, discussed the startup perspective on Business Angel investments. Afterwards, Mr. Nicolas Rouhana, Chairman of Insure and Match Capital, depicted his experience with creating angel groups as seeders in Lebanon. The day closed with a visit to the Kolektif House coworking space in partnership with the Founder Institute Istanbul and Sabanci University to meet startups and Business Angel organizations.

During the last day, the participants attended several talks at the Startup Istanbul Conference, including a keynote on the five principles for building innovation systems in established companies and a presentation on the issue pf cryptocurrency and blockchain.

Yaser Reda, CEO of ChickMania
"It was a great experience and will be quite beneficial to my entire company. I have met a lot of new people who are in similar positions as we are, and we have both learned from their experiences, and shared ours with them as well … If we had the chance to meet all of you once again, we will come without hesitation."

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Tunisia, November 7, 2017

MENA Business Angel Focus Camp

Auch verfügbar in English

Seminar zur Vermittlung eines besseren Verständnisses der Grundlagen von Investitionen in Startups als Beitrag zur Schaffung einer nachhaltigeren Startup-Szene in der MENA-Region

Bild 1 von 9
MENA Business Angel Focus Camp

Teilnehmer diskutieren mit Tim Draper nach der Startup-Istanbul-Konferenz.

Trainierte „Business Angels“ können durch ihre Investments ein wichtiges Zeichen setzen. Hierfür ist neben der Vermittlung von Inhalten aber auch die persönliche Kontaktaufnahme mit Gründern und anderen Investoren auf internationalen und regionalen Veranstaltungen erforderlich. Mangelndes Seed und Early Stage Funding sind eine der Hauptherausforderungen für Startups in der MENA-Region. Zusätzlich viele Unternehmer der Region werden in ihren Anstrengungen durch legale und logistische Blockaden behindert und 65 Prozent der Unternehmer fehlt es an Fähigkeiten der strategischen Planung und Entscheidungsfindung. Um ein Verständnis des Start-Up-Ökosystems zu fördern und Unternehmer zu inspirieren, in neu entstehende, wachstumsstarke Jungunternehmen zu investieren, organisierte das Regionalprogramm Südliches Mittelmeer der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung vom 20.-24. Oktober 2017 ein Fokuscamp in Istanbul.

Ziel des Fokuscamps war es, Investoren aus der MENA-Region zu inspirieren und darin zu schulen, ihre Erfahrungen und ihr Kapital zur Förderung vielversprechender Startups einzusetzen. Dies leistet einen bedeutenden Beitrag zum Startup- und KMU-Wachstum und damit zur Verjüngung der Ökonomien in der MENA-Region. Während des dreitägigen Workshops und Besuche der Startup-Istanbul-Konferenz trainierte das Regionalbüro eine motivierte Gruppe von inspirierten Business Angels, indem es ihnen das grundlegende Wissen an die Hand gab, um die Dynamiken, Prozesse und Auswahlkriterien innerhalb der Startup-Szene besser zu verstehen. Die Einbeziehung privatwirtschaftlicher Akteure in wirtschaftliche Reformprozesse durch die Förderung der intra- und interregionalen Vernetzung und Interaktion verspricht langfristig eine Verbesserung der sozioökonomischen Lage in der MENA-Region. Dabei dienen Start-Ups und potenzielle Investoren als besonders innovative Reformakteure des Privatsektors.

Business Angels (BA) sind für die Seed-Finanzierungsrunden junger Unternehmen von entscheidender Bedeutung. Die Finanzierung durch die Angels verbindet den klassischen Privatsektor mit innovativem Kleinunternehmertum und bietet den BAs selbst die Möglichkeit, ihre Investitionen zu diversifizieren. Die BAs wissen jedoch nicht immer, wie und in welche Startups sie investieren sollte und wie sie für welche Phase des Startup-Lebenszyklus das richtige Bauchgefühl entwickeln können. Während des Workshops teilten prominente Redner und Moderatoren aus der MENA-Region und der globalen Startup-Szene ihre Erfahrungen und ihr Know-how mit den Teilnehmern des Fokus Camps.

Das Fokuscamp startete mit einem Angel-Investor-Workshop zusammen mit 200 Angel-Investoren aus der ganzen Welt und wurde mit einem „Demo Day“ fortgesetzt. Am zweiten Tag hielt Dr. Joachim Behrendt, Angel Investor von Startup Istanbul 2016, einen Vortrag über die Rolle von Business Angels und die Herausforderungen und Fallstricke ihrer Investitionen. Im Anschluss hielt Frau Nermine Chatila, eine Investment Analystin im WoMENA Business Angel Netzwerk, einen Vortrag zu „due diligence and investment terms“. Frau Nora Beckershaus, Direktorin für Operations and Growth bei Raffinerie29 Deutschland und Omar Yaacoubi, Gründer von Barac, diskutierten darauffolgend die Startup-Perspektive auf Business-Angel-Investitionen. Danach stellte Herr Nicolas Rouhana, Vorsitzender von Insure and Match Capital, seine Erfahrungen mit der Gründung von Angels-Gruppen für Seed-Funding im Libanon vor. Der Tag wurde mit einem Besuch beim Kolektif House Coworking Space in Partnerschaft mit dem Founder Institute Istanbul und der Sabanci Universiät abgeschlossen, bei dem die Teilnehmer sowohl lokale Startups als auch Business-Angel-Investoren treffen konnten.

Am letzten Tag besuchten die Teilnehmer mehrere Vorträge auf der Startup-Istanbul-Konferenz und hörten unter anderem eine Keynote zu den fünf Prinzipien für die Entwicklung von Innovationssystemen in etablierten Unternehmen und eine Präsentation zum Thema Kryptowährung und Blockchain.

Yaser Reda, CEO of ChickMania
"It was a great experience and will be quite beneficial to my entire company. I have met a lot of new people who are in similar positions as we are, and we have both learned from their experiences, and shared ours with them as well … If we had the chance to meet all of you once again, we will come without hesitation."

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Tunesien, 7. November 2017